Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-05-2010, 06:12   #1
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Does OCPN support NMEA 0183 v3.1?

Hi,

we had this question on the German OCPN website and I am not quite sure so I ask you guys.

A user has an iGPS-M Pro USB GPS Receiver (Amazon.com: M-Pro: iGPS-M Pro USB GPS Receiver (51 ch, MTK, WAAS): Everything…) which only works with 9600 bps.

Is this supported by OCPN or does the GPS has to work on 4800 bps?

Additional question:
Would it be possible (as an alternative) e.g. to use an application which offers a Serial to TCP/IP functionality (and works with 9600) and use the Network GPSD option in OCPN?

Thanks for your help,

Gunther
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2010, 06:48   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,387
Netsurfer....

Opencpn only supports 4800 baud for gps. There is a small plan to allow 9600 baud, but not coded yet.

It should work to use serial-to-tcp/ip conversion, like this on linux:

1. Set up serial to tcp program, at {ip} and {port}
2. Create a fifo
$mkfifo /tmp/gpsfifo
3 using netcat, send gps data into the fifo
$nc {ip} {port} > /tmp/gpsfifo
4. hand edit opencpn.conf and make GPS data source like this:
[Settings/GPSPort]
Port=Serial:/tmp/gpsfifo

I have not personally tested this, but it should work.

Good luck, and let me know how it works
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2010, 06:57   #3
Registered User
 
manimaul's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 416
netcat / socat

I did a lot of experimentations with socat and pipes for my program Gippy.

I found that Opencpn will only read from a pipe if the pipe is in a directory named 'dev' ... thus, Gippy ouptuts to '/tmp/dev/vgps0-5' for opencpn.

I also found that you will have to start piping data before launching opencpn... Opencpn will not see it otherwise.

I ended up not using socat in Gippy since I could spawn my own pts socket in python and emulate a 4800 baud serial port.

Anyhow, here is some experimentation examples I kept using socat:

Code:
WORKS sending to maxsea timezero & v12 over network
socat -d -d -u /dev/ttyUSB0,nonblock,raw,echo=0,b4800 UDP-SENDTO:10.254.254.62:10000

WORKS sending to coastal explorer over network
socat -d -d -u /dev/ttyUSB0,nonblock,raw,echo=0,b4800 TCP4-LISTEN:23002,fork

WORKS sending to virtual serial
socat -d -d -u /dev/ttyUSB0,nonblock,raw,echo=0,b4800 PTY,link=$HOME/dev/vmodem0,raw,echo=0,wait-slave 

WORKS sending to pipe
socat -d -d -u /dev/ttyUSB0,nonblock,raw,echo=0,b4800 PIPE:/home/will/fifo,fork
@Dave,
UDP, TCP, and variable baud rate data sources for opencpn would be a cool feature for future versions
__________________
Marine Navigation for Android:
https://mxmariner.com
manimaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2010, 07:09   #4
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Dave, Will,

thanks for your answers and suggestions. As I am no Linuxer (still only using WIndows ) I do not understand a lot, but I forwarded the infos (had to ask on what OS the user is).

Quote:
Originally Posted by manimaul View Post
I could spawn my own pts socket in python and emulate a 4800 baud serial port.
There is also a Python version available for Windows. So your script may also run on Windows (with some slight changes perhaps) ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by manimaul
@Dave,
UDP, TCP, and variable baud rate data sources for opencpn would be a cool feature for future versions
Absolutely!

Gunther
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2010, 07:18   #5
Registered User
 
manimaul's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsurfer View Post
There is also a Python version available for Windows. So your script may also run on Windows (with some slight changes perhaps) ?
Unfortunately this is not the case. You might look into
Franson Gate or com0com for Windows.
__________________
Marine Navigation for Android:
https://mxmariner.com
manimaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2010, 07:42   #6
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by manimaul View Post
Unfortunately this is not the case.
Hmmm ..., but on Download Python there is a Windows Version available (have it also installed on my computer). So if your script is written in Python it should run also on Windows plattforms. Or did I miss something?

Gunther

BTW: Isn't it the same with Phiggins AIS simulator (which I could not get running)?
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea, nmea 0183

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICOM SSB and NMEA 0183 vs 2000 bbhflts Marine Electronics 13 06-11-2016 10:58
NMEA-0183 and RS-422 vs RS-232 scotte Marine Electronics 32 23-05-2014 22:47
NMEA 0183 v. 1.5 vs 1.8 bchaps Marine Electronics 3 03-03-2010 16:06
NMEA 0183 Garmin Chartplotter -> Raymarine ess105 Navigation 5 24-11-2008 04:54
NMEA 0183 wind instrument? hglad Marine Electronics 2 18-08-2008 09:29

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.