Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2016, 11:04   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

I purchased a Dual XGPS150A unit for use with OpenCPN running on Windows 10. I purchased this unit because it was listed on the OpenCPN hardware page (second row from the bottom). However, I have been unable to get the unit to show a position in OpenCPN. Windows 10 indicates that it is paired with the unit, the unit appears up under Bluetooth devices and also shows com ports assigned for both input and output. But the XGPS150 unit's blue Bluetooth light flashes at 1 second intervals indicating that it does not think it is connected. Dual has not been very helpful so far in solving this problem. There is documentation telling how to set this device up with earlier versions of Windows but not Windows 10. Those directions are not applicable to Win 10. I'm hoping that there is someone who has an understanding of Bluetooth to OpenCPN protocols might be able to troubleshoot this problem. I have attached a picture of screen shots of Windows 10 settings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Windows-XGPS-settings.jpg
Views:	184
Size:	82.1 KB
ID:	122092  
__________________

NWSail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 06:58   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 665
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

Your thumbnails aren't legible. Try uploading 1 at a time instead of combining.
__________________

__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 09:26   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

wdkester, thanks for being willing to take a look. Attached are hopefully legible images. Let me know if there is a problem with them.

Ken
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.gif
Views:	133
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	122200   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.gif
Views:	141
Size:	48.4 KB
ID:	122201  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3.gif
Views:	115
Size:	54.7 KB
ID:	122202  
NWSail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 05:55   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 665
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

Have you gone to Options>Connections and added a connection for com8 and com9 at the proper baud rate?
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 06:38   #5
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,950
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

And what does the Windows Device Manager say under "COM Ports"?
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 10:13   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

Thanks wdkester and bcn for helping to troubleshoot this. To answer your questions:

Windows 10 does not appear to display the baud rate for connected devices. I have spend a lot of time browsing through all the options and properties in Bluetooth settings. The XGPS150 is using com ports 15 (outgoing) and 16 (incoming). It was using lower numbered com ports at first but I have connected and disconnected the unit a few times while trying to get it to connect. As my previous screen shots showed, when I go to Bluetooth settings and select the XGPS device, it says "this device is working properly." However, if I then click Properties under the Events tab there is a message that says "...further installation required." but it gives no clue as to exactly how to accomplish that. I have attached a screen shot of this message. However, I'm not convinced that this is the source of the problem.

Any help you can give me would be very much appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	319.4 KB
ID:	122535  
NWSail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 11:39   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,833
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

Yes, I know, even the latest Windows10 is not able to handle Bluetooth devices correct. I just fired up my virtual Windows10 maschine and saw the desaster. Why the heck these Redmond people are so stupid. Like Windows95 there are still 2 serial ports shown while for this SPP only one is correct. Look a little bit at my pictures. Sadly I only have a german virtual Windows10 maschine but you will understand the pictures. I have connected 2 Bluetooth devices here, one is an AIS receiver (the RO4800 VHF) and the other is a BT GPS device. Both work as expected.
However I guess you have not paired your device correctly. So it will not send any data.

Gerhard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BT-Win10a.png
Views:	61
Size:	68.0 KB
ID:	122536   Click image for larger version

Name:	BT-Win10b.png
Views:	67
Size:	69.9 KB
ID:	122537  

Click image for larger version

Name:	BT-Win10c.png
Views:	62
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	122538  
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 13:42   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 665
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

If they didn't include a test program, you might try something like GPSInfo.

My bluetooth gps runs at 35400 baud.
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 16:54   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,833
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdkester View Post
If they didn't include a test program, you might try something like GPSInfo.

My bluetooth gps runs at 35400 baud.
Although it doesn't hurt for a Bluetooth connection, the usual baud rate steps are: 150, 300, 600, 1200, 2400, 4800, 9600, 19200, 38400, 57600, 115200, 230400, 460800 and 921600 but not 35400.

Gerhard
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 19:22   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 665
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdkester View Post
If they didn't include a test program, you might try something like GPSInfo.

My bluetooth gps runs at 35400 baud.
ooops make that 38400
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2016, 15:57   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 665
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

NWsail

I haven't tried my BT589 in (my guess) 3-4 months. So I gave it a try and it didn't work on 2 W7 and 1 W8 systems. I went to the little Bluetooth icon in the taskbar and deleted the old BT589. (1) I paired it again with no pass code. It appeared in the BT device display but no com port appeared. So (2) I deleted it and paired it again with the pass code. I don't remember if there was a com port but I thinks so; but no joy again. (3) So I did exactly the same thing as try 2 and it worked.

I read that Windows and BT don't play well together. This would also be my experience. For my use, I will only count on it for a third level backup device.

Do you have it working yet?
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2016, 01:45   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,833
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdkester View Post
I read that Windows and BT don't play well together. This would also be my experience.
Windows does not play well together with any external device wether BT or USB. You will always have driver problems.

Gerhard
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2016, 03:06   #13
Registered User
 
Three Sisters's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 484
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by NWSail View Post
I purchased a Dual XGPS150A unit for use with OpenCPN running on Windows 10. I purchased this unit because it was listed on the OpenCPN hardware page (second row from the bottom). However, I have been unable to get the unit to show a position in OpenCPN. Windows 10 indicates that it is paired with the unit, the unit appears up under Bluetooth devices and also shows com ports assigned for both input and output. But the XGPS150 unit's blue Bluetooth light flashes at 1 second intervals indicating that it does not think it is connected. Dual has not been very helpful so far in solving this problem. There is documentation telling how to set this device up with earlier versions of Windows but not Windows 10. Those directions are not applicable to Win 10. I'm hoping that there is someone who has an understanding of Bluetooth to OpenCPN protocols might be able to troubleshoot this problem. I have attached a picture of screen shots of Windows 10 settings.
Might be your firmware is out of date on the Dual
Three Sisters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2016, 05:46   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Boat: vd Stadt 44, Ben the Boat
Posts: 196
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

I would contact Customer support

cs@dualav.com

Bart
champ8242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2016, 04:20   #15
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 121
Re: Dual XGPS150A unit and Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Three Sisters View Post
Might be your firmware is out of date on the Dual
More likely to be a problem with Win 10. Is it an OEM or MS version? I have just chucked a new HP laptop running Win 10 because of poor driver support.

You need to check the BT drivers from both Microsoft and the hardware manufacturer.
__________________

Tupaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps, wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual XGPS150 and Windows 10 NWSail OpenCPN 2 23-03-2016 07:43
To have dual fuel tanks? Or not to have dual fuel tanks? That is my question. Campbellcruiser Engines and Propulsion Systems 9 22-07-2015 17:15
Dual XGPS150A with Windows & Opencpn Mystic38 OpenCPN 2 08-09-2014 14:11
Dual Vessel Views -vs- Single Vessel View on Dual Cummings MV WOLFPACK Marine Electronics 0 12-04-2014 06:45
Raytech RNS and Windows 7 and Windows XP kene66 Marine Electronics 2 23-02-2010 14:50



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:39.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.