Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 20:06   #31
Registered User
 
svseachange's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: East Coast of Australia
Boat: Custom Steel 43 ft
Posts: 781
Installed Navionics on a 10.1 and kept it on the boat the entire season in the chart table. I (almost) never used it so at the end of the season I am selling it on Ebay.

I always found myself reaching for my Droid Bionic when I wanted GPS and position information instead of the 10.1. (MX Mariner). When I wanted a larger screen I found myself reaching for my laptop (Polar Navy).

I had a Droid X2 laying around so I have simply duplicated the setup on it. This goes to RH's comment about multiple downloads of MX Mariner. If you use the same Google account on a second device then when you go to Play Store Google will recognise you have already paid for it. This makes it easier to switch devices. I think the underlying assumption is you will not be using the programs at the same time.

Now I just wish radar data could be gracefully "beamed" to my Bionic or my laptop. I want and need radar but cannot bring myself to by a MFD. It just seems stupid because MFDs do not really seem to make sense anymore. I will probably cave, but will feel stupid doing so .
__________________

__________________
svseachange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 05:55   #32
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,398
Re: GALAXY 10.1 TABLET & NAVIGATION

This is all very encouraging. I like the Teamweaver concept with the laptop kept below, and the very practical hood for the display (these are available commercially with velcro tabs to secure to various size displays.) There is a question about power use...Tore what do you have for an electrical system and what do the computer and Tablet use? The reason I ask is we have just (2) 12v 74 amp AGM batteriies for house and we charge via a 65 amp balmar. I suppose some day soon I am going to have to face getting PV paraphanalia which I will loath unless it it integrated as a Bimini or part of the deck, and lightweight.
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 11:17   #33
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: GALAXY 10.1 TABLET & NAVIGATION

rgleason..

I visited Boston many years ago and also sailed through the Cape Cod canal with litttle holiday shacks along the top all with TV antennas. Mind you,this was in the 50s. Also remember eating delicious broiled lobster with salt butter dipping. mmmmm..

Now back to reality,I normally use car lighter 12v plugs for most things and for the laptop a converter to the right voltage. The Tab uses minimal power and you can buy a car converter.

My Samsung 10.1v will probably arrive tomorrow and I even had them upgrade it to ICS for me,saving me further mistakes..

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 11:38   #34
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,398
Re: GALAXY 10.1 TABLET & NAVIGATION

Thanks Tore, come back for the lobsters, they're still here. Ford's or Abbott's in Mystic CT is good..
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 11:50   #35
Registered User
 
svseachange's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: East Coast of Australia
Boat: Custom Steel 43 ft
Posts: 781
Tore, you might be able to save some power and hassle by getting a 12v adaptor for you laptop. If memory serves me correctly, mine cost $12.95 plus shipping on Amazon. Try Google "(laptop brand) (model number) 12v adaptor".
__________________
svseachange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 13:33   #36
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: GALAXY 10.1 TABLET & NAVIGATION

Ordered this neat Galaxy Tab,real leather wallet today at approx. US$ 75.-

Ill fit a screen protection film locally.

Guess Im all set for some awesome armchair navigation....

Tore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Captured_001 Nov. 08 18.16.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	102.1 KB
ID:	49431  
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 14:38   #37
Registered User
 
svseachange's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: East Coast of Australia
Boat: Custom Steel 43 ft
Posts: 781
Re: GALAXY 10.1 TABLET & NAVIGATION

Wow. I wonder why it was so cheap. My used Galaxy Tab 10.1 sold on Ebay in the U.S. today for $260 plus $14.95 shipping. Are they cheaper in Brazil?
__________________
svseachange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 15:02   #38
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: GALAXY 10.1 TABLET & NAVIGATION

shanedennis..

Are you kidding? Read again, real leather wallet...
The Galaxy 10.1v i bought last week cost me the equivalent of US$ 450.- incl. Sedex delivery. Anything you import to Brazil incurs a duty of around 100%.

