Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2010, 11:47   #1
Registered User
 
gardenbaytom's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Garden Bay/Pender Harbour, B.C.
Boat: McGregor VN23 1972 "GIMLI"
Posts: 7
Unhappy GPS Issue

I am getting a little just a little frustrated in trying to have Open CPN recognize my new USB GPS. When I first downloaded the program I was using SeaClear but because of issues it had with connecting and staying connected with the gps., and the chart I most often use seemed to have many issues ie. cursor position showed false co-ordinates and not displaying my location and refusing to track or allow me to create way points, routes etc. on that chart.
Open CPN had no such issues and recognized my GPS and worked well up until now. Now I have replaced my USB GPS ,and installed it, but there is no way OpenCPN will recognize the new device or my old one!!. I have reinstalled the program. I have recopied chart folders, I've removed and reinstalled the device. I've checked the new port my device created~~"CP210x USB to UART Bridge Controller(COM10"~and reconfigured accordingly...nuthin. Tried to reconnect with my old device "Sierra Wireless Compass 597 NMEA Port(COM1)" ..nuthin..
I know the device must be working as SeaClear see's it right away, something it didn't consistently do with my old device.
I realize that Open CPN must be using the port because when I have it running and try to start SeaClear it prompts me that the port is busy and to close programs using that port....any help would be so appreciated!!
Tom
__________________

gardenbaytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:02   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5,099
gardenbaytom....

Welcome aboard!

What version of OpenCPN are you using, please?

For additional information, perhaps you could try the 2.1.0 Beta version available on the opencpn.org website. 2.1.0 has much improved GPS device support, as well as NMEA debugg ing capabilities.

Thanks
Dave
__________________

bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:17   #3
Registered User
 
gardenbaytom's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Garden Bay/Pender Harbour, B.C.
Boat: McGregor VN23 1972 "GIMLI"
Posts: 7
I am using version 1.3.6 ....Many thanks. I will try that version. Didn't realize it existed till now!
Cheers!
gardenbaytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 13:19   #4
Registered User
 
gardenbaytom's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Garden Bay/Pender Harbour, B.C.
Boat: McGregor VN23 1972 "GIMLI"
Posts: 7
Well I've downloaded and installed version 2.1.0. Still won't see GPS and the program crashes whenever zoom function is initiated, and won't give me "max detail here" the program simply ceases to respond. SeaClear sees that port and GPS using it right away, and tracks me, so I know it is functioning. Now I'm even more at a loss! Two days of fiddling and neither program functions! Sheesh!
? It seemed to be such a terrific program until I upgraded my GPS. Now it won't see either of them!
Anything else I can try?????
gardenbaytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 13:28   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,949
Did you install any driver software for your new GPS that could be screwing you up? Just a thought.
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 13:36   #6
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepFrz View Post
Did you install any driver software for your new GPS that could be screwing you up? Just a thought.
... or maybe your new GPS works with 9.600 bps?
If so, OCPN won't see/ recognize it.

Same problem is discussed here e.g.: Does OCPN support NMEA 0183 v3.1?

Doing a search over the forum might show some more threads with the same problem/ topic.

Gunther
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 13:56   #7
Registered User
 
gardenbaytom's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Garden Bay/Pender Harbour, B.C.
Boat: McGregor VN23 1972 "GIMLI"
Posts: 7
Oh!!! That is my problem 9600 !!! The new GPS works on a baud rate of 9600!!!!
However!! I am still trying to make OpenCPN work with my old GPS with which it worked before, but newest version crashes and older version refuses to see it now. Strange but true!
gardenbaytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 14:36   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,339
gardenbaytom
Quote:
When I first downloaded the program I was using SeaClear but because of issues it had with connecting and staying connected with the gps., and the chart I most often use seemed to have many issues ie. cursor position showed false co-ordinates and not displaying my location and refusing to track or allow me to create way points, routes etc. on that chart.
Just out of interest, which chart are you referring to ??
I think this is the first report on the theme: "Seaclear can't, but OpenCPN can"

Thomas
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 14:55   #9
Registered User
 
gardenbaytom's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Garden Bay/Pender Harbour, B.C.
Boat: McGregor VN23 1972 "GIMLI"
Posts: 7
PLANS MALASPINA STRAIT Pender Harbour-1:12000 #3535 KAP but as it turns out it must have been corrupted because when I recopied everything over from disc. it functioned normally in SeaClear. I still like Open CPN better but it won't read the new GPS at 9600 baud and now will not function on the old GPS!!! Go figure!!!
gardenbaytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 16:01   #10
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5,099
OK, lets look at the old GPS and OpenCPN v2.1.0

In the toolbox->GPS tab, click the "Show GPS/NMEA data stream window"
Set your port, and "OK" the dialog.


In the NMEA window you should see NMEA data.
Take a screen shot and post it here, or at least copy the contents of the window for our inspection.

Any old 4800 baud GPS should work with V2.1.0

Thanks
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 23:25   #11
Registered User
 
jonasaberg's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Boat: Wasa 410
Posts: 306
Dave,
I guess accepting 9600 and other baud rates are somewhere in the pipe...would you like to comment on how much work it is to fix it / when a fix might be around?
/J
jonasaberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 09:20   #12
Registered User
 
gardenbaytom's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Garden Bay/Pender Harbour, B.C.
Boat: McGregor VN23 1972 "GIMLI"
Posts: 7


I started the GPS Monitor and it said it was getting a fix for about 1 minute then the moment it said "timeout" it streamed the data you see here. My other GPS Is getting a good signal.
gardenbaytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 18:25   #13
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5,099
gardenbaytom....

Sorry, I don't see here. attachment failed? Please try again.

Thanks
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 18:31   #14
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5,099
jonasaberg:

9600 baud is not a very big deal to program, and the code impact is localized. Clearly, though, it is of lower priority than crashes, rendering difficulties, and other 4800 baud GPS problems.

Tell you what: if we can anticipate a rapid turn-around on testing 9600 baud by you and others affected, I'll try to get some Beta code out in a couple of days. Are you able to compile from source?

Thanks
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 07:57   #15
Registered User
 
gardenbaytom's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Garden Bay/Pender Harbour, B.C.
Boat: McGregor VN23 1972 "GIMLI"
Posts: 7
Another try...with attachment..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	174.8 KB
ID:	16684  
__________________

__________________
Tom~ sailing "GIMLI"
out of
Pender Harbour B.C.
gardenbaytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Yet Another) SeaClear II Issue... SailorKeddy Navigation 1 21-04-2010 15:03
Maxsea 10 and usb gps issue moongoose Navigation 7 03-05-2009 14:14
BMC 1.5 Diesel issue stephenlloyd Engines and Propulsion Systems 5 15-04-2009 04:40
Newbie Issue elcubanito Monohull Sailboats 23 18-03-2008 19:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:04.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.