Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 20-05-2011, 11:26   #811
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Re: Feature Requests

NetSurfer...

The departure time is not a property of the route. It is selected only for momentarily viewing the results. With the same route you will try many different departure times in your planning.

Just open the tides dialog, open route properties, and enter departure time....

P.
__________________

__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2011, 11:42   #812
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: Feature Requests

Piotr ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PjotrC View Post
Just open the tides dialog, open route properties, and enter departure time....
and hit the ENTER key!
That was it which I stumbled over ...

Now got it to work - thanks a lot! Great feature!

Just one remark concerning date format and localization:
I recognized that the correct date format is identified if it is clear (day greater than maximum value for month - day > 12) no matter in which format it is entered.
My question would be if the (input) format could be according to the selected locale setting?

The only thing I still do not get to work is selecting the next tide event by adding '@~~Dover' to a waypoint's name.

Many thanks - really love this feature!

Gunther
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	next tide event 03.PNG
Views:	137
Size:	115.1 KB
ID:	27593  
__________________

__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2011, 12:18   #813
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsurfer View Post
My question would be if the (input) format could be according to the selected locale setting?
Ha... I am passing the date/time string to wxParseDateTime() function, which is documented as "parsing any reasonable input, including 'now', 'tomorrow', 'next Friday', etc." Unfortunately, I got it to work only in this one fixed format. That's why there is a hint above the input field. Maybe someone, some time...

To activate the selected waypoint mode, as opposed to mapping whole route against Dover, close the Dover Tides Dialog, and refresh the Route Properties. You will then obtain Tide Events only for waypoints required.

P.
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2011, 04:19   #814
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Re: Feature Requests

where can I find this tide-plugin or patch you are writing about ???
__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2011, 04:30   #815
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: Feature Requests

Hi Rik!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rik-lu View Post
where can I find this tide-plugin or patch you are writing about ???
It is no plug-in.
It is a new functionality added to the 'Route Properties' by Piotr. Therefor you'll find it in the

Route Manager -> Routes -> (select an existing Route) [double click on the route | select the route and click on 'Properties] -> now you (should) see the 'Route Properties' window.

All the rest should already be mentioned in the previous posts and the attached screenshots.

Gunther
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2011, 04:40   #816
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Re: Feature Requests

Thanks, I found out. But how do you get the tides in there?
__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2011, 04:42   #817
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rik-lu View Post
Thanks, I found out. But how do you get the tides in there?
Please have a look at the posts here in this thread starting with #809 following and/ or at task #353 in the tracker.
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2011, 05:03   #818
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,125
Re: Feature Requests

Rik-lu

You can also check if this The Route Manager and Data Import/Export | Official OpenCPN Homepage makes sense to you. Scroll down to "Route Planning"

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2011, 05:11   #819
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Re: Feature Requests

I found out.
As my testroute was passing very near to the tides-symbol in Dover, my rightclick always opened the routesdialog instead of tides. after zooming in I could differentiade between the symbols "route" and "tide" and rightclick the tidessymbol.

but one more question: i have tides data from nearly all over the world, I even dont remember where they come from. did i download them earlier or are they in cm93 ???
but the data fot norway,western france, western ireland, spain ,marokko are missing.
see here :


w

where is I mistake ?
__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2011, 06:16   #820
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Re: Feature Requests

Rik-lu,

There is no mistake. The tide stations you are missing have been removed from xTides set for formal reasons. You can still find the relevant data in separate harmonics sets. These were published also in some threads in this Forum, e.g. Forums - Post 386187">here.

Piotr
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2011, 06:57   #821
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 772
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by PjotrC View Post
Rik-lu,

There is no mistake. The tide stations you are missing have been removed from xTides set for formal reasons. You can still find the relevant data in separate harmonics sets. These were published also in some threads in this Forum, e.g. Forums - Post 386187">here.

Piotr
An updated (and as far as practical tested) set of tide stations (and currents for the French western shores) is available here (from Merak56)
https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0BzW...Jj&hl=fr&pli=1

(Can't remember if you require a Google account: anyway its free and immediate to create one should it be required)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tides.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	154.7 KB
ID:	27623   Click image for larger version

Name:	Currents.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	56.4 KB
ID:	27624  

__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2011, 07:07   #822
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Re: Feature Requests

thank you , got without google account
__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2011, 07:21   #823
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Re: Feature Requests

can I also see how the currents are changing and how they will be in 6 hours or tomorrow ?
__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2011, 07:23   #824
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rik-lu View Post
can I also see how the currents will be in 6 hours or tomorrow ?
The currents are being calculated by your system date and time. So if you are going to change them the currents will also be changed.
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2011, 07:34   #825
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
Re: Feature Requests

so there we have the next feature request:

could there be a button to show the changing currents without changing system time ?
like +1h ......up to 2 or 3 days for planning.
__________________

__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet anothr of my stupid requests Little Otter Multihull Sailboats 2 30-06-2008 00:29
Any requests for pics at Strictly Sail Oakland? Redbull addict Monohull Sailboats 0 30-03-2007 19:33
Capt.Jack requests permission to come aboard canatc1 Meets & Greets 8 10-04-2006 17:54


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:55.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.