Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-01-2012, 13:01   #1
Registered User
 
SV Demeter's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cruising Eastern Caribbean
Boat: Wauquiez Amphitrite 43- Demeter
Posts: 1,164
Digital Yacht AIS w/ OpenCPN ?

Im new to OpenCPN and am in the process of installing an AIS reciever on my boat. Im considering one of the Digital Yacht receivers that has both a NMEA output and a USB output. Is anyone using this hardware with OpenCPN? Any other recomendations for AIS receivers?
__________________

__________________
SV Demeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2012, 13:23   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Re: Digital Yacht AIS w/OpenCPN?

Im at the same stage of AIS readiness, considering Digital Yachtings ANT 200 (external power, hardwired 12v)

Cheers!
__________________

__________________
Perry Winston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2012, 13:46   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West coast of Sweden
Boat: Najad391
Posts: 155
Re: Digital Yacht AIS w/OpenCPN?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SV Demeter View Post
Im new to OpenCPN and am in the process of installing an AIS reciever on my boat. Im considering one of the Digital Yacht receivers that has both a NMEA output and a USB output. Is anyone using this hardware with OpenCPN? Any other recomendations for AIS receivers?
I use the AIT2000 from Digital Yacht and OpenCPN. They work excellent together.
__________________
janp391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2012, 13:54   #4
Registered User
 
SV Demeter's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cruising Eastern Caribbean
Boat: Wauquiez Amphitrite 43- Demeter
Posts: 1,164
Re: Digital Yacht AIS w/OpenCPN?

Quote:
Originally Posted by janp391 View Post
I use the AIT2000 from Digital Yacht and OpenCPN. They work excellent together.

Thats their transponder model right? Good to hear. Assume you are using the USB output to your PC and OpenCPN?
__________________
SV Demeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 02:22   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West coast of Sweden
Boat: Najad391
Posts: 155
Re: Digital Yacht AIS w/OpenCPN?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SV Demeter View Post
Thats their transponder model right? Good to hear. Assume you are using the USB output to your PC and OpenCPN?
Yes.
No, my choise is to use the RS232 port for the NMEA input to the computer. The USB port is used to control the AIS box. More or less used only when setup the unit for the first time.
All is described well in the user manual.
__________________
janp391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 02:38   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
edsailing's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Devon, UK
Boat: Sailing vessels up to 200 tons
Posts: 320
Images: 1
Re: Digital Yacht AIS w/OpenCPN?

I use a NASA AIS engine 3 and OpenCPN, has worked flawlessly and cost less than £100 (approx $150)
__________________
Regards, Ed

Delivering boats for a living - no more!
edsailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 09:51   #7
Registered User
 
SV Demeter's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cruising Eastern Caribbean
Boat: Wauquiez Amphitrite 43- Demeter
Posts: 1,164
Re: Digital Yacht AIS w/OpenCPN?

Quote:
Originally Posted by janp391 View Post
Yes.
No, my choise is to use the RS232 port for the NMEA input to the computer. The USB port is used to control the AIS box. More or less used only when setup the unit for the first time.
All is described well in the user manual.

I the addition of this port the primary difference between the AIT2000 and the AIT1000? Im now looking at the AIT1000 as the price increase to go to a full transponder vs receive only doesnt seem like that much. Especially when I see that it AIT1000 includes an internal GPS receiver and GPS Antenna.
__________________
SV Demeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:57   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West coast of Sweden
Boat: Najad391
Posts: 155
Re: Digital Yacht AIS w/OpenCPN?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SV Demeter View Post
I the addition of this port the primary difference between the AIT2000 and the AIT1000? Im now looking at the AIT1000 as the price increase to go to a full transponder vs receive only doesnt seem like that much. Especially when I see that it AIT1000 includes an internal GPS receiver and GPS Antenna.
Sorry, the unit I have is a AIT1000 and that unit has a transponder B and a receiver. Again no problem to connect it to a computer.
Before I bought this unit I used the Nasa receiver also without any problems. But I wanted a 2-channel receiver and transponder.
__________________
janp391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2012, 18:32   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 40
Re: Digital Yacht AIS w/ OpenCPN ?

Has anyone used this product?
Digital Yacht - Light Years Ahead

I see it for sale in lots of places, but no reviews. I want to be able to use a portable system with my laptop when I charter. This seems perfect if it works well. Hopefully I can plug the GPS puck in one USB and this AIS in another and OpenCPN will work.
__________________
StargazerWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2012, 07:56   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Re: Digital Yacht AIS w/ OpenCPN ?

I use the AIT1000 Class B transponder as well. No problems using it on a USB port. Mind that you follow the instructions on the DY homepage to simulate RS232 on the USB port. I am using OpenCPN 2.3 on Ubuntu 10.4.
__________________
spillemw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 01:18   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Morbihan Brittany France
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 37
Posts: 64
Re: Digital Yacht AIS w/ OpenCPN ?

I have an AIT2000 it works with both USB and NMEA1 under OpenCPN. You should first configure your MMSI and then check with AIT config tool that everything is OK (GPS, AIS, ...). http://www.portanna.org/download/pri...000-config.jpg

Note: I use OpenCPN under Linux but AIT config tool only support Windows.
__________________
fulup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:41   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Re: Digital Yacht AIS w/ OpenCPN ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spillemw View Post
I use the AIT1000 Class B transponder as well. No problems using it on a USB port. Mind that you follow the instructions on the DY homepage to simulate RS232 on the USB port. I am using OpenCPN 2.3 on Ubuntu 10.4.
I have just upgraded to OpenCPN 2.5 and it still works.
__________________
spillemw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 12:30   #13
Marine Service Provider
 
Paul_DY's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 39
Re: Digital Yacht AIS w/ OpenCPN ?

For anyone wishing to connect one of our Digital Yacht AIS units to OpenCPN, I have now created a Tech Note that explains how to do this on Windows, LINUX and Mac.

Click here to download the Tech Note.

Benefit of using one of our Transponders is that you get AIS and GPS data over the same single USB connection.
__________________

__________________
Paul_DY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, yacht, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open CPN and Google Earth bgrimwade OpenCPN 19 09-12-2011 16:32
OpenCPN Version 2.5 Release bdbcat OpenCPN 86 02-09-2011 19:14
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:05.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.