Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-08-2016, 12:13   #16
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,759
re: gradar cablling

Quote:
Originally Posted by merrimac View Post
Navico yellow only has 4 wires, those used for 100 Mbit Ethernet, so this never has this issue.
This also correct for Si-tex(Koden) MDS/Geonav/Humminbird radars.
In case of the RJ45 cable a bridge between pin 5 and 8 will power up the dome.
If you have the latest M12-8p cable from Humminbird the pinning is different. But still just four wires for Ethernet.
__________________

__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2016, 13:00   #17
Registered User
 
artisanmach's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Anacortes, WA
Boat: Gulfstar 37 Sloop
Posts: 120
re: gradar cablling

Dave, my switch is the Garmin GMS10 port expander. Is this going to be an issue? And do you I still have to switch pin 5 to ground?
__________________

__________________
artisanmach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2016, 17:59   #18
Registered User
 
artisanmach's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Anacortes, WA
Boat: Gulfstar 37 Sloop
Posts: 120
Re: gradar cablling

here is a pic

Click image for larger version

Name:	<a title=Garmin GMS 10.JPG Views: 23 Size: 23.5 KB ID: 130371" style="margin: 2px" />
__________________
artisanmach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 09:22   #19
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: gradar cablling

artisanmach...

Assuming that you do NOT have a Garmin MFD, and so don't need to control the scanner from the MFD, and also then if using this hub/switch, I would cut pin 5 conductor between switch and scanner, and add the manual switch to gound to activate the scanner. That's where the little coupler comes in handy. The switch should ground pin5 to the scanner only.

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 22:09   #20
Registered User
 
artisanmach's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Anacortes, WA
Boat: Gulfstar 37 Sloop
Posts: 120
Re: gradar cablling

Dave this is how my system is wired, I want to add the laptop running OpenCPN

Click image for larger version

Name:	SYSTEM.JPG
Views:	28
Size:	45.8 KB
ID:	130422
__________________

__________________
artisanmach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GRadar on R Pi wefleenor OpenCPN 8 04-09-2016 15:01
GRadar Plugin Issue - Stuck in Standby State lillu OpenCPN 18 20-07-2015 01:48



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:49.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.