Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-08-2019, 06:13   #1

Getting set up

Currently we are running maxsea for location but we are wondering about open cpn. We currently have maxsea hooked to the plotter via serial to a round connector with 6 holes (I dont know the name of it). We are able to get our location but are wanting to get dept charting also. We do have a hondex plotter. We are wondering what wire we would use from the windows 10 pc to the dept sounder. Also would raster charts work with this software? One last thing, is there an option to show different colors according to what dept you are in? Sorry for all of the questions as i am new to opencpn and want to try it out.
jackching is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2019, 06:43   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Getting set up

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Jack.

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2019, 11:17   #3

jackching ...

Assume the Hondex is connected to a depth sounder and MaxSea can 'see' the depths? You will not be able to use MaxSea and OpenCPN with the same connection.

If you shut down MaxSea and start OpenCPN the first step is to set up a connection with the Hondex with the same wiring that was used by MaxSea. The user manual has a guide for making a connection.

Show the NMEA debug window. If this window displays the data from the Hondex you can pause it and look for lines that start with something like $IIDBT or $IIDPT. As a first step the plugin 'Dashboard', part of the main OpenCPN program can display those depths.

Raster charts work with OpenCPN but the coverage depends on where you are operating.

Let us know how the connection goes.

Mike
Rasbats is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2019, 12:33   #4

Boat: Najad 34

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackching View Post