Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-08-2015, 17:40   #421
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,008
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Rick,

My understanding is you can do it. But you have to copy all files including hidden files so the git information is preserved. This command should do what you want:

xcopy /Q /H /E /K /I C:\Users\Rick\Documents\GitHub\*.* C:\GitHub

NOTE: C:\GitHub should not exist when you run this command. It will be created.

Test it well before you delete the GitHub folder. One way would be to rename your old GitHub folder to something like OldGitHub and then start using the new folder. Once you are sure the new one is working then you can delete the old one.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2015, 20:28   #422
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,625
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Thank you Dan for giving me the guidance, and courage. I'll let you know how it goes but I think this is going to work!
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2015, 13:57   #423
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 844
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
JP...
Never seen this and can't reproduce on my reference VS2010 builder. The symbol you see missing should be in WXBASE30UD_VC_CUSTOM.DLL (it is on my system). I would try the following:
- Clean build of OpenCPN
- Use dependency walker to look at the WX DLLs
- Check that WX debug build was performed according to the instructions

Pavel
Thanks Pavel
but I never succeeded to solve this problem
So at the end I tried to migrate to vs2013
But I face many problems and I am re starting at the beginning of the installation process.
First of all I have one question :
On the developer manual" at 41b "Configuring the build Using Cmake-gui", it is written
"If you are asked to choose the generator, select "Visual Studio 10".

Is it a typo error or do I have to install vs2010 either ? ( I had removed it
to save some space on my small device )
thanks
Jean Pierre
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2015, 15:15   #424
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,207
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ptizef View Post
Thanks Pavel
but I never succeeded to solve this problem
So at the end I tried to migrate to vs2013
But I face many problems and I am re starting at the beginning of the installation process.
First of all I have one question :
On the developer manual" at 41b "Configuring the build Using Cmake-gui", it is written
"If you are asked to choose the generator, select "Visual Studio 10".

Is it a typo error or do I have to install vs2010 either ? ( I had removed it
to save some space on my small device )
thanks
Jean Pierre
JP...
It was a typo, now corrected, select the version of VS you have.

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2015, 12:50   #425
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 844
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Pavel

Thanks again

But here all the problems I faced when migrating to vs2013

1) vs2013 do not work properly in French
As soon as the language is set to French, I get this message before vs2013 starts :

see message0 attached

then after OK it starts
I can compile O but I can't run it neither release nor debug mode.*I get systematically this message :

see message1 attached


2) setting back the language to English
I can compile O but the wx path I had set is not recognized (may be due to the language conflict?)
I had to copy the wx DLLs to the release and debug folders.
The list of DLLs I was asked to copy is longer than the list in the developer manual
here the complete list
wxbase30u (ud) _net_vc_custom.dll
_vc_
_xlm_vc
wxmsw30u (ud) _adv_
_aui_
_core_
_gl_
_html_

after copying all the DLLs, O run fine in both release and debug mode

3) I tried to build the package. No problem with the build process
but once installed, I can't use it normally
- O do not startt. (I mean than when clicking on opencpn.exe, nothing happens
-I replaced the DLLs from the package by the DLLs from the wx folders
then I got this message:

see message2 attached

In fact the conflict comes from ocpn_gltest1.exe
removing it and I can run O from package

I am the only one with this stuff ?

Jean Pierre
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	message0.png
Views:	183
Size:	67.6 KB
ID:	108115   Click image for larger version

Name:	message1.png
Views:	198
Size:	8.7 KB
ID:	108116  

Click image for larger version

Name:	message2.png
Views:	145
Size:	11.0 KB
ID:	108117  
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2015, 13:09   #426
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,207
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

JP...
Can't comment about your problem with VS itself, never seen anything like this (But using a localized version of VS never even crossed my mind).
Re ocpn_gltest1.exe - Are you sure you have the current version of the binary build dependencies? I have seen this with a mix of old ocpn_gltest1.exe and beta built with current toolchain (old versions of the dependencies package were containing this broken mix) Easy to check with dependency walker or similar tool.
If your build product is not binary compatible with our DLLs, there is still something broken in your workflow.

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2015, 13:42   #427
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,008
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

JP, I run VS2013 in English and have no problems like you describe. I can run debug version of O from inside VS2013 and even debug all plugins too. So it does work.

I think what you have is a mix of wx 3.0 dlls built with VS2010 and VS2013. You have to rebuild all the dlls in wx 3.0 with VS2013. Also, make sure you have the latest binary dependencies as per the OpenCPN developers instructions.

If possible please stick with English as more people here can help you if you post errors in English.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2015, 15:37   #428
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 844
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Your are right about dependencies. I just saw that a few minutes ago.
this will probably fix my third point.
for the two first, I'll live with the English version for the moment
Thanks
JP


Sent from my D5803 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 05:58   #429
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,625
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Moving the entire local Github folder OR moving Git Plugin local repository projects into github folder.


Quote: Transmitter Dan
Quote:
Rick, My understanding is you can do it. But you have to copy all files including hidden files so the git information is preserved. This command should do what you want:

xcopy /Q /H /E /K /I C:\Users\Rick\Documents\GitHub\*.* C:\GitHub

NOTE: C:\GitHub should not exist when you run this command. It will be created.

Test it well before you delete the GitHub folder. One way would be to rename your old GitHub folder to something like OldGitHub and then start using the new folder. Once you are sure the new one is working then you can delete the old one.
Yes this worked. Thank you Dan. All it took to get opencpn and the plugins compiling again again was to delete the ..build\cmakecache.txt file and then execute "cmake -T v120_xp .."
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 06:04   #430
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,625
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Ptizef, I assume you have it working now, and you probably have a clean environment, but for others help, I found I had to delete and clean out all references to wxWidgets 2.8 - folders, and environment variables etc. because VS2013 gets confused very easily.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 22:12   #431
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 844
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Rick
Yes I removed all old environnement, Wx2.8, Vs2010 etc... and no it do not work properly yet. I can build O and the package, the package works fine, but I have still problem to run in debug and get strange message during build process.
Jp

Sent from my D5803 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 23:32   #432
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,625
Images: 2
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Can you catch the message and post it?
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 05:15   #433
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 6,008
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

To run the debugger from VS2013 you have to copy a lot of files into certain locations. I think I have a .bat file somewhere that will do all the copies. I'll look for it and post when I find it.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 08:57   #434
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,139
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Here's my bat file if you like to change to suitable pathways.
(Discard ".pdf" as usual)

Håkan
Attached Files
File Type: pdf CopyFiles.bat.pdf (1.2 KB, 44 views)
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 11:17   #435
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,139
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Correction: If you run the bat file from ...\..\Opencpn\ all path should be correct.
Håkan
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
environment

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:50.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.