Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 18-09-2010, 07:51   #511
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 120
Any progress on Maxsea track conversion into GPX?

I have not followed the recent developments in opencpn, but I am setting up my new windows 7 laptop for navigation and would love to be able to rely exclusively on opencpn. For that, I would really appreciate being able to import maxsea tracks without having to buy gpsutility. Any hope to get this soon?

I have also noticed that with R2,1,0 on W7, the toolbox behaves a little weirdly: whenever I click on a checkbox, the page moves up or down and I have to click a second time to get my checkmark.
__________________

__________________
claire
claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2010, 20:55   #512
Registered User
 
Footloose881's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
MOB function

As I understand it the MOB function requires the user to push the mob icon and than right click over the MOB marker and activate a route to show bearing and distance to return.
In an emergency situation this seems unnecessarily complicated especially if it is an inexperienced crew standing by the plotter.
It would seem a better option for the mob function to operate as a one push button that drops the mob marker and shows the route display at one time. In that manner all you need to teach inexperienced crew is "in the event of a man over board hit that button and report the bearing and distance to the helmsman".
Thanks and great work.
__________________

__________________
Footloose881 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2010, 01:34   #513
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Request larger tidal icon in chart

Dear sir, first of all I want to say that I really like the initiative of developing an opensource navigation program. I'm testing OpenCPN now and I like the simple interface and the way charts are presented. I noticed some things which could be enhanced:

- The tidal stations icon is really small when turned on. This makes it hard to find in the chart, especially when there are a lot of other items on the chart. Can this icon be larger, like for instance in Maxsea. When tidestations are turned on you will get a kind of big ruler which indicates the highed of the tide at pressent time and when clicked on it, it will show the tidal graph etc.

- Also I noticed that tidal streams are not shown in the chart when turned on. This happens with c-map charts. When I open the same charts in Maxsea it shows tide arrows in the chart. Maybe I do something wrong here ?

Keep up the good work !!!

Regards,

Bjrn
__________________
strongbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2010, 11:52   #514
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
I believe that some (or all) of the following have been mentioned but don't seem to be in flyspray. I would like the following enhancements:
1. To be able to set route and track color and width. Priority =low
2. For waypoints to not disappear when they have been included in a route. P=low
3. A check box to turn on/off all waypoint names. You could also have a check off for "route point" names. P=low
4. A written log feature. I plan to simulate this on my big trip (next week) by dropping a mark with the log entry in the description field. At the end of the trip I will export these marks and tracks to gpx files. and ultimately to Google Earth. I'll have to be carefull not to delete anything prematurely. P=low
5. A performance improvement project. My cockpit computer is an 800Mhz, 750MB machine. I currently takes over 30 sec to zoom to a route that goes the length of the Chesapeake. I can't remember if quilting was on but I think not. Once zoomed in on the route and zoomed in to a navagating level, things are OK until you import a track (175nm long, then it becomes difficult to pan around. Also a very long track(probably 1000nm) takes longer than I'm willing to wait (several minutes) on my 2 Ghz 2GB machine. I guess the priority =low for this item; but it would be medium if the system has trouble keeping up with a 5 kn boat with tracking on, an active route, and an imported track. I'll know next week.
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2010, 12:39   #515
Registered User
 
sailias's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Boat: On the Hard
Posts: 325
The spec on that machine is a bit low in terms of memory, especially if your running windows for graphics intensive stuff like OCPN. If your stuck on windows, then kick in some more memory if its available for that unit. The performance hit will surprise you. I run low end machines at this end as well but mostly on linux, all work fine. When I do run windows (dual boot system) then I install only the application I need for testing and then delete it when done. Windows tends to have many needless processes running in the background, so adding one application only seems to keep windows moving at a reasonable rate.
__________________
sailias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2010, 14:49   #516
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by sailias View Post
The spec on that machine is a bit low in terms of memory, especially if your running windows for graphics intensive stuff like OCPN. If your stuck on windows, then kick in some more memory if its available for that unit. The performance hit will surprise you. I run low end machines at this end as well but mostly on linux, all work fine. When I do run windows (dual boot system) then I install only the application I need for testing and then delete it when done. Windows tends to have many needless processes running in the background, so adding one application only seems to keep windows moving at a reasonable rate.
I'm running XP on a Fujitsu st4121 and can't add any more memory. I'm not savy enough to do anything other than XP. When OpenCPN is running its the only application running. It'll probably be 2 yrs before I buy something faster/bigger. There is still the problem with long tracks (probably also long routes or many shorter routes) on a 2Mhz 2 GB machine on XP.
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2010, 15:43   #517
Registered User
 
