Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-10-2013, 12:00   #16
Registered User
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,368
Re: GPS Connection Issue

by the way, if it's an old garmin,the number of characters in the name of waypts is pretty limited,so watch out for confusion, however you succeed.

HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2013, 16:24   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Summers: Fort Collins, CO. Winters: Caribbean
Boat: Tayana Vancouver 42
Posts: 8
Re: GPS Connection Issue

Thanks. The problem of sending routes to my gps has resolved itself, as noted in my "SUCCESS" post yesterday.

Now working on Thomas' suggestion for sending routes, that were not created in OpenCPN, from the gps to OpenCPN.


Puzzled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 10:08   #18
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 289
Re: GPS Connection Issue - Garmin GPSMAP 4010

Running OpenCPN 3.3.1419 on Win XP for route planning.

Waypoints could be sent to a Garmin GPSMAP 4010 plotter by setting the plotter ports to NMEA 0183. The route did not send.

Tried setting the Garmin port to Garmin iso NMEA. Send failed totally:

2:40:00 PM: Closing NMEA Datastream Serial:COM27
2:40:00 PM: Stopping Secondary Thread
2:40:02 PM: Stopped in 2 sec.
2:40:03 PM: Sent Route to Garmin GPS on port: COM27
Unit identifies as: GPSMAP 4010 Software Version 7.50
2:40:03 PM: Error Sending Route to Garmin GPS on port: COM27
LastGarminError is: Error Code is -2
2:40:04 PM: Opening NMEA Datastream Serial:COM27

Tried transferring data to the 4010 with a number of programs but only EasyGPS (5.07) worked for me:

The Garmin ports were set to Garmin. The 4010 was not listed so GPSMAP 76 was used. Both waypoints and routes transferred correctly. HAPPY.

So EasyGPS can be used as an intermediate program but it would be nice to transfer the data direct from OpenCPN.

Is there some reason why waypoints transfer when the Garmin port is set to NMEA 0183, but the route does not?


Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.