Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2013, 08:37   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: northern NSW australia
Posts: 55
gps in open cpn

hi, i have installed the latest version on open cpn and have the bu 353 usb receiver and have installed the drivers for this and it appears to be working and receiving a position, as shown on gps utility.

I cannot seem to get open cpn to recognise the gps though. still not showing that it has a fix. I have checked the comport and it seems to be correct. any idea of what im doing wrong?

also i keep losing the panel and gps icon and have to minimize and enlarge open cpn and it appears again. any ideas why this is?

thanks.
__________________

__________________
josh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 09:54   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
jackdale's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 5,040
Images: 1
Re: gps in open cpn

I use Xport to verify my GPS port.

XPort
__________________

__________________
ISPA Yachtmaster Ocean Instructor Evaluator
Sail Canada Advanced Cruising Instructor
IYT Yachtmaster Coastal Instructor
ASA 201, 203,204, 205, 206, 214
As I sail, I praise God, and care not. (Luke Foxe)
jackdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 10:06   #3
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: gps in open cpn

-Do not run GPS Utility at the same time O is trying to listen to the gps.
-These BU353 gps's are the bane of O - do a search of the forum for more info.
Solution?
Xport creates a virtual port and as an intermediary, works well with OpenCPN. It might just be the best solution for this gps, if only because you can then run another gps app at the same time... Virtual Serial Port Emulator ("VSPE") is another good bet, albeit a bit more complicated.
Hope this helps.
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 10:25   #4
Registered User
 
AISEAG's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dahouet (Brittany)
Boat: BENETEAU
Posts: 407
Re: gps in open cpn

Hi Josh,

GPS BU 353 is working well with OpenCPN (XP, W7 and even W8 with care) .

You need to specify the number of the Comm-port where your GPS is attached and its speed (4800) to OpenCPN (tool box - connexion tab).

Nb : always plug your GPS at the same port (otherwise, you will have to modify the Comm-port parameters.

Serge
Attached Files
File Type: doc GPS.doc (143.0 KB, 41 views)
__________________
AISEAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 10:41   #5
Registered User
 
NahanniV's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On the Boat
Boat: Finnsailer 38
Posts: 1,143
Re: gps in open cpn

What would be a good GPS to purchase ?

Parameters being: Low cost, Low Power, works on XP, Win7+8, Linux.
__________________
NahanniV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 13:39   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
jackdale's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 5,040
Images: 1
Re: gps in open cpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by NahanniV View Post
What would be a good GPS to purchase ?

Parameters being: Low cost, Low Power, works on XP, Win7+8, Linux.
BU 353 is my choice, meets your criteria. I have used it with XP and Win 7 starter.
__________________
ISPA Yachtmaster Ocean Instructor Evaluator
Sail Canada Advanced Cruising Instructor
IYT Yachtmaster Coastal Instructor
ASA 201, 203,204, 205, 206, 214
As I sail, I praise God, and care not. (Luke Foxe)
jackdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 14:25   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: northern NSW australia
Posts: 55
Re: gps in open cpn

hi,
thanks for the reply.
the problem was that i was running gps utility at the same time. once i quit that it works fine.

any ideas on why my tool bar keeps on disappearing though?
__________________
josh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 15:23   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: gps in open cpn

Disappearing or getting transparent? You may turn the transparent toolbar off in the Toobox: Setting Options | Official OpenCPN Homepage
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.