Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-06-2014, 23:48   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Philippines / Palau
Boat: Cape North 43
Posts: 101
GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

Hi Folks

I've gone through the help list on Opencpn. I've got the BU-353S4 unit and have downloaded its driver and it's working fine. I've added the connection to Opencpn, port etc., but it's not seeing the GPS. Any hints on how to fix this? I've got Windows 8.

Thanks
Brian
__________________

__________________
BriRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2014, 08:02   #2
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 300
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

Hi Brian,
Some more details please.
What did you do to confirm the GPS is working.
what version of Ocpn are you using?
With the "Show NMEA debug window", what is the output there.
Dirk
__________________

__________________
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2014, 18:26   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Philippines / Palau
Boat: Cape North 43
Posts: 101
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

Quote:
Originally Posted by rooiedirk View Post
Hi Brian,
Some more details please.
What did you do to confirm the GPS is working.
what version of Ocpn are you using?
With the "Show NMEA debug window", what is the output there.
Dirk
Hello Dirk

I am using Opencpn 3.2.2

The GPS is working as it is reading the correct lat lon from the software I downloaded. "GPS Info" Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (Com3). I've set Ocpn to Com 3 and correct baud rate 4800

The NMEA debug window doesn't say anything; it's blank except the legend at the bottom of the window.

At the bottom of the Ocpn window I'm seeing 5 to 6 blue bars which means it is getting the same number of satellite signals as the GPS software??? Although I just disconnected the GPS, closed Ocpn and he same bars are there I'll reboot and see if the bars are there.

Thanks
Brian
__________________
BriRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2014, 18:42   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Philippines / Palau
Boat: Cape North 43
Posts: 101
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

Just rebooted and the same blue and green horizontal bars at the bottom of the Ocpn window so I guess they are not GPS related. In case you can't tell I'm new to Ocpn.
__________________
BriRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2014, 19:28   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

Brian...
1st: Read the manual to avoid confusing the chart bar with GPS signal strength indicator
2nd: Make sure you are not running "GPS Info" and OpenCPN at the same time - It it not possible for 2 programs to connect to the GPS at the same time.
3rd: Are you sure (as in really sure) that your GPS is connected to COM3 at a baudrate of 4800?
4th: If it still won't be resolved, have a look into the logfile (Yes, read the same manual as you did a while ago to find it) and post the part related to your last run, together with a screenshot of your connection settings and other info that might be relevant.

Good luck

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2014, 03:40   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Philippines / Palau
Boat: Cape North 43
Posts: 101
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

Here's the latest log:

12:46:13 PM: EnumerateSerialPorts() Found Garmin USB Driver.
12:49:00 PM: Closing NMEA Datastream Serial:COM3
12:49:00 PM: Stopping Garmin Serial thread
12:49:01 PM: Stopped in 1 sec.
12:49:01 PM: Opening NMEA Datastream Serial:COM3
12:49:03 PM: Closing NMEA Datastream Serial:COM3
12:49:03 PM: Stopping Garmin Serial thread
12:49:04 PM: Stopped in 1 sec.
12:49:04 PM: Opening NMEA Datastream Serial:COM3
1:00:00 PM: LOGBOOK: 2014-06-15 09:00:00 UTC DR Lat 10.20810 Lon 124.44560
1:08:27 PM: Initializing Chart C:\Users\BRIAN\Desktop\NAVIGATION\Charts\BsB Charts\Philippines\P4218.KAP
1:08:28 PM: Initializing Chart C:\Users\BRIAN\Desktop\NAVIGATION\Charts\BsB Charts\Philippines\P4715.KAP
1:08:28 PM: Loading World Chart Q=2 in 187 ms.
1:08:28 PM: Background world map loaded from GSHHS datafiles found in: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\gshhs\
1:08:32 PM: Initializing Chart C:\Users\BRIAN\Desktop\NAVIGATION\Charts\BsB Charts\ChartsGEImages\Philippines\Port Binanga Large.KAP
1:08:52 PM: Initializing Chart C:\Users\BRIAN\Desktop\NAVIGATION\Charts\BsB Charts\ChartsGE2KAPoverlays\Philippines\LUZON-Mariveles.kap
1:08:54 PM: Initializing Chart C:\Users\BRIAN\Desktop\NAVIGATION\Charts\BsB Charts\ChartsGEImages\Philippines\Subic Bay.kap
1:21:13 PM: EnumerateSerialPorts() Found Garmin USB Driver.
13:21:37: Error: Cannot set locale to language Arabic (Uae).
1:30:00 PM: LOGBOOK: 2014-06-15 09:30:00 UTC DR Lat 10.20810 Lon 124.44560

And screen shot showing device manager with the Com 3 settings in the foreground and Ocpn in the background. Luckily my wife is helping!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ocpn.jpg
Views:	203
Size:	139.9 KB
ID:	83103  
__________________
BriRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2014, 03:54   #7
Registered User
 
AISEAG's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dahouet (Brittany)
Boat: BENETEAU
Posts: 407
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

