Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-09-2010, 12:30   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 167
Garmin GPS 18x Problem

I have the Garmin 18x USB which can only output Garmin/Garmin protocal. The program "Spanner" provided by Garmin translates that and provides a virtual port. It works great in XP. I bought a new computer with 7. It does not work with 7.
Anyone know of a program that will work with 7 and translate the data so OpenCPN will see it.
Thanks
Bob
__________________

__________________
svadagio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2010, 19:25   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Perhaps talk with Sue:

Garmin GPS18X USB with Franson GpsGate

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2010, 18:26   #3
Registered User
 
Gaucho Marino's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Boat: CS 36 Traditional
Posts: 25
I am strugling with OpenCPN also. I have a new computer with windows 7 also, I just bought the Garmin GPS 18x USB and downloaded Spanner 21 a couple of days ago and seems to work for me. I must add that I think it is working because I do get the right coordinates (for my house, where I am trying this)) at the bottom of the screen under ship coordinates. Now I do not know what I did to tell you the truth.

My problem is that I can not get the charts that I downloaded to show up on the black screen with the outline in blue of the North American Continent

However under "available Chart Directory" which shows everything in the C: Drive I can see "Garmin--Spanner set up.exe"

Where you able to get the charts to show on your screen?

I am very challenged when it comes to electronics and computers in particular.

Hope this help you somehow. :-)
__________________
Gaucho Marino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2010, 07:03   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 167
better luck than me

When I try to load spanner it rolls back the instalation before it finishes. Never installs completely. Do you have 7 pro or home.
My charts show. Are your charts old. Some of my old ones did not show. They were the ones that are maney small files. My .KAP ones loaded fine. I am trying to convert them now but it is a job.
Bob
__________________
svadagio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 08:59   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Boat: O'Day 20
Posts: 1
Re: Garmin GPS 18x Problem

Hi,
I see many of us are having the same issue with Garmin GPS 18x.
In my case I managed to get spanner to connect to receiver, howerer it does not get recognized by the blue chart nor the street navigation map.
I was told by Garmin this product is not compatible with Garmin blue chart, and possibly other charts,however is still available for purchase. Way to go Garmin.

If anyone of you managed to get it work please let us know.
Safe sailing
Dragi
__________________
duke2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 15:18   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tortola
Posts: 700
Images: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to bvimatelot Send a message via Skype™ to bvimatelot
Re: Garmin GPS 18x Problem

Same Problem. Using Windows 7 on a 64 bit computer (whatever the heck that means!)

garmin's Spanner does not work on Win 7 and Garmin tell me they have no plans to update it.....thanks, Garmin.

Oddly enough, my 18x worked on the last Open Cpn version. I upgraded to the latest version (not the beta) and Zilch. Prior to that (with the old version), I had had problems and had downloaded all sorts of drivers: my Device Manager told me the puck was working but I couldnt get a nmea stream to show. then I decided to get rid of all the drivers I had collected on my way and Lo and Behold - the dam thing worked! I couldnt replicate what I did if I was paid.....Oh well..... Tony
__________________
bvimatelot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2011, 18:24   #7
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: Garmin GPS 18x Problem

Hello all Garmin users.....

The Garmin GPS18 puck should work in OpenCPN without "Spanner" or any other interface software.

1. Make sure you have the Garmin device drivers loaded
Garmin: USB Drivers Updates & Downloads

2. Then Just select "Garmin" in the Toolbox->GPS selector pulldown box.

This is tested working on XP and Vista.
If this does not work on Win7/64, then we have a legitimate bug.

I look forward to feedback.
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2011, 21:06   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tortola
Posts: 700
Images: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to bvimatelot Send a message via Skype™ to bvimatelot
Re: Garmin GPS 18x Problem

Although the device manager recognises that the garmin puck is connected and says its working correctly - Open Cpn doesnt find it. Just to-day I downloaded Franson's gpsgate and now it works.

I also have the garmin 60 which Open cpn does "see" when connected with a serial to USB connector. However, it only worked for about 20 minutes before losing it. This sometimes caused a bsod and I very often had problems shutting the computer down after use: it would take forever and on re-booting, I would often be informed that Windows had not shut down correctly. When the 60 is connected direct (it has a miniusb-usb cable), it is not recognised. I havent tested the 60 yet with gpsgate.

My computer has Win 7 and is 64 bit.

cheers, Tony
__________________
bvimatelot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2011, 17:05   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Boat: R & C Leopard 38 (2001)
Posts: 148
Re: Garmin GPS 18x Problem

Dave

I also use the Garmin GPS18 USB and a Garmin etrex with serial to USB converter as a backup. (Windows XP). I followed your advice above but Open CPN didn't find either, regardless of driver update.

I have used Franson GPS Gate with Nroute / mapsource and Bluecharts for a couple of years now and more recently Maxsea with great success.

Using Franson GPS gate, Open CPN found the GPS immediately using a virtual com port and the data streams into the GPS/NMEA data stream window in Open CPN nicely.

BUT the ship's position remains at Lat 0,Long 0.

What am I doing wrong ?

Dave Ross s/v Alexian
__________________
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2011, 20:22   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Boat: R & C Leopard 38 (2001)
Posts: 148
Re: Garmin GPS 18x Problem

Found it ! Bad USB connection. Still need franson - but all working well

Dave Ross
__________________

__________________
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Garmin GPS 72 balsicas Marine Electronics 4 10-05-2010 05:58
Help! Garmin nRoute / Map Source / GPS Problem Meck Navigation 5 11-02-2010 15:14
Garmin GPS Charlie Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 11 23-04-2008 13:46
Garmin GPS SD card easterly Marine Electronics 3 24-02-2008 21:06
Garmin GPS 175 cyclepro Marine Electronics 0 07-09-2004 13:49



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:12.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.