Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 29-01-2012, 14:54   #1051
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Luebeck, Germany (baltic coast)
Boat: Ruegenwerft MY 30ft
Posts: 37
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN & orthodromic distance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucho_77 View Post
Hello,
I just simulate a route through atlantic with OpenCPN and note that the distance is not the shortest one (orthodromic distance).
Does it exist a way to change this, or do I make a mistake.
Thanks for some explanations.
Regards,
Lucho
There is a difference in planning short trips (direct course) and planning long routes crossing the equator or near the poles - due to the (not perfect) shape of the earth - sorry, cant explain this in english - but google for loxodrome or rhumb line - means the shortest way between two point isn't a straight line but a curve (near the poles) or s-shaped (crossing the equator.

regards, Chris
__________________

__________________
christian.kautz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2012, 23:47   #1052
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,903
Re: Feature Requests

Lucho...
OpenCPN does "Mercator sailing" - the distances are rhumb line - to sail great circle, prepare your routes accordingly with one of the available tools:
Planning Data | Official OpenCPN Homepage
Great Circle and Composite Routes | Official OpenCPN Homepage

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:47   #1053
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Copy Cursor Position into clipboard

Hello there,

I'd find it very useful, If I could copy the cursor position into the clipboard throug a rightclick function.


Thank you very much.
__________________
El_Siurell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 20:09   #1054
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Re: Feature Requests

I use Open CPN a lot on my launch and have an ARPA radar on board. I would like to display the Arpa data which is available from my radar in the form of a TLL NMEA Sentence. My Fishi finder can also output the position of a fish mark in TLL format Is it possible for Open CPN to support this feature and display on the chart like AIS can be
__________________
MikeElliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2012, 03:39   #1055
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Krabi Thailand
Boat: Corbin Ketch 39ft
Posts: 140
Re: Feature Requests

Is it possible to read TLL (target lat/long) as well as ais. It would be coming in through a dedicated comport separate from AIS. Cannot find this feature but it is available on some systems for camparison
__________________
Jubilee39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2012, 05:21   #1056
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,697
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: Feature Requests

Jubilee39..

Unless I misunderstand,any AIS target lat/lon IS already available in the AIS target query box.

Tore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_01 Feb. 19 10.17.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	61.5 KB
ID:	37640  
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2012, 12:55   #1057
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Krabi Thailand
Boat: Corbin Ketch 39ft
Posts: 140
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
Jubilee39..

Unless I misunderstand,any AIS target lat/lon IS already available in the AIS target query box.

Tore
Thats not what I am asking for, I just got a new radar that has the capability to send TLL data. It would be nice to present this over the CPN overlay to correlate AIS ans radar pictures.
Joe
__________________
Jubilee39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2012, 01:52   #1058
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 10
Thumbs up Re: Feature Requests

Hi All,

long time I never active on this forum and I found a new version OpenCPN has been released.
For upcoming version, I would like to request a feature to export some area on the map to Image file.
so users are able to define the area (top left and bottom right lat long coordinate) and produce an image of it.
I think it will be useful.

BTW two thumbs up for this App.

Regards,


tenlee
__________________
tenlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2012, 16:27   #1059
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 441
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by tenlee View Post
Hi All,

long time I never active on this forum and I found a new version OpenCPN has been released.
For upcoming version, I would like to request a feature to export some area on the map to Image file.
so users are able to define the area (top left and bottom right lat long coordinate) and produce an image of it.
I think it will be useful.
tenlee
If the purpose is to have an image of what is on the screen, I do this using the Snagit program. Just one push of a key (F2 in my case) and whatever is on the screen is saved to a designated folder in any format you choose. Useful not only with navigation programs but anytime you are surfing and want to save displayed information.

Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2012, 18:23   #1060
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 10
Smile Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by yachtvalhalla View Post
If the purpose is to have an image of what is on the screen, I do this using the Snagit program. Just one push of a key (F2 in my case) and whatever is on the screen is saved to a designated folder in any format you choose. Useful not only with navigation programs but anytime you are surfing and want to save displayed information.

Terry
Hi Terry,

Seems you miss my point.The feature I propose is to have an image on certain area by defining the top left and right button point in latitude longitude coordinate and scale, which you can't have it by using Snagit program.

I think it will useful when you want to plan the navigation route on paper.
So the OpenCPN will become one stop Application, not only for navigation but can be used for navigation planing (on paper base) also.

BTW thanks for sharing your experience.

cheers,


Tenlee
__________________
tenlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2012, 10:17   #1061
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,125
Re: Feature Requests

tenlee
All you ask for is already possible if you use kde desktop for Linux.
With KSnapshot you can chose any rectangular area and even a freehand area to copy from the screen.
You can even use the print icon in OpenCPN and print to file as a postscript file. You get a picture of the chart area only. The ps file can be converted to any picture format through Gimp, and then manipulated any way you want.

Of course you can use the print icon to print the chart area directly. Just adjust the visible area to the lat&long you wish to cover.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2012, 13:31   #1062
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,371
Re: Feature Requests

Tenlee, it can be done now roughly. Make marks in two diagonal corners or four if you like and export them as gpx from openCPN. Make a screen grab (Prntscreen key in Windows or snagit (an excellent program by the way!) or some other app that grabs ...



You can also make a box with route -pencil and export it as gpx.Include it in the screen grab for almost exact editing later (to make your own chart!) You should ideally edit the made-route box so the corners "agree" if you want to make a chart with imgkap before the screen grab for a perfect version but if you don't mind including a bit awkwardness, you can go the mapcal_2 system
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2012, 01:17   #1063
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Boat: vd Stadt 44, Ben the Boat
Posts: 185
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
All you ask for is already possible if you use kde desktop for Linux.
With KSnapshot you can chose any rectangular area and even a freehand area to copy from the screen.
You don't need to go into the hassle of Linux; you can use Window’s Snipping Tools

Bart
__________________
champ8242 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2012, 23:32   #1064
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,371
Re: Feature Requests

I wish it was more obvious that the track button is ON.

The other buttons, well it's pretty obvious, click em, a window opens or the route-pencil attaches to the cursor etc...,but with the track button, it goes a darker shade of pale and if you wait ten minutes (in a sailboat), you'll see the track...hmmm.10 minutes?
My point is, its nature is different from the other buttons.. Perhaps it could blink, or turn red,or something more indicative of "on-ness" than such a slight change. Perhaps my issue is exacerbated by XP in so-called "Classic" look...
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-2012, 09:25   #1065
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 615
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySeagull View Post
I wish it was more obvious that the track button is ON.

The other buttons, well it's pretty obvious, click em, a window opens or the route-pencil attaches to the cursor etc...,but with the track button, it goes a darker shade of pale and if you wait ten minutes (in a sailboat), you'll see the track...hmmm.10 minutes?
My point is, its nature is different from the other buttons.. Perhaps it could blink, or turn red,or something more indicative of "on-ness" than such a slight change. Perhaps my issue is exacerbated by XP in so-called "Classic" look...
That's a very good point. Also, the track button doesn't change color until you move the mouse pointer off of it after you've selected it, which makes it even harder to know if it has been selected. I think all the buttons behave that way, making it hard to be certain a mouse click registered.

Fabbian
__________________

__________________
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet anothr of my stupid requests Little Otter Multihull Sailboats 2 30-06-2008 00:29
Any requests for pics at Strictly Sail Oakland? Redbull addict Monohull Sailboats 0 30-03-2007 19:33
Capt.Jack requests permission to come aboard canatc1 Meets & Greets 8 10-04-2006 17:54


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.