sailias's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Boat: On the Hard
Posts: 325
OK understand. Perhaps this will help speed up that nice little tablet.

Speedup Your PC

Best of luck.

/ch
__________________
sailias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2010, 09:14   #518
EOB
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Niterói - RJ - Brasil
Posts: 11
SCAMIN

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
tenlee...

It looks as if you are looking at two different S57 cells. The soundings are part of the cell database, and should be the same on all S57 ENC viewers.

I can't find a case where the same cell shows more cluttered soundings on opencpn than the other systems. I'd love to see this case for review and debug.

Thanks
Dave
Dave,
Although S-57 has SCAMIN feature, many cells doesn't implement it.
Some systems have internal scamin like function to clear the chart presentation.
Best regards, Eloi
__________________
EOB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 09:23   #519
Registered User
 
Sail323's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Boat: Pearson 323
Posts: 49
Three features I would like to see.

1. Statute Miles (for use on the ICW)

2. Large Display of SOG and COG (My laptop sits on the salon table while I view and control it from the helm while underway)

3. Waypoint Manager (to list and center-on waypoints/marks, such as anchorages)
__________________
Sail323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 09:38   #520
Registered User
 
petermoree's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: TINTEL (36ft Hoek design) see http://www.moree.nl/tintel
Posts: 126
For larger SOG etc use PolarCom
see NMEA Instruments | Official OpenCPN Homepage

good luck

Peter
__________________
petermoree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 19:38   #521
Registered User
 
Sail323's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Boat: Pearson 323
Posts: 49
Thanks, Peter

PolarCOM works really well as an instrument display.

John
__________________
Sail323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 20:45   #522
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 30
I think a change in the scale of trackpoints would be worthy of attention. Currently you can only get down to .05 of a naut. mile. While that seems tiny, in the area I frequent, with very narrow, and meandering channels, this produces tracks that go straight over islands, and and bends. If I use seconds, this can produce a track of hundreds of waypoints that are in relatively straight lines. I think an option to record a change in heading, would produce a smoother and accurate track.
__________________
Skua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2010, 01:06   #523
Registered User
 
petermoree's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: TINTEL (36ft Hoek design) see http://www.moree.nl/tintel
Posts: 126
The VSPE program on the same link is also very handy when you want to use PolarCom and OCPN at the same time. It generates a virtual comport so that when OCPN uses your GPS and you start PolarCOM you do not get the *comport busy* error.
__________________
petermoree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2010, 05:25   #524
Registered User
 
Sail323's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Boat: Pearson 323
Posts: 49
Yes, that is how I have it configured and it works perfectly. Thanks again.

John
__________________
Sail323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2010, 06:08   #525
Registered User
 
petermoree's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: TINTEL (36ft Hoek design) see http://www.moree.nl/tintel
Posts: 126
Dashboard feautures

Testing the dashboard I found that under Vista in Build 2.2 918
1) resizing does not work
2) if you change settings, they cannot be saved
3) In Tsunamis there is a depth tracing feature giving you a small grapphic display of the bottom area you just passed. This is great to see if the shoal coming up is slow or steep and thus estimate the seconds left before you HAVE to go about. In sandy straits this is a great help in optimising your tack lenght.
__________________

__________________
petermoree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet anothr of my stupid requests Little Otter Multihull Sailboats 2 30-06-2008 00:29
Any requests for pics at Strictly Sail Oakland? Redbull addict Monohull Sailboats 0 30-03-2007 19:33
Capt.Jack requests permission to come aboard canatc1 Meets & Greets 8 10-04-2006 17:54


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.