Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-02-2019, 18:51   #1

Display marker/light numbers only?

Hello,

i am relatively new to OpenCPN. I'm trying to reduce the clutter in inland waterways with many channel markers and smaller channels running off the main, while still being able to rapidly identify markers by number.

On vector charts, is there a way to display only the marker/buoy/light number and not the full object name as is the case with Buoy/Light Labels?

Thanks in advance!

flgulfstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2019, 19:08   #2

Re: Display marker/light numbers only?

This depends on how the data is encoded in the charts you are using. So, what charts are you using?

nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2019, 19:14   #3

Sorry,I should have been more specific. I am using NOAA ENC charts, and ideally I would like to filter the names to more closely match the format used on the NOAA raster charts (ie the marker/buoy number usually appears in quotes, without the full description)
Old 21-02-2019, 19:41   #4

I suppose you are talking about a situation like this:

In this case we can't help you as we simply have no way to anticipate that you want to see "3" instead of "Pasadena Yacht Club Channel Daybeacon 3" as the NOAA cartographer simply decided you should see it all and set the OBJNAM property to the long version - as you can see in the chart object query window (available by double-clicking on any object on the chart) there simply is no "3" we could let you select as a better version. And we of course can't anticipate what the text in the OBJNAM actually means and if you consider it important or not.

So the answer is no, you may see either what the cartographer decided you have to see, or nothing if you decide so. Switching between the two variants is as simple as pressing the T key.

Pavel
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version