Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2010, 05:54   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Boat: vd Stadt 44, Ben the Boat
Posts: 195
Quote:
No idea how to get screen shot of opencpn NMEA window. Will try with Hyper terminal.
If you are using Windows press key's alt+prnt scrn, open paint and paste the picture. Save as jpg and Attach in your message
__________________

__________________
champ8242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 07:17   #17
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
David,

Here is NMEA data from Hyperterminal:

$IIWCV,0.00,N,
$IIWPL,4200.005,N,01925.540,W,001
$IIXTE,A,A,00.000,L,N
$IIBWC,,,,,,062.99,T,069.99,M,03.900,N,
$IIDBT,007.48,f,002.28,M,001.23,F
$IIGLL,4221.451,N,08257.210,W,011107,A
$IIHDM,122,M
$IIHDT,112,T
$IIMWD,061.16,T,068.16,M,07.21,N,03.71,M
$IIVDR,225.00,T,231.99,M,0.00,N
$IIVHW,109,T,116,M,00.00,N,00.00,K
$IIVPW,0.00,N,,
$IIVTG,304.90,T,311.90,M,0.00,N,,
$IIVWR,041,L,06.84,N,03.52,M,,
$IIVWT,041,L,06.82,N,03.51,M,,
$IIHDT,102,T
$IIWCV,0.00,N,
$IIWPL,4200.005,N,01925.540,W,001
$IIXTE,A,A,00.000,L,N
$IIBWC,,,,,,062.99,T,069.99,M,03.900,N,
$IIDBT,007.44,f,002.27,M,001.22,F
$IIGLL,4221.451,N,08257.210,W,011109,A
$IIHDM,103,M
$IIHDT,095,T
$IIMWD,047.77,T,054.77,M,06.10,N,03.14,M
$IIVDR,225.00,T,231.99,M,0.00,N
$IIVHW,093,T,100,M,00.00,N,00.00,K
$IIVPW,0.00,N,,
$IIVTG,293.94,T,300.94,M,0.00,N,,
$IIVWR,042,L,06.06,N,03.12,M,,
$IIVWT,042,L,06.04,N,03.11,M,,
$IIHDT,089,T
$IIWCV,0.00,N,
__________________

__________________
detroitsail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 12:32   #18
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Same problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
DetroitSail...

Hello again.

Can you post a screenshot of your screen with the NMEA data monitor window shown? We need to see an example of your GPS data stream.

You could also use Hyperterminal or other terminal program to look at COM1 without opencpn running.

I suspect there is a checksum problem with your NMEA data. Version 1.3.6 is fussy about this.....checksums are required for xxGLL sentences at least....

Dave
I have the same problem with Vista Garmin GPS connected to OpenCPN. Maybe the problem is with the NMEA format. Here is a screenshot of the data stream. Boat is not moved to current position and only turns by 45 degrees clockwise. Running simulation on GPS at speed 10 km/h.

Roman
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OpenCPN 2.1.0.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	430.9 KB
ID:	15929  
__________________
Roman Malina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2010, 08:40   #19
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Ok, I tried openCPN 2.1, build 514, and my GPS is recognized.
Thanks to all for the suggestions.
__________________
detroitsail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2010, 02:38   #20
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Hi,

because it is the same problem I did not open a new thread for this.
On the German Website there is a guy who has the same problem, namely that his GPS does not show up in OCPN.

Here is his post (translated by me):
I am running OCPN 1.3.6.
I am using a Canadian GPS mouse which works fine with Stentec Win gps4, Yachtnavigator und NV - Navigator.
The GPS mouse is connected to a RS232 (it is not an USB) on COM 1.

Trying a Garmin GPS instead of my own everthing works fine.

Here are the NMEA sentences from both devices:
  1. My GPS mouse
    $GPGGA,155747.77,5110.4943,N,00708.3215,E,0,03,4.1 ,376.0,M,47.6,M,,*6CII
    $GPGTG,138.7,T,,,0.8,N,1.4K*
  2. Garmin GPS
    $PGRMM,WGS84*06II
    GPBOD
    RTE
    RMC
    RMB
    GGA,164341,,,,,0,00,,,M,,M,,*63II
    GSA
    GSV
    GSV
    GSV
    PGRME
    GPGMLL
    PGRMZ
    PGRMM,WGS84
Does anybody has an idea what could be the problem?
Or has experienced the same problem already?
Any tips or hints to solve the problem?

