Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 27-03-2013, 11:47   #1411
Senior Cruiser
 
jackdale's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 4,929
Images: 1
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Jack...
For example the people using European inland waterways would appreciate metric units...

Pavel
OK, I did not realize that they used SI in those waters for anything other than depth.
__________________

__________________
ISPA Yachtmaster Ocean Instructor Evaluator
Sail Canada Advanced Cruising Instructor
IYT Yachtmaster Coastal Instructor
ASA 201, 203,204, 205, 206, 214
As I sail, I praise God, and care not. (Luke Foxe)
jackdale is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2013, 22:01   #1412
Obsfucator, Second Class
 
dacust's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southeast USA.
Boat: 1982 Sea Ray SRV360
Posts: 1,742
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackdale View Post
OK, I did not realize that they used SI in those waters for anything other than depth.
US rivers are in statute miles. As is the Intracoastal.

-dan
__________________

dacust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2013, 22:11   #1413
Senior Cruiser
 
jackdale's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 4,929
Images: 1
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by dacust View Post
US rivers are in statute miles. As is the Intracoastal.

-dan
I learned that sometime ago. Damned short term memory.
__________________
ISPA Yachtmaster Ocean Instructor Evaluator
Sail Canada Advanced Cruising Instructor
IYT Yachtmaster Coastal Instructor
ASA 201, 203,204, 205, 206, 214
As I sail, I praise God, and care not. (Luke Foxe)
jackdale is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 05:29   #1414
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Baikal
Posts: 239
Re: Feature Requests

Crucially there is a need in the metric system of measurement! Help.
on inland waterways is not possible to use the measurements of the sea!!
__________________
Baikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 05:58   #1415
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: grenada
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,510
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baikal View Post
Crucially there is a need in the metric system of measurement! Help.
on inland waterways is not possible to use the measurements of the sea!!
Out of curiosity, what do you need to measure on inland waterways? Don't you get enough points of reference to navigate by? Do you have a specific dilemma? Do they post kilometer markings in the channels or something?

Also, how would this be corrected. An option in the settings dialog to select metric distances? It's not like you can measure straight anyway. Maybe we need a new ruler tool which can measure distance, but only along waterways somehow.

As for the inter-coastal using statute miles.. gah! Maybe instead of supporting statue miles in the program, we could all agree to just paint over the signs with the correct value in nautical miles whenever we sail there.
__________________
boat_alexandra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:00   #1416
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 291
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Jack...
For example the people using European inland waterways would appreciate metric units...

Pavel
For depth's, yes. However speed, distance are measured in knts en Nm
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:20   #1417
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Baikal
Posts: 239
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by boat_alexandra View Post
Out of curiosity, what do you need to measure on inland waterways? Don't you get enough points of reference to navigate by? Do you have a specific dilemma? Do they post kilometer markings in the channels or something?

Also, how would this be corrected. An option in the settings dialog to select metric distances? It's not like you can measure straight anyway. Maybe we need a new ruler tool which can measure distance, but only along waterways somehow.

As for the inter-coastal using statute miles.. gah! Maybe instead of supporting statue miles in the program, we could all agree to just paint over the signs with the correct value in nautical miles whenever we sail there.
in any maritime navigation device has a setting unit of measure including metric.

Those who go on inland waterways are used to the metric system (varies by region).
In my case, not the use of the metric system creates difficulty in using.
I am accustomed to see the speed in km / h
measure the distance in meters and kilometers
so familiar and so comfortable for me
__________________
Baikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:53   #1418
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,632
Re: Feature Requests

I cannot get Flyspray / Tracker to work this morning...no website. So here's a feature request:

It would be nice if the Opencpn > Settings >Plugins Tab, showed the file name for each plugin somewhere, small and inconspicuous. I think that should go into flyspray. Why? Testing / Comparing two or three plugins of the same type, there is often no way to determine the difference. It would be helpful to know the filename.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 08:49   #1419
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,123
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
I cannot get Flyspray / Tracker to work this morning...no website. So here's a feature request:

It would be nice if the Opencpn > Settings >Plugins Tab, showed the file name for each plugin somewhere, small and inconspicuous. I think that should go into flyspray. Why? Testing / Comparing two or three plugins of the same type, there is often no way to determine the difference. It would be helpful to know the filename.
The log file is your friend. The info is there!
Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 05:18   #1420
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,632
Re: Feature Requests

Thomas, if I have two development Grib plugins running, for example, and they are slightly different, but the version number and the icon has not been changed. How would that help? I still won't know which one is which except perhaps by the file name.

