Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-12-2015, 00:48   #121
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Hubert
I can agree but something is strange with the present code in Dirks GitHUb. OCPN won't close down completely but is still in background. I suspect that the temporary slider box is not properly killed, but that's not verified.
Håkan
__________________

__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2015, 07:02   #122
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,320
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Yes Dirk says sliders are temporary to get the right adjustments for
SOG, CPA, TCPA, Range & Size. Currently CPA & TCPA don't seem to be working based on setting those sliders at 100 (maximum effect) and the sliders for the others at 0.

Håkan points out that there is a problem in the main repos OpenCPN where CPA is calculated at 800 nm, which is out of range of the setting, so that might be affecting the RooieDirk TargetScale version too, making CPA TargetScaling not work.

BCN what is ext Beta? The next beta? I suppose wrapping his Targetscale into the next beta would be a good conservative approach, allowing others to test it more widely. Maybe we wait today and see if Dirk is back and responds. He's been working hard on this and there's somet with AIS in the main OpenCPN too.

Quite frankly, this addresses one Display problem many others have commented on, with various alternative solutions, and this solution does not remove any data from display, just resizes based upon importance. I am not sure it will slow things up that much either.
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2015, 10:58   #123
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 300
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

@all
Been underway the last 3 day from first, till last day light. Tomorrow one more lock
I found the problem with the CPA and TCPA settings. Weight was linear with value. Made it reverse with value now.
After some trying I'm not confinced that the TCPA value is any good for determining if a target is important or not. A vessel passing on 10NM distance with a TCPA of 1 minute is not important at all. Maybe combine it with CPA, if vessel is still approaching more weight then when vessel has passed already.
I will have a look at it tomorrow.
Dirk
__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2015, 11:21   #124
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Dirk..
By more or less a mistake I posted on another thread about this plugin. If you want, follow this OpenCPN Beta test 4.1.1108 Release
Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2015, 20:16   #125
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,320
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Dirk,
I will try to find opencpn.ico and put it in there, but something is missing.
Thanks.

PS --didn''t find a solution.

Quote:
Build FAILED.

"C:\Users\Rick\Documents\GitHub\OpenCPN-Target_Display_Filter\build\ALL_BUILD.vcxproj" (default tar
get) (1) ->
"C:\Users\Rick\Documents\GitHub\OpenCPN-Target_Display_Filter\build\plugins\dashboard_pi\d ashboard_
pi.vcxproj" (default target) (14) ->
"C:\Users\Rick\Documents\GitHub\OpenCPN-Target_Display_Filter\build\opencpn.vcxproj" (default targe
t) (16) ->
(ResourceCompile target) ->
C:\Users\Rick\Documents\GitHub\OpenCPN-Target_Display_Filter\src\opencpn.rc(1): error RC2135: fil
e not found: bitmaps\opencpn.ico [C:\Users\Rick\Documents\GitHub\OpenCPN-Target_Display_Filter\buil
d\opencpn.vcxproj]

0 Warning(s)
1 Error(s)
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2015, 21:29   #126
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,878
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Rick...

I am working on the missing files now. I will have a fix shortly.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2015, 22:10   #127
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,878
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Dirk...

Minor fixups on the Pull, merged into master. Looks good so far.

So, can you give us a tutorial on the functions and behaviour of this Feature? Especially, tell us about the filtering/sizing logic, and the tool icon cycling, so that we may update the docs.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2015, 03:35   #128
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Scaled AIS in core code builds fine with VS2013.

The new scaling logic is much better. Not less with the new default values. So - a tip for those having used the function before: Delete all five "AISScaledNumber........." in the config file to write them to default on next start.

Would it be possible to remember the last scaling mode to next OCPN start, as erlier discussed? It may be prepared with the "AISShowScaled=1" in config but is not yet used I think?

Very nice Dirk!

