Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2015, 14:34   #91
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,344
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

So, I decided to
1. Copy opencpn.ini to opencpn-backup.ini
2. Install over my standard v4.1.1108 and to select "Reset all Opencpn Configuration Files"

I found that the new opencpn.ini
did not have the following:

Quote:
bShowScaledTargets=1
AISScaledNumber=10
AISScaledNumberWeightSOG=120
AISScaledNumberWeightCPA=100
AISScaledNumberWeightTCPA=100
AISScaledNumberWeightRange=100
AISScaledNumberWeightClassB=-20
AISScaledSizeMinimal=50
However my opencpn-backup.ini file did have them!

Yet it is hard to discern any target scaling occurring in either version!

A text file with the two opencpn.ini is attached.

So now I think I am going to copy my opencpn-backup.ini back to opencpn.ini because neither version seems to make a difference in target scaling.

Perhaps you could advise what settings are necessary in the opencpn.ini and tell us if there are old settings that should be deleted?
Attached Files
File Type: doc opencpn.ini-Target-Scaling.doc (3.4 KB, 8 views)
__________________

__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 14:38   #92
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: On the Go
Boat: Various
Posts: 666
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Pardon the levity but does anyone else remember what AIS stood for in an old episode of Everybody Loves Raymond? It's become standard lingo in our family
__________________

__________________
Janet Groene
JanetGroene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 15:01   #93
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,344
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Urban Dictionary: AIS

Maybe I am on the wrong branch. What branch should we be using Dirk?
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2015, 08:40   #94
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 300
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

@Dave,
Just posted a rewriting on GIT. Now based upon Sean improvements for AIS drawing. The extra overhead is minimal, I couldn't see any increase of load.
The AIS Button cycle through is also functional (apart from the icons) now.

@Rick,
See above. To be sure you better remove
Quote:
bShowScaledTargets=1
AISScaledNumber=10
AISScaledNumberWeightSOG=120
AISScaledNumberWeightCPA=100
AISScaledNumberWeightTCPA=100
AISScaledNumberWeightRange=100
AISScaledNumberWeightClassB=-20
AISScaledSizeMinimal=50
As the defaults are a little changed, and they should be updated when there is nothing in the config file.

For testing with linux-64, a compiled version here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-4...ew?usp=sharing
__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2015, 13:13   #95
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,344
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Thanks Dirk, I'll give it a try after I remove those settings, and hopefully be able to upload an installer for Windows tests. Looks like I use AIS_ScaledTargets branch.
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2015, 16:36   #96
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Dirk..
I fetched one hour ago and it builds fine in VS2013.

Seems to work very well but sometimes the scale logic is not very clear. See attached screen shot where long distance target are not scaled but very close are. Distance from boat to screen edge is around 80 NM.

I will or course play with the weighting numbers to get it after my mind but it's also a statistic behavior. It will sometimes look strange when closer ships are weighted lower then a more distanced. If I understand it correct are the SOG, CPA and TCPA not calculated as vectors. I mean a ship with a heading 90 degr from my heading still get a TCPA as is if she was heading against me, but we will never meet. And that will of course fool your scaling logic.
This, what I with more or less success try to express in English, is something we have to live with and get used to.

The button/icon is functional although it's not visualized. I think you intend to change the icon appearance at different cycles. Correct?

Your scaling function is now (again) very good and I will for sure use it.

Thanks/Håkan

Settings are as default:
Code:
bShowScaledTargets=1
AISScaledNumber=10
AISScaledNumberWeightSOG=120
AISScaledNumberWeightCPA=100
AISScaledNumberWeightTCPA=100
AISScaledNumberWeightRange=100
AISScaledNumberWeightClassB=-20
AISScaledSizeMinimal=50
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AIS_scale.PNG
Views:	65
Size:	170.9 KB
ID:	114900  
__________________
Hakan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2015, 19:10   #97
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,344
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter? Yes, we really want a TargetScale feature.

Give Range a little more importance? -So closer boats bigger.
Have TargetScale (TS) value in the AIS List?
This could help with adjust the TargetScale parameters. Can sort.
- Can move columns and sort by columns.

Use of Ceasar's Menubar for Mac with AIS for quick setting access.
--------------
file:///C:/Program%20Files%20%28x86%29/OpenCPN%204.1.1108/doc/help_en_US.html
Quote:
The Menu Bar can be activated in two ways.
It can be on all the time by ticking Options->User Interface -> Show Menu Bar.
If this choice is not on, the Menu Bar can be shown temporarily by using the hot-key "Alt".
As soon as the screen is used, for example by panning or double clicking for an Object Query, the Menu Bar disappears.
--Alt no longer works for me. I have to pick "Show Menubar in UI".

Anyway with Menubar Displayed. Select AIS > and you can check/uncheck
  • Show AIS Targets
  • Show Target Tracks
  • Show CPA Alert Dialogs
  • Sound CPA Alerts
  • AIS Target List
  • Scale Targets <--- New to add!
  • Harbor <---New changes all AIS parameters even those above
  • Coastal <--New changes all AIS parameters even those above
  • Ocean <--New changes all AIS parameters even those above

This can be really useful.

