Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 21-05-2016, 10:14   #1996
Marine Service Provider

Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
The problem is that just dealing with the huge incoming list of targets then constantly computing distances for ten thousand or more targets is CPU intensive. Displaying the targets isn't the CPU pig. It's all those floating point calculations and the endless wading through the list throwing out hundreds of old targets and adding hundreds of new ones every few seconds.

The only way to get an Internet service AIS to perform is to use their API to select the desirable targets at their server. They all have that feature but i believe you have to pay something to use it.
Witch targets that is desirable will continuously change while you are steaming/sailing and will be different for all using the tcp stem, depending of your location. I'm not a programmer but it should be possible to make a filter witch is not to cpu intensive that for example will remove targets with a distance more than 30 nautical miles away from ownship ? is there any program language that will these calculations more effectively than other ??
petter5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2016, 16:55   #1997

Boat: Valiant 42

No it is not easy to make such a filter that does not use CPU time. The API of the AIS server will select targets based on your criteria such as distance from your present location. This saves time on the receive end and reduces the amount of data by about 100:1. This is the way to solve the problem.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2016, 00:21   #1998

Thumbs up Re: Feature Requests

Good morning. I'm new in the fórum, but i've been using OPEN CPN for a long time.

After the last versión, I decided to go on this fórum to request new features for OPEN CPN that will make the day for me and some friends of mine.