Many thanks in advance.

Gunther (asking for Peter Mühlhoff from the German Community)
__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2010, 02:44   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Boat: vd Stadt 44, Ben the Boat
Posts: 195
Gunther,

This could be the checksum problem solved in the latest build

Bart
__________________
champ8242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2010, 08:42   #22
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Bart,
Quote:
Originally Posted by champ8242 View Post
This could be the checksum problem solved in the latest build
thanks for the tip, but still the same problem even with the latest build 518.

Any other ideas what he could try to get the GPS data into OCPN?

Gunther
__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2010, 05:45   #23
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Boat: vd Stadt 44, Ben the Boat
Posts: 195
Gunther,

I just had a look at the parsed NMEA sentences in OpenCPN and the GGA sentence is not handled (yet). for a GPS position report you need a RMC or a GLL sentence.

Bart
__________________
champ8242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2010, 10:18   #24
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Bart,

thanks for your efforts - I forwarded the message.

Gunther
__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2010, 10:34   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Boat: vd Stadt 44, Ben the Boat
Posts: 195
Gunther,

I coded today the GGA sentence with a few of its parameters into OpenCPN, it's working on my side, no clue how to get it into the cvs. I even don't know if Dave wants it in the code? I can supply the exe this weekend somewhere for download as a test.

Bart
__________________
champ8242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2010, 02:18   #26
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Bart,
Quote:
Originally Posted by champ8242 View Post
I can supply the exe this weekend somewhere for download as a test.
That would be great!
Or just mail it to me, please. Sent you my mail addy by PM.

Gunther
__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2010, 16:27   #27
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Hello,

Thanks for the great software. I'm excited to use it but have been unable to get my GPS data recognized. I hope the original posters don't mind my using this thread for a similar problem.

I am seeing the NMEA data in the NMEA window, but nothing is happening in the chart view, as if it has no GPS connection. I am using an older Furuno GPS that does work with Capn Voyager on an older computer. I had to use a Serial to USB converter to plug that GPS into my newer computer with OpenCPN. I have tried ver 1.3.6 and 2.1.0 build 520 with the same results.

Here is a screen shot of my NMEA data:

Thank you for any assistance!
__________________
Eclipse145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2010, 00:45   #28
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West coast of Sweden
Boat: Najad391
Posts: 155
Boat icon not following the ship coarse
I have Raymarine instrumentation onboard. I take the GPS signal out from the autopilot. The autopilot convert SeaTalk to NMEA. The problem (also earlier described in another post) is that the NMEA sentenses from the autopilot give me all info that openCPN needs but not that the boat icon follow the ship coarse. If I use a GPS-USB all is ok.
The sentenses from the autopilot (Raymarine) is HDG,HDM,RSA, RMC,GLL and VTG. From the USB-GPS I will have GGA, GSA, GSV and RMC. I there anybody out there that use the same setup and have a solution that the Raymarine GPS can be used? Or is this something that has to be "fixed" in the openCPN?
__________________
janp391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2010, 07:17   #29
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West coast of Sweden
Boat: Najad391
Posts: 155
Follow up on Boat icon not following the ship coarse

I have 2 more nav programs, Fugawi and MaxSea both of them show the boat icon in the right direction with the NMEA information that comes from the autopilot.
To openCPN I have to have an USB-GPS for the input on one com port and the info to the autopilot on another com port. This instaed of in- and out- on the same com port.
As I understand this problem that the boat icon is not folllowing the ship coarse is inside the openCPN program??
My own skill is not enough to solve this problem so I hope for help.
__________________
janp391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2010, 08:07   #30
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,878
janp391....

We need to see a screen shot like from Eclipse 145 (post #27).
That way we can see your NMEA data stream and discover the problem.

Thanks
Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furuno GPS - 'GPS Week Number Rollover' bitman Navigation 0 25-11-2009 04:53
GPS $65 Jmolan Navigation 2 09-11-2009 17:28
Garmin GPS Charlie Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 11 23-04-2008 13:46
New GPS? Zach Marine Electronics 0 22-07-2007 20:29



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:13.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.