Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 26-05-2011, 08:41   #841
cruiser

Join Date: May 2011
Boat: cornish crabber
Posts: 54
Re: Feature Requests

I would like and I think a lot of other people would like to have option to change decimals to position in Degrees, Minutes, Seconds

like this

40 26′ 21″ N, 79 58′ 36″ W


thanks
__________________

__________________
gravosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 08:43   #842
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by gravosa View Post
I would like and I think a lot of other people would like to have option to change decimals to position in Degrees, Minutes, Seconds
Have you seen FS#468 : [PATCH] Improved latitude/longitude display ?
__________________

__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 08:59   #843
cruiser

Join Date: May 2011
Boat: cornish crabber
Posts: 54
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsurfer View Post
no, i havn't

thanks netsurfer
__________________
gravosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 09:32   #844
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsurfer View Post

I'm to dump to use it, please give me and the other dummies an instruction,
thanks
Rik
__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 09:35   #845
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rik-lu View Post
I'm to dump to use it, please give me and the other dummies an instruction,
Go to the ToolBox -> Etc. -> Show Lat/Long as. On the right there is a drop-down list with the 3 available options.

Gunther
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 11:20   #846
cruiser

Join Date: May 2011
Boat: cornish crabber
Posts: 54
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsurfer View Post
Go to the ToolBox -> Etc. -> Show Lat/Long as. On the right there is a drop-down list with the 3 available options.

Gunther
is it that option only in beta release 2.4.523

i am using 2.3.1 and i could not find that option

__________________
gravosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 14:23   #847
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by gravosa View Post
is it that option only in beta release 2.4.523
Yes, it is only in the latest betas (from 2.4.506 and later).

Gunther
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2011, 22:33   #848
Senior Cruiser
 
jackdale's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 4,934
Images: 1
Tides /currents on right click

A nice feature would be a list of the nearest tide and current stations on a right click.
__________________
ISPA Yachtmaster Ocean Instructor Evaluator
Sail Canada Advanced Cruising Instructor
IYT Yachtmaster Coastal Instructor
ASA 201, 203,204, 205, 206, 214
As I sail, I praise God, and care not. (Luke Foxe)
jackdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2011, 01:24   #849
Registered User
 
oddysea's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cape Town
Boat: Leopard Catamarans
Posts: 14
Re: Feature Requests

Thanks to the OpenCPN team, have just completed 2 deliveries with OpenCPN.. CapeTown to Tahiti, and Cape Town to Greece, prog worked flawlessly..one request, is i possible to add a pre-determined tack angle onto the boat icon? very useful on long trips when trying to plan with grib..THANKS AGAIN (about to test latest Beta CT-anapolis) Mike
__________________
oddysea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2011, 08:02   #850
Registered User
 
Extemporaneous's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Boat: Corbin 39 Special Edition
Posts: 909
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsurfer View Post
Go to the ToolBox -> Etc. -> Show Lat/Long as. On the right there is a drop-down list with the 3 available options.

Gunther
I think it would be beneficial to have the Lat & Long on Mark/Waypoint properties on one line. That way you could highlight and copy in one shot.

Just a thought,
Extemp.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.30-05-2011 09.38.39.png
Views:	97
Size:	6.2 KB
ID:	27908  
__________________
Do the best you can EVERY step of the way and maybe, just maybe......
It will be good enough!
Extemporaneous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2011, 11:13   #851
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West coast of Sweden
Boat: Najad391
Posts: 152
Re: Feature Requests

When using OpenCPN and the route to give the autopilot information how to steer to next waypoint, it can happen you have to change course for a reason and when going back to the autopilot mode the boat has moved away from the original course to steer and the XTE has a value. In some situations it is ok to start again from the new position and go to the original waypoint. To do that you have to zero out the XTE value.
What I am talking about is a feature to zero out the XTE. I can not find that OpenCPN has this ability today.
__________________
janp391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 05:36   #852
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
Re: Feature Requests

I am currently thinking about how to choose/design/instrall a remote display in the cockpit. The only thing I want displayed in the cockpit however are three elements, namely; crosstrack error (bearing, current heading, XTE, distance to go), AIS targets (and only those that would generate alarms) and DSC messages (in particluar distress messages).

One option would be a LCD display (the 2 line dot matrix type displays) , another just a digital photo frame.

With the digital photo frame option, it would just require a USB connection to the PC, and from a programming perspective, possibly much simpler.

In a purely Windows .NET environment, I can render the graphics in the paint event, and thenn save the image as a bitmap (or jpeg, png)

For example:
//Add to the paint event handler
RemoteDisplay = new Bitmap(200,200,PixelFormat.Format32bppArgb);
g = Graphics.FromImage(RemoteDisplay);
// Do my drawing stuff
g.DrawString("XTE:", myDisplayFont, new SolidBrush(Color.Black), 0, 0);
//Save the output to a directory accessed by the digital photo frame RemoteDisplay.Save("d:\\xte.png", ImageFormat.Png);
g.Dispose();
RemoteDisplay.Dispose();

Any possibility of adding some kind of functionality to support a remote display ?
__________________
stevead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 05:52   #853
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 562
Re: Feature Requests

I doubt that any digital photo frame would be bright enough to view in daylight. You might want to test its brightness before investing any development effort.
__________________
RhythmDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 06:03   #854
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,905
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevead View Post
Any possibility of adding some kind of functionality to support a remote display ?
Steve,
I'm definitely not going to implement this, as I feel there are more urgent tasks, but feel free to borrow the GE plugin code from https://github.com/nohal/OpenCPN/tre...ecomapi_pi/src to save the screen to file on core events... Really not much C needed for what you want, the whole thing will be couple of dozens lines of code...

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 08:13   #855
cruiser

Join Date: May 2011
Boat: cornish crabber
Posts: 54
Re: Feature Requests

regarding speedometer, there is only 12 kts, i can not find settings to change it, is it possible to change speedometer scale to 40, 45 kts

thanks

__________________

__________________
gravosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet anothr of my stupid requests Little Otter Multihull Sailboats 2 30-06-2008 00:29
Any requests for pics at Strictly Sail Oakland? Redbull addict Monohull Sailboats 0 30-03-2007 19:33
Capt.Jack requests permission to come aboard canatc1 Meets & Greets 8 10-04-2006 17:54


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.