Maybe we could have parameter settings for
Harbor, Coastal and Ocean settings worked into this interface?

Those with smaller screens that did not want the Menubar would need to go to Options > Ships > AIS to make this setting?

Is there a better way?

----------
@ Håkan Have you ever done this long trip by boat? Soundings from 1800's, Big Lakes, must be beautiful.
VAENERN ---> Goeteborg --> Mariestad --> Sjoetorp --> Goeta Kanal --> Viken --> Forsvik --> Karlsborg --> Motala --> Goeta Kannal --> Roxen --> Norsholm --> Goeta Kannal --> Baltic Sea

ålso how do you make those å ? There must be some Alt-Key combination for it because the ascii character exists,
Extended Ascii 134 = å I thought I use Alt+code for the extended.
Does not seem to work for me.
134 86 10000110 å
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MenuBar-AIS-Dropdown-Selectors.png
Views:	56
Size:	158.5 KB
ID:	114922   Click image for larger version

Name:	AIS-Target-Scale.png
Views:	52
Size:	292.6 KB
ID:	114923  

__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2015, 19:13   #98
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,344
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Opencpn Beta File Thingie rguser rgpass

Find in the Home directory
opencpn_4.1.1108_AIS2-Target_Scaling

Give it a try. Let Dirk know what you think.
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2015, 02:47   #99
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 300
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Rick,
Thanks for the window exe.
Quote:
--Alt no longer works for me. I have to pick "Show Menubar in UI".
It doesn't here either, but that might be linux. Does it still work for the 'regular' git??, as i didn't change anything (I think) that could have changed this.

I never use the menubar myself so I didn't think to add there as well. will do so

Quote:
Maybe we could have parameter settings for
Harbor, Coastal and Ocean settings worked into this interface?
I am hoping to find a setting for 'one size fits all'. To find the best settings I add (temporally) some sliders.
Dirk
__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2015, 03:05   #100
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Rick
re: Håkan Have you ever done this long trip by boat?
Yes, I been through Göta Kanal a couple of times actually. It's a very nice trip crossing the south part of Sweden from the North Sea to the Baltic sea. And with your mast still standing up. Welcome!

re: ålso how do you make those å ?
If you've a Swedish keyboard it's very simple since these keys are present where you have [=å, '=ä, ;=ö. My ASKII table has å, ä, ö on 134, 132, 148 and Å, Ä, Ö on 143, 142, 153. But I know there are different tables out there.

I'll check the menu bar, thanks.

Håkan
__________________
Hakan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2015, 05:08   #101
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,344
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

There should be an ALT-134 technigue to enter that a, but I've forgotten.

Dirk for TargetScale one setting should be possible I think, maybe a slider (good idea).

Perhaps I did not explain properly. In the menubar the selections Harbor, Coastal and Ocean would be different preset settings for everything AIS, cpa tcpa, alarms, sounds etc. These would be stored in the opencpn.ini file under AIS settings for Harbor, Coastal, Ocean. User could adjust by going into the ini file for the time being. I will add a link to the suggest settings. (Improvements are welcome).

Hakan . Nice. How long does it take?
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2015, 06:17   #102
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Rick
[Alt] or [Alt gr] down - num key 134 - release [Alt]

Göta Kanal (Gothenburg - Stockholm) can be done in less then two weeks if you hang on, but why? I spent 1½ month. (There are 22 guest harbors included in the prize ~700€!)
But not much use for the AIS target scaling in there.

Dirk..
It seems that the target scaling is not activated from OCPN start until the AIS icon is clicked once. Is that true? If so I'd like to instead have the function in use by default if scaled option is checked in tools-options.
Håkan
__________________
Hakan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2015, 06:27   #103
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 300
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

At this moment, at startup the targets are shown all for 100%. Did this because I didn't want a possible hiding of targets (all off or anchord/moored). Evt. I could allow a scaled start if that's the one last used.
__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2015, 07:36   #104
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Dirk..
Very good safety logic, I do agree.
Your offer to remember last state for next start up would suit me perfect. Yes, please!
Thanks
Håkan
__________________
Hakan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2015, 13:22   #105
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,344
Re: Do we need/want an AIS filter?

Maybe Dirk wants an Icon for TargetsScaled? Then It could show provided one of the other icons did not pop up over it. (which is likely to happen.)

I think the MENUBAR would be another way to check and control showing of AIS as illustrated above.

Post #97
Please note.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MENUBAR-AIS.png
Views:	45
Size:	51.3 KB
ID:	114953  
__________________

__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To filter or Not to filter... Marpessa Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 40 18-01-2014 22:10
Same Filter Part Number Totally Different Filter. Lagoon4us Engines and Propulsion Systems 3 10-11-2013 11:12
racor 500 filter what micron filter? quartersplash Engines and Propulsion Systems 21 09-05-2012 08:15
Filter Gasoline in a Racor Diesel Filter ? Sailorman Ed Engines and Propulsion Systems 4 04-12-2011 20:37
For Sale: Racor 500-Like Filter and Valves for Dual Filter Setup funjohnson Classifieds Archive 2 07-08-2011 13:52



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.