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 15:29   #39
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: GALAXY 10.1 TABLET & NAVIGATION

The Galaxy 10.1v Tab does not have 3G capability,BUT, I wonder if it would be
possible to pair it via bluetooth or LAN to my Galaxy SII phone which does?

Would appreciate inputs from anybody experienced in this field.

I can already use my Galaxy SII as an emergency GPS with input to OpenCPN.

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 20:42   #40
Registered User
 
sgschwend's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Whidbey Island
Boat: Tollycraft 34' Tri-cabin
Posts: 56
Re: GALAXY 10.1 TABLET & NAVIGATION

I do all my Internet using Motorola Droid phone as the digital data source. I can setup an AP, or direct USB tether (which looks like a LAN port). Haven't done a lot of BT pairing, I did pair a BT keyboard to the Android phone and also my Tablet PC.
__________________
sgschwend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 22:47   #41
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: where my little boat is ;-) now Philippines
Boat: Catamaran Schionning Wilderness 1320, built myself
Posts: 189
Re: GALAXY 10.1 TABLET & NAVIGATION

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
The Galaxy 10.1v Tab does not have 3G capability,BUT, I wonder if it would be
possible to pair it via bluetooth or LAN to my Galaxy SII phone which does?

Would appreciate inputs from anybody experienced in this field.

I can already use my Galaxy SII as an emergency GPS with input to OpenCPN.

Tore
Your SGS2 (I have the same) supports as hotspot (LAN) up to 5 clients. Just switch tethering on, do not forget to set a password and let your Tab look for it. I found an app that imports NMEA data too, thought for GPS, but it is open for any NMEA sentence.

settings > more > tethering & mobile hotspot > mobile hotspot

Be carefull, running as hotspot and having GPS on is a powerdrain ;-)
__________________
blubaju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 05:07   #42
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,398
Re: GALAXY 10.1 TABLET & NAVIGATION

Have been using original Motorola Droid with pdanet for tethering via usb to computer. Pda net support bluetooth too. This has unlimited data, but that is no longer available, as Verizon has moved to selling 4g and a different family data plan so the phone is a treasure. However we don't use it that often as teather, just on cruises during the summer. Its a godsend.

What is SGS2 could not find it above.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:42   #43
Registered User
 
svseachange's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: East Coast of Australia
Boat: Custom Steel 43 ft
Posts: 781
Re: GALAXY 10.1 TABLET & NAVIGATION

Like Blubaju, I used both my Android Droid X2 and Bionic phones as internet access points for my 10.1. Of course usual limitations regarding cell connections apply. Running the Android phones as internet access points burns through the batteries. They really need to be plugged in when doing this.

I highly recommend MX Mariner, and they now have charts for Brazil. GPS works fine when out of cell phone range. I find MX Mariner the easiest way to quickly double-check where I am or to get a quick bearing.
__________________
svseachange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 08:06   #44
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: where my little boat is ;-) now Philippines
Boat: Catamaran Schionning Wilderness 1320, built myself
Posts: 189
Re: GALAXY 10.1 TABLET & NAVIGATION

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
....

What is SGS2 could not find it above.
SGS2 = Samsung Galaxy S 2

Sorry, Tore mentioned he got one and asked about the usage as hotspot,
__________________
blubaju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 14:37   #45
Registered User
 
sgschwend's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Whidbey Island
Boat: Tollycraft 34' Tri-cabin
Posts: 56
Re: GALAXY 10.1 TABLET & NAVIGATION

Coverage in the San Juan Islands is better than at my house. To bad there isn't a good hand-off between the US and Can; that would be that much better. A friend uses Sprint which had Canadian data coverage too, however in two weeks he exceeded his plan by such a large amount ($800) I think they finally sent him a message telling him he better look for some Wifi.
__________________

__________________
sgschwend is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
navigation

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.