Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-12-2013, 01:46   #1531
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Morbihan Brittany France
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 37
Posts: 64
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
fulup...
I think the informational message (linux and Mac only) might be a good idea. I will try to work it into the next Beta.
Dave
Thank you Dave. Hopeful it should not be too complex. A basic empty test on devices list after /dev scandir should be enough to detect the error.
__________________

__________________
fulup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 03:25   #1532
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 30
Re: Feature Requests

As a feature request/idea would it be possible to :

a/ have a style setup that increases the toolbars size (200%) for use on tablets
b/ have a more user friendly way of changing zoom on a touchscreen tablet ...maybe a slider bar?

Thanks

Mark
OpenCPN installed on a Sony Xperia 10.1"tablet.
__________________

__________________
mhasting2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 06:57   #1533
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Posts: 238
Chart shift management

I have a few charts that are in datums that are not WGS84-compatible, but the shift is indicated in the chart, something like, say '0,05 E, '0,12 N

So I'm left with one option: rip the tiff and, using complicated software, re-create the KAP file using the known shift. Or else discard the chart.

I would be really nice if we could, by configuration, shift individual charts. Or by chart directory, in the worst case.

--Diego
__________________
dpons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 15:38   #1534
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 441
Re: Chart shift management

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpons View Post
I have a few charts that are in datums that are not WGS84-compatible, but the shift is indicated in the chart, something like, say '0,05 E, '0,12 N

So I'm left with one option: rip the tiff and, using complicated software, re-create the KAP file using the known shift. Or else discard the chart.

I would be really nice if we could, by configuration, shift individual charts. Or by chart directory, in the worst case.

--Diego
If your charts are in BsB/KAP format then you can use the GE2KAP program to shift them.

Though I wrote it for an earlier version of GE2KAP you might find my guide here to be of use.

Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 16:01   #1535
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Posts: 238
Re: Chart shift management

Quote:
Originally Posted by yachtvalhalla View Post
If your charts are in BsB/KAP format then you can use the GE2KAP program to shift them.

Though I wrote it for an earlier version of GE2KAP you might find my guide here to be of use.

Terry
Thanks Terry.

I was thinking about something incorporated into OCPN, so I can use marks are reference.

I could use the DTM instructive to shift the BSB, but I can't correlate the results. I seems that with a few charts just shifting the indicated amount does not produce a good match with WGS84, such as Brazil's 211209.KAP

-Diego
__________________
dpons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 23:50   #1536
Registered User
 
cruisingdog's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Boat: Catalina
Posts: 24
Re: Feature Requests

A really cool feature would be to have an 'Actual' water depth (calculated).This would only work on vector charts I guess. You could use the tide information and add it to the sounding. Maybe a linear interpolation between tide 'reporting beacons'. A little icon like a bold green circle with the 'calculated depth' inside would be useful.
__________________
cruisingdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 05:00   #1537
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Baikal
Posts: 239
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by cruisingdog View Post
A really cool feature would be to have an 'Actual' water depth (calculated).This would only work on vector charts I guess. You could use the tide information and add it to the sounding. Maybe a linear interpolation between tide 'reporting beacons'. A little icon like a bold green circle with the 'calculated depth' inside would be useful.
Great idea!
I would like to see the ability to enter the depths of the amendments in the parameters map. + / - Amendment.
After entering the soundings and depth contours should be automatically recalculated, coloring areas to change the color depth. How it is implemented in the viewer can see S-57 SeeMyENC http://www.sevencs.com/files/downloa...eeMyENC.20.zip
__________________
Baikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:29   #1538
Registered User
 
cruisingdog's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Boat: Catalina
Posts: 24
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baikal View Post
Great idea!
I would like to see the ability to enter the depths of the amendments in the parameters map. + / - Amendment.
After entering the soundings and depth contours should be automatically recalculated, coloring areas to change the color depth. How it is implemented in the viewer can see S-57 SeeMyENC http://www.sevencs.com/files/downloa...eeMyENC.20.zip
Maybe the ammendments should be available on the cloud somewhere and downloadable to everyone. Possibly a 'sync' button so that what you have added get's uploaded and you get to download everyone elses information.