Thanks
Håkan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AIS_scale.PNG
Views:	51
Size:	226.1 KB
ID:	115345  
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2015, 04:28   #129
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

When I changed to Traditional tools style I saw the new icons for the AIS function. Normally I'm using the Journeyman style and there the icons are as before?
Would it be possible you make icons for the scaling feature also for Journeyman?

Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2015, 07:40   #130
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,320
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Thankyou Dave, Dirk and Håkan,

1. Compiled main Opencpn, opencpn_4.1.1108_GIT7-32ee195AddMissingImagefiles
2. Deleted the AIS scale settings from previous use.

I really like the Toolbar Icon AIS messages
"Show All AIS Targets." click
"HideAIS Targets" click
"Scale Less important AIS Targets". click


I also like the Menubar AIS dropdown selections (see image below)
"Scale Less important AIS Targets". click
"Show All AIS Targets." click

This all seems to work very nicely.
I am having some trouble getting the underlying checkmark for
"Scale Targets when greater than > 10 boats"
to respond however. I don't know if I have unrealistic expectations.
I think this gets checked on and off by the controls above as well, but It does
not seem to do anything from
Options > Ships > Ais Targets > checkox for Scale Targets....

Great Improvement! Thankyou all.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ScaleLessImportantTargets-2.png
Views:	50
Size:	197.4 KB
ID:	115354  
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2015, 16:19   #131
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 198
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Nice work but two small things

- lost scaled down targets, black bars don't seem to be scaled.
- label text:
allow scaling down targets if more then ... targets.
__________________
did-g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2015, 18:00   #132
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,320
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

did-g
"allow scaling down targets if more thAn ... targets."
Under Windows this is Under Options > Ships > AIS only I am not sure if it works from that window/menu. I put a check or take it off and close and there does not seem to be a change. However it works in the other places.

How about you? Is it Linux?
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2015, 14:49   #133
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,320
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Dave, Dirk & Hakan,

New compile of Opencpn today. After working with fresh compile of ocpn_draw and watchdog awhile, I tried the new AIS features in their final configuration.

1. Menubar > AIS clickable access to turn on and off AIS features quickly.
2. Toolbar clickable rolling AIS Icon to control the state of AIS, very nice.
3. Attenuate less critical AIS targets, works very nicely.

Thank you.

Through the Menubar > AIS drop down we can now quickly turn on and off "Show CPA Alert Dialogs" and "Sound CPA Alarms". We are also able to turn on and off "Attenuate less critical AIS Targets" and "Hide moored AIS Targets".

I believe these are the main controls needed when transitioning from Ocean to Coastal to Harbor conditions, so hopefully there will address most people's concerns.

Bdcat, we have your operational description of the controls for updating the manual, thank you.

Dirk, for update to the Opencpn Manual, regarding Scaled Targets, you gave a great description earlier but that has been updated by some adjustments to the parameters. Do we want to have some description of the way the algorithm works in the manual?

Dirk & Bdcat. Thank you. Have a great Xmas...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AIS-Menubar-Toolbar.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	220.9 KB
ID:	115631  
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2015, 15:21   #134
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,320
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

For those Windows users who would like to do some Beta Testing there is a current version available here.
Ocpn-Draw and Boundary
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2015, 17:20   #135
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,320
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

For beta testing with Windows, updated again.
Find it here
Ocpn-Draw and Boundary
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To filter or Not to filter... Marpessa Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 40 18-01-2014 22:10
Same Filter Part Number Totally Different Filter. Lagoon4us Engines and Propulsion Systems 3 10-11-2013 11:12
racor 500 filter what micron filter? quartersplash Engines and Propulsion Systems 21 09-05-2012 08:15
Filter Gasoline in a Racor Diesel Filter ? Sailorman Ed Engines and Propulsion Systems 4 04-12-2011 20:37
For Sale: Racor 500-Like Filter and Valves for Dual Filter Setup funjohnson Classifieds Archive 2 07-08-2011 13:52



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.