Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-12-2015, 13:32   #106
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 303
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Temporally I added dialog with sizers to adjust the weighing of various settings. Please do some playing and return the settings you like most.
It is not the intended to keep this for the definite version, only to find the best defaults in an easy way.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sizers.png
Views:	61
Size:	152.2 KB
ID:	114952  
__________________

__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2015, 16:43   #107
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,047
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Playing with it now...

A couple remarks, ideas:
  • targets for which we don't have a full message (including size), are scaled too small, for my taste.
  • The size weighting brought up another 'want': I think the 'real size outline' of targets is drawn too late, only when zoomed in very far. The scale when it displays the outline of the ship can not be set smaller than 5000, but even then the code in ais.cpp limits the display. I changed line 1023 to
    Code:
        if (ais_real_size[4].x - ais_real_size[0].x < 2 || ais_real_size[2].y - ais_real_size[0].y < 8)
    and get an earlier display of the outline, helping me understand the situation in attached screenshot, two tugs guiding a large ship.
Maybe your scaling could incorporate the real size of the ship and if the ship size is larger than the displayed AIS icon, display the outline too?

Dirk2
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AIS-scaling-NYC.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	81.5 KB
ID:	114966  
__________________

__________________
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2015, 18:29   #108
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,407
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

I was just struggling with this too, and heartily endorse Dirk2's idea if it is at all possible.

Quote:
Maybe your scaling could incorporate the real size of the ship and if the ship size is larger than the displayed AIS icon, display the outline too?

Dirk2
Yes, I'd very much like to see the footprint of ships nearest displayed larger earlier scale, currently they are displaying between 2200 and 1100 and I'd like to see the ship outline display at about 9200 for example.

I also have the sense that all targets are a good deal smaller in this version for some reason, and I can't seem to adjust it bigger. I've tried turning off TargetScale as well to see if there would be a big change. Until I figure this problem out I won't be able to help with the adjustments I think.

Yes, my impression after looking at both Hakefjord in Sweden file and Hartmut's Meerkermeer AIS files, which are both showing smaller ships overall, is what setting in opencpn.ini has changed? How do I fix this?

I don't find any overall setting user AIS opencpn.ini that would affect target scale. So I willl attach a photo.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2015, 19:03   #109
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,407
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

I was using the program instance that came wiith installation. I shut down. rebooted and now it is working with large and small scaled vessels under ScaledTargets.

Opencpn Beta File Thingie rguser rgpass

Find in the Home directory
opencpn_4.1.1108_AIS4-AIS_Target_Scaling
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2015, 23:59   #110
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 303
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

@Dirk2
In principle it is possible I think, but will have some impact on speed. Every target is drawn one's a second, and for every target there should be a compare between ships size and chart scale.
I will first finish as is, and maybe make some improvements later.

@Rick
I didn't change the size of 'normal' targets.
If you have all small scaled targets, pls check the number of full scale targets in the options page(is it zero??). On my large screen I can use 25, but on a smaller display you might want only 10.
__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2015, 03:08   #111
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Dirk
Windows:
Scaled targets are now very small and the size is not dependent of the "Size" value. Neither if it's changed with slide bar nor direct in config file.
Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2015, 08:52   #112
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,407
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Dirk,
If I put
SOG=100
CPA=0
TCPA=0
Range=0
Size=0
Fastest 10-12kn boat are largest. 5kn Boats a little smaller. Boats moored smallest. Good.

SOG=0
CPA=0
TCPA=0
Range=100
Size=0
Closer Boats larger, good

SOG=0
CPA=100
TCPA=0
Range=0
Size=0
Not working right

SOG=0
CPA=0
TCPA=100
Range=0
Size=0
Not working right, seems to show larger vessels ahead to the right with large icon, but no CPA or TCPA. And yest smaller icons are alerting and they are small icons.

SOG=0
CPA=100
TCPA=100

Range=0
Size=0
No affect, vessels ahead with alerts not larger icons. Not working.

SOG=0
CPA=0
TCPA=0
Range=100
Size=0
Works well.

SOG=0
CPA=0
TCPA=0
Range=0
Size=100
Works well, all tankers and large ships are large icons..

I realize this conflicts with Hakan, but perhaps he can reboot and try the above?
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2015, 09:55   #113
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Rick
Have you got the scaled targets to change in size? E.g. Can you control the minimum size of scaled targets? (Apart from when they are upon to change size, up or down)
Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2015, 10:41   #114
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 303
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan View Post
Rick
Have you got the scaled targets to change in size? E.g. Can you control the minimum size of scaled targets? (Apart from when they are upon to change size, up or down)
Håkan
@Håkan At this moment the small size is fixed at all dimensions 50% of 'big' size. I did this to improve speed. (doing size calculations for every target every second does take time)
@Rick I'll double check the code for CPA and TCPA.
__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2015, 17:41   #115
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,407
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Hakan (can't do the Alt 134 yet on my keyboard, no numb key) I can live with it. OK?

Size seems to work for me. 3 pics, Size=0 , 50, 100
Seems to be scaling boats. At 100 lots of them are smaller.

So what the filter does is make smaller boats smaller

All boat icons same size= 0 ---> 100 = Smaller boats get smaller.
-
-
-
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Size=0.png
Views:	69
Size:	174.4 KB
ID:	115047   Click image for larger version

Name:	Size=50.png
Views:	69
Size:	174.5 KB
ID:	115048  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Size=100.png
Views:	71
Size:	151.5 KB
ID:	115049  
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2015, 03:18   #116
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Rick
I can live well with that as well. Since the Swedish "å" pronunciation seems hard for others I'm used Hakan.
On a laptop are the num keys normally reached by the function key and the corresponding numbers or by switching on "Num lk". num key 134 are then on "jlu" on my board.
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2015, 17:55   #117
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Dirk...

I'm getting ready to release a new Beta.

I need to know the status and general consensus about this AIS scaling Feature addition.

1. Do we want it? Are we agreed on the functionality?
2. How is the code shaping up? Is a valid Pull Request ready soon?

We really need to get this into widestream Beta in order to consider it for O4.2

Thanks for your input
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2015, 22:35   #118
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,407
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Hope Dirk isn't on a voyage, its almost there. We were just in process of adjusting settings for the final. Hakan was also helping. One or two of the sliders parameters didn't work as expected. If he can get those working I am sure Hakan and I will give him our best settings quickly, so he can decide.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2015, 23:40   #119
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

My opinion is that the function will be useful but not critical. Around big harbors and crowded fairways it will for sure give a better an undisturbed overview.
It's a risk that it will load to much power on systems with with limited capacity, but can in that case be disabled.
But it's not yet quit ready and need some adjustments. Dirk have done a nice job with this but if he's busy now we can also wait and implement it in a later release.
Rick, I think the sliders are for beta tests only and will not be a part of the released version.
Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2015, 00:06   #120
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,766
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Perhaps we should have it in the ext beta just to have an opportunity to test on a broader basis.
With the option to withdraw it for the next release it the comfort level is not getting high enough.

Hubert
__________________

__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To filter or Not to filter... Marpessa Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 40 18-01-2014 22:10
Same Filter Part Number Totally Different Filter. Lagoon4us Engines and Propulsion Systems 3 10-11-2013 11:12
racor 500 filter what micron filter? quartersplash Engines and Propulsion Systems 21 09-05-2012 08:15
Filter Gasoline in a Racor Diesel Filter ? Sailorman Ed Engines and Propulsion Systems 4 04-12-2011 20:37
For Sale: Racor 500-Like Filter and Valves for Dual Filter Setup funjohnson Classifieds Archive 2 07-08-2011 13:52



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:49.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.