Also can I bring up the log file concurrently while running Opencpn?

Thanks.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:01   #1421
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,123
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Thomas, if I have two development Grib plugins running, for example, and they are slightly different, but the version number and the icon has not been changed. How would that help? I still won't know which one is which except perhaps by the file name.

Also can I bring up the log file concurrently while running Opencpn?

Thanks.
Have you tried to run 2 portable instances, to compare the different versions of the same plugin?

I can open the log while running on Linux. Don't know about win. If the file changes, I get a query what I want to do. My normal answer is "reload", to update the file.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 08:41   #1422
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Live aboard 19 years
Boat: Norsea, center cockpit/aft cabin, 27'0"
Posts: 354
Re: Feature Requests

Using a free download from Google Play called Turbo GPS, android tablet users running OpenCPN in a linux chroot environment are able to use the tablet's built in gps with OpenCPN. This is accomplished supplying nmea data via port 7777. Unfortunately, some tablet manufacturers have used gps chips that only provide position (lat/long) and no nmea data. Can OpenCPN be adapted to use position only information by applying the approach below?

"If the raw NMEA API is not available, use the Android Location API to get position, and then output fake NMEA sentences for OpenCPN to read.

Sample Java code to write an NMEA sentence is in the
'writeGGASentence' method in:
http://worldwind31.arc.nasa.gov/svn/...meaWriter.java

Although the Motorola Xoom chip supposedly only provides position, another freely downloadable .apk called GPS Test displays the full range of gps data, speed, direction and more. So it seems reasonable that position only chips can also provide this information to OpenCPN.

Is this doable?

Thanks,
armido
__________________
armido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 10:44   #1423
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,632
Re: Feature Requests

Thanks Thomas

Quote:
Have you tried to run 2 portable instances, to compare the different versions of the same plugin?

I can open the log while running on Linux. Don't know about win. If the file changes, I get a query what I want to do. My normal answer is "reload", to update the file.
I have not tried 2 portable instances of Opencpn, but could.
I can open opencpn.ini when Opencpn 3.2 is open. Notpad++ displays it more sensibly in html format than notepad. When, for example, I have SAR 0.7 and SAR 0.8 (Thanks to SaltyPaws, there are two different version labels for easy identification by Testers, - however these dll's have different filenames too which would be good to have displayed in Settings > Plugins > Preferences !!!).

Both of these are currently "Enabled" and "Applied" and the Opencpn.ini shows
One instance of the SAR plugin:

Quote:
[PlugIns/AIS\ Radar\ view]
bEnabled=1
[PlugIns/SAR]
bEnabled=1
[PlugIns/WeatherFax]
bEnabled=1
Now I turned off SAR 0.7 and left SAR 0.8 "On"
Notepad ++ prompts there's a change, I say yes reload. It shows this now.

Quote:
[PlugIns/AIS\ Radar\ view]
bEnabled=1
[PlugIns/SAR]
bEnabled=0
[PlugIns/WeatherFax]
bEnabled=1
And plugin SAR 0.8 works....? That change from 1 to 0 is boolean I expect. So why is it working? There is one SAR entry it appears.....

I don't think the Opencpn.INI is going to help me with this... telling me which plugin is running when the most recent one has not been given a new version number and it is identical with the exception of code.... (Note I have been renaming them and simply running them in the plugins directory.) I've taken to renaming the one I don't want to load with the *.doc extension when they do not have different version numbers and restarting Opencpn when I change.

...That is why I think it would be helpful to display the file name of the plugin. This may not be something everyone would need...but it would be helpful to me.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2013, 07:58   #1424
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Baikal
Posts: 239
Re: Feature Requests

Add option Auto Return vessel's position on the screen (Auto Follow)
settings in seconds
__________________
Baikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 05:09   #1425
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Lightbulb Re: Feature Requests

a) TCP Reconnect if Remote Host is down
b) AIS Info from Inland Waterways. As this is now used in Europe on inland Waterways. Like Loaded / Unloaded / Persons and Crew Information
__________________

__________________
STHR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet anothr of my stupid requests Little Otter Multihull Sailboats 2 30-06-2008 00:29
Any requests for pics at Strictly Sail Oakland? Redbull addict Monohull Sailboats 0 30-03-2007 19:33
Capt.Jack requests permission to come aboard canatc1 Meets & Greets 8 10-04-2006 17:54


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.