Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-04-2017, 06:22   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: East London South African
Boat: Van de stadt norman 40
Posts: 6
Digital yacht ait2000 (ais) not displaying in opencpn

The ais is working fine , I can my yacht on marine traffic and I can see ships around me on the diagnostic program but I can't see anything on opencpn .
I am sure it something very basic but I can't seem to see the problem .
Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Windmagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2017, 06:50   #2
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 3,989
Re: Digital yacht ait2000 (ais) not displaying in opencpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windmagic View Post
The ais is working fine , I can my yacht on marine traffic and I can see ships around me on the diagnostic program but I can't see anything on opencpn .
I am sure it something very basic but I can't seem to see the problem .
Any suggestions?
Turn on the NMEA debug window and tell us what you see. If you see no messages from the AIS (e.g. $AIVDO) then you have a communication issue. Tell us how you have the AIS interfaced to OpenCPN. The opencpn.log file might contain some hints as well.
__________________

__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2017, 07:54   #3
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 521
Re: Digital yacht ait2000 (ais) not displaying in opencpn

If using USB, be sure baud is 38400
__________________
TheOffice is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2017, 09:13   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,271
Re: Digital yacht ait2000 (ais) not displaying in opencpn

The USB on this unit is used normally to set up and monitor the unit only. The associated virtual COM may or may not be picked up by third party software.

The set up software has its own (USB based) data window. Can you see the data flow there?

The intended data out from the unit are the fast nmea cables or alternatively the N2K connection. OpenCPN will not pick up the latter.

1) have you read the manual?
2) are you connecting the OpenCPN thru the assigned nmea 183 cables?
3) is your serial to USB cable the right RS type?
4) can you see the assigned COM port in OpenCPN connections panel?
5) is your OpenCPN COM connection set to fast bauds?

Cheers,
b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2017, 10:14   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: East London South African
Boat: Van de stadt norman 40
Posts: 6
Re: Digital yacht ait2000 (ais) not displaying in opencpn

I am not on the yacht at the moment , I am using the std USB cable that it came with to set it up with . The baud rate is 38400 . It works fine with the software it came with but doesn't work with open cpn .
Do I need the neamea to USB cable in order for it to work with open cpn ?
__________________
Windmagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2017, 11:41   #6
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,746
Re: Digital yacht ait2000 (ais) not displaying in opencpn

If you see a (virtual)COM port linked to the device - unplug/re-plug it and observe at the device manager - then OCPN shall see it.

At options|connections ports you shall be able then to add and select this COM port. And you shall see the NMEA0183 data then if - and only if - the device sends them as serial data over this link. The manual of the device shall tell you.

As said: don't use another program at the same time connecting to the same COM port. And be sure that the other program really releases the port.


The suggestions and observations from Barnakiel are correct.
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2017, 11:46   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,962
Re: Digital yacht ait2000 (ais) not displaying in opencpn

Windmagic...
1. If your proAIS2 is working on the same PC as OCPN the driver is installed, good. Then you also would be aware of the used Com port.
2. Be sure to disconnect and close proAIS2 down before any attempt to open OCPN and connect the AIS to OCPN. Windows won't let you use two readers at the same time for one Com port.
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2017, 11:53   #8
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,271
Re: Digital yacht ait2000 (ais) not displaying in opencpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windmagic View Post
I am not on the yacht at the moment , I am using the std USB cable that it came with to set it up with . The baud rate is 38400 . It works fine with the software it came with but doesn't work with open cpn .
Do I need the neamea to USB cable in order for it to work with open cpn ?
You do not say if you have disconnected the setup software first.

USB cable data can be read by only one App at a time: when your setup software is connected to the COM port, OpenCPN will not see this port. It is better NOT to start this software at all (rather than shut it down) as at times Apps do not free the port correctly, which is rare but worth remembering. You can see the assigned COM port in your OS settings under hardware data.

The way to test the USB cable direct method is:

- connect the unit to the PC with the USB link cable,
- make sure no other software is using the generated virtual COM,
- go into OpenCPN connections tab and try to pickup the COM port there,

Then go into the serial port / nmea monitor in OpenCPN and see if there is a data flow.

Someone above mentioned baud rate 38400 and this makes sense but I cannot tell you if this is indeed the speed. I cannot remember the manual specifies this. Check out the manual. Otherwise yes AIS data is best sent at 38400.

The manual clearly shows the preferred method is thru the data/power wires. It does not imply the direct USB cable method does not work but it does not say it works, either. If I remember well, rs422 to usb standard is how your cabling works.

Cheers,
b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2017, 12:08   #9
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,271
Re: Digital yacht ait2000 (ais) not displaying in opencpn

OK. I looked up the manual now. It says:

Select the AIS COM port and a baud rate of 38,400 in PC based navigation software to make use of the AIS data

So that's basically that:

- make sure the USB drivers are installed (if you are on Windows),
- then do to OpenCPN and try to pick up the port, set at 38400,
- enjoy the view.

If you cannot see the port in OpenCPN connections tab, it is probably because your USB drivers are not installed or not installed properly. This can be checked in hardware settings data on your machine.

If you can see the COM port and it is set at 38400, you will see the data flow in OpenCPN nmea window.

If there is data in the nmea window but no ships on the screen, then make sure the 'show AIS' button is toggled on.

Cheers,
b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2017, 19:17   #10
Registered User
 
jram's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 55
Re: Digital yacht ait2000 (ais) not displaying in opencpn

You may find it valuable to know (after you get the USB connection all configured for OCPN) that the AIT 2000 does not officially support prolonged connection of the USB to laptops and the like. They tell me its due to a bug in a processor used and its common to quite a number of AIS units on the market. The problem will cause the output to freeze - I've experienced this on several laptops.

If you take a look at their blog, they have a workaround article that requires a little bit of wiring that results in a robust solution.
__________________
jram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2017, 19:25   #11
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,271
Re: Digital yacht ait2000 (ais) not displaying in opencpn

The nmea out cables can be used then via a rs/usb converter.

It is not the only bug with DY units. I can remember reading something else on them, maybe in Panbo or a similar place.

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, enc, opencpn, yacht

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCpn not displaying raster VMH charts markdj OpenCPN 2 05-05-2016 02:04
Digital Yacht AIT2000 canadian_eh Marine Electronics 8 04-04-2014 05:19
AIS AIT2000 from Digital Yachts with GV30 GPS+AIS Antenna SFH Marine Electronics 1 16-02-2014 17:19
Open CPN not talking to Digital Yacht AIS and GPS Please help! TambourineMan OpenCPN 1 28-10-2013 04:24
Digital Yacht AIS w/ OpenCPN ? SV Demeter OpenCPN 12 26-06-2012 12:30



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.