Kind of a community 'soundings' correction. Now what would be really cool is if the depth sounder on your boat could also be added into the software and it could record at intervals of maybe 1 second along with the GPS coordinates and record that information automatically. This could then be uploaded to the cloud and a correlation with others data calculated (like the median/average value). That would automatically produce accurate soundings which is constantly being updated. This would all have to be time correlated so that the tide information is correctly utilized.
__________________
cruisingdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2013, 06:26   #1539
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Re: Feature Requests

Hi Dave,

just an idea. Would it make sense providing an option for updating the PC clock from the GPS when the PC doesn't have Internet access?
__________________
berthold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2013, 07:28   #1540
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,646
Re: Feature Requests

Yes maybe, possibly could default back to previous internet clock when the GPS is turned off, but with different OS that may be a challenge. Time is a security issue.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2013, 15:10   #1541
Registered User
 
Viking Sailor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Fantasia 35 - s/v Feeling Good
Posts: 983
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
While most clocks derive their time from Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), the atomic clocks on the satellites are set to GPS time (GPST). The difference is that GPS time is not corrected to match the rotation of the Earth, so it does not contain leap seconds or other corrections that are periodically added to UTC. GPS time was set to match UTC in 1980, but has since diverged. The lack of corrections means that GPS time remains at a constant offset with International Atomic Time (TAI) (TAI − GPS = 19 seconds). Periodic corrections are performed to the on-board clocks to keep them synchronized with ground clocks.

The GPS navigation message includes the difference between GPS time and UTC. As of July 2012, GPS time is 16 seconds ahead of UTC because of the leap second added to UTC June 30, 2012. Receivers subtract this offset from GPS time to calculate UTC and specific timezone values. New or cold started GPS units may not show the correct UTC time until after receiving the UTC offset message. The GPS-UTC offset field can accommodate 255 leap seconds (eight bits).
Something to consider when thinking about using GPST to set the computer clock.
__________________
Viking Sailor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2013, 15:50   #1542
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,903
Re: Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by berthold View Post
Hi Dave,

just an idea. Would it make sense providing an option for updating the PC clock from the GPS when the PC doesn't have Internet access?
If there weren't ready made free solution that can happily coexist with OpenCPN and do it, maybe. But I don't see any real reason why not use GPS clock freeware or gpstime - Script that sets system time through a GPS. - Google Project Hosting depending on the platform...

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2013, 08:04   #1543
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,494
Re: Feature Requests

Pavel...

We have code in OCPN to do this. Very old cruft, untested in a long time.

chart1.cpp:7451

Code:
#ifdef ocpnUPDATE_SYSTEM_TIME
//      Use the fix time to update the local system clock, only once per session
    if( ( sfixtime.Len() ) && s_bSetSystemTime && ( m_bTimeIsSet == false ) ) {
Too many ideas, too little time....
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2013, 12:10   #1544

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12,112
Re: Feature Requests

Given the typical accuracy of computer clocks, and that the main purpose of the computer's clock will probably be "What's the tide?", I would think the issue is meaningless. Unless you plan to use the computer's clock as your sextant chronograph, which is certainly possible but almost certainly not necessary or convenient.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2013, 12:38   #1545
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Goteborg City,
Boat: 31' GRP Folkboat
Posts: 273
Re: Feature Requests

I would love to be able to convert the clipper wind sensors MWV and XDR sentence to the VWR sentence required by my ST1000 autopilot.

Don't know if it is possible..

.manitu
__________________

__________________
Is it possible that my sole purpose in life is to act as a warning to others?
manitu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet anothr of my stupid requests Little Otter Multihull Sailboats 2 30-06-2008 00:29
Any requests for pics at Strictly Sail Oakland? Redbull addict Monohull Sailboats 0 30-03-2007 19:33
Capt.Jack requests permission to come aboard canatc1 Meets & Greets 8 10-04-2006 17:54


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:50.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.