Quote:
Originally Posted by BriRich View Post
Here's the latest log:

12:46:13 PM: EnumerateSerialPorts() Found Garmin USB Driver.
....
1:21:13 PM: EnumerateSerialPorts() Found Garmin USB Driver.
13:21:37: Error: Cannot set locale to language Arabic (Uae).
1:30:00 PM: LOGBOOK: 2014-06-15 09:30:00 UTC DR Lat 10.20810 Lon 124.44560

And screen shot showing device manager with the Com 3 settings in the foreground and Ocpn in the background. Luckily my wife is helping!!!
Hi,

May I ask to post a screenshot of OpenCPN "Connection Tab"

Serge
__________________
AISEAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2014, 04:43   #8
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

the opencpn shows data for COM4. Add COM3 and you should be good to go. note the dongle may change ports when you change USB so always pug it into the same USB port
__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2014, 07:39   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Philippines / Palau
Boat: Cape North 43
Posts: 101
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

Quote:
Originally Posted by monte View Post
the opencpn shows data for COM4. Add COM3 and you should be good to go. note the dongle may change ports when you change USB so always pug it into the same USB port

The com 4 is from the Ocpn help page not the actual connection. From the Ocpn connection page I'm on com 3.

I'll try to get a screen shot of the connection page but my wife isn't here and she knows how to do it
__________________
BriRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2014, 08:24   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Philippines / Palau
Boat: Cape North 43
Posts: 101
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

Okay I did it here's the screen shot of the connection page
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	connections.jpg
Views:	255
Size:	183.0 KB
ID:	83120  
__________________
BriRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2014, 08:45   #11
Registered User
 
AISEAG's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dahouet (Brittany)
Boat: BENETEAU
Posts: 407
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

Quote:
Originally Posted by AISEAG View Post
Hi,

May I ask to post a screenshot of OpenCPN "Connection Tab"

Serge
Hmm, Hmm seems to be OK fro O point of view.

Did you check (via GPS info) that the speed is set to the correct speed (4800) and Com port ?, please check again with "GPS info" (close OpenCPN before).

I have never heard anything wrong about BU-353 S4/W8 and O

The response must be in the parameters of the GPS

Serge
__________________
AISEAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2014, 18:20   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Philippines / Palau
Boat: Cape North 43
Posts: 101
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

HURRAY

Got it. Not sure why! I changed some of the parameters on Ocpn connections window. I went through the add a connection I unclicked the garmin host and not sure what else but thanks guys it's working now.

Many thanks for your input

Brian
__________________
BriRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2015, 13:58   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Durban South Africa
Boat: WALLER MKII CAT 11M
Posts: 103
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

Quote:
Originally Posted by AISEAG View Post
Hmm, Hmm seems to be OK fro O point of view.

Did you check (via GPS info) that the speed is set to the correct speed (4800) and Com port ?, please check again with "GPS info" (close OpenCPN before).

I have never heard anything wrong about BU-353 S4/W8 and O

The response must be in the parameters of the GPS

Serge
Hi , just installed the same gps, and having the the same problem, opencpn not seeing the GPS, have checked the com port (com3) set the baud rate to 4800.... Tried the GPS info with O closed and and that works fine, nmea debug window shows zero, any help please would be appreciate , thanks in advance
__________________
delcrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2015, 14:13   #14
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,722
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

Quote:
Originally Posted by delcrest View Post
Hi , just installed the same gps, and having the the same problem, opencpn not seeing the GPS, have checked the com port (com3) set the baud rate to 4800.... Tried the GPS info with O closed and and that works fine, nmea debug window shows zero, any help please would be appreciate , thanks in advance
Again more info is required.. We need screenshots of device manager showing the Prolific port. Then screenshots of the connection info in OpenCPN..

Even a screenshot of the NMEA debug window would be helpfull.
__________________
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2015, 14:43   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Durban South Africa
Boat: WALLER MKII CAT 11M
Posts: 103
Re: GPS connected but OPENCPN doesn't see it

Quote:
Originally Posted by travellerw View Post
Again more info is required.. We need screenshots of device manager showing the Prolific port. Then screenshots of the connection info in OpenCPN..

Even a screenshot of the NMEA debug window would be helpfull.
Thanks for the reply...just trying to figue out how to post a screenshot
__________________

__________________
delcrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, gps, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Danfoss Compressor 'Bumps' but then Doesn't Run SV Liberty Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 24 22-12-2015 23:33
GPS doesn't work in MaxSea but... skipgundlach Navigation 0 11-11-2013 15:11
Simpson Lawrence Sea Tiger 555 Windlass: Hauls in but Doesn't Let Go GalvestonBay Anchoring & Mooring 7 13-01-2011 10:39
Getting OpenCPN To 'See' My GPS Dongle James Baines Navigation 2 21-09-2010 14:22
He doesn't like boats but... knottybuoyz Off Topic Forum 16 17-03-2007 01:44



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.