Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2011, 14:36   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 58
Garmin 76 GPS Questions

I am able to receive gps data from the Garmin 76 just fine using NMEA/4800 settings on the 76 and COMx/4800 in OpenCPN. However, I am confused as to how to send routes to the 76. Is it possible? What is the meaning of "GRMN/GRMN(Host) mode" in the user guide? What should the garmin settings be to send a route to it? I haven't hit the right combo yet...I think I've tried all possible with no luck. Help much appreciated. Bruce
__________________

__________________
bhcva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 19:56   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
GRMN is the proprietary protocol used for software updates and use of Garmin proprietary planning software (etc.).

Probably use NMEA IN/OUT for routes, alas my G76 does not accept routes (e.g. from MaxSea). It accepts waypoints and I have to make the routes by myself (again).

With OpenCpn you can ask the question directly in the threads devoted to this subject.

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 21:33   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhcva View Post
I am able to receive gps data from the Garmin 76 just fine using NMEA/4800 settings on the 76 and COMx/4800 in OpenCPN. However, I am confused as to how to send routes to the 76. Is it possible? What is the meaning of "GRMN/GRMN(Host) mode" in the user guide? What should the garmin settings be to send a route to it? I haven't hit the right combo yet...I think I've tried all possible with no luck. Help much appreciated. Bruce
Here's how it works with my Garmin GPS 72. If I haven't checked Toolbox/GPS/Use Garmin... and if I have the GPS 72 set to NMEA/4800 I get position data from the GPS. If I try to send a route to the GPS OpenCPN thinks it worked but nothing happens on the GPS 72.

If I have checked Toolbox/GPS/Use Garmin... and if I have the GPS 72 set to NMEA/4800 I get position data from the GPS. If I try to send a route to the GPS OpenCPN posts "Error on Route Upload. Please check logfiles..." and nothing happens on the GPS 72.

If I have checked Toolbox/GPS/Use Garmin... and if I have the GPS 72 set to GRMN I don't get position data from the GPS. If I try to send a route to the GPS OpenCPN thinks it worked and the route appears on the GPS 72.

The GPS 72 has only the 4-pin Garmin connector. I have a cable that takes that to a DB-9 RS-232 connector which plugs into a serial port to USB adapter. Doesn't the GPS 76 have a USB port? Are you connecting with a serial port adapter or directly via the GPS 76's USB port? I don't know if that makes any difference (it shouldn't).

I don't know if that's any help to you. I have a Garmin GPS 12 that works the same way, so I figure Garmin isn't likely to have changed how they handle uploading routes.

Fabbian
__________________
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2011, 07:22   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 58
Thanks for the replies. After retrying with a clear head, I was able to get a route sent to the GPSMap 76. With the GRMN box checked in OpenCPN and the 76 set to Garmin it does work.

Bruce
__________________
bhcva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2011, 08:14   #5
Obsfucator, Second Class
 
dacust's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southeast USA.
Boat: 1982 Sea Ray SRV360
Posts: 1,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by fgd3 View Post
...

I don't know if that's any help to you. I have a Garmin GPS 12 that works the same way, so I figure Garmin isn't likely to have changed how they handle uploading routes.

Fabbian
I have had several models of Garmins and I can confirm that all mine worked the same way. None of them would accept a route via NMEA. They all required using the Garmin mode.

I have had a few pieces of software. None of them would accept position data via Garmin mode. That's a shame, because it meant switching modes often. With some, it required an intermediate translation. At least OpenCPN doesn't require this.

-dan
dacust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2011, 11:20   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 58
After trying one more time to be sure, it seems that the Garmin needs to be on the ROUTES page for it to accept a route. Bruce
__________________
bhcva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2011, 20:26   #7
Obsfucator, Second Class
 
dacust's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southeast USA.
Boat: 1982 Sea Ray SRV360
Posts: 1,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhcva View Post
After trying one more time to be sure, it seems that the Garmin needs to be on the ROUTES page for it to accept a route. Bruce
Interesting. None of mine required that. But they did automatically go into a data transfer mode and locked up the screen until they were done. Couldn't navigate and upload routes at the same time. But I haven't done this with OpenCPN, only with Garmin Mapsource and Nobeltec.

-dan
dacust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2011, 04:09   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Direct USB connection to Garmin works best

GPS72H soft 2.20, OCPN 2.3.1

1. USB cable, handheld in Garmin mode, Garmin USB drivers installed in Windows, GARMIN device as input, any setting for GRMN/HOST mode in OCPN - all fine for me (except across a USB hub and perhaps a crash not easy to reproduce). Position received and uploads without switching any settings.

2. USB cable, handheld in NMEA mode - idem (surprise!)

3. with a NMEA cable to RS232 port I did not succeed to upload RTE or WPT, although a couple of times I got a partial result ( 1,2 or 5 out of 9 route waypoints or so transferred, Garmin mode on both sides, error status signalled, COM1/NONE as GPS input, COM1 as route upload port).
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2011, 06:20   #9
Registered User
 
jenny2's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: georgetown sc
Boat: gulfstar 41 aux jenny lynn
Posts: 135
Images: 6
Garmin usb cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by PjotrC View Post
GPS72H soft 2.20, OCPN 2.3.1

1. USB cable, handheld in Garmin mode, Garmin USB drivers installed in Windows, GARMIN device as input, any setting for GRMN/HOST mode in OCPN - all fine for me (except across a USB hub and perhaps a crash not easy to reproduce). Position received and uploads without switching any settings.

2. USB cable, handheld in NMEA mode - idem (surprise!)

3. with a NMEA cable to RS232 port I did not succeed to upload RTE or WPT, although a couple of times I got a partial result ( 1,2 or 5 out of 9 route waypoints or so transferred, Garmin mode on both sides, error status signalled, COM1/NONE as GPS input, COM1 as route upload port).
My handheld the cable it came with is a 15 pin and it has a female end on it and won,plug in being female on my pc's can I get a addapter for the cable for it to put on the end for it to plug in ?
__________________

__________________
jenny2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin, gps

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want To Buy: Garmin GPS sailorman14 Classifieds Archive 0 12-01-2011 14:57
Using Garmin GPS 72 balsicas Marine Electronics 4 10-05-2010 05:58
Garmin GPS Charlie Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 11 23-04-2008 13:46
Garmin GPS SD card easterly Marine Electronics 3 24-02-2008 21:06
Garmin GPS 175 cyclepro Marine Electronics 0 07-09-2004 13:49



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.