Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2015, 08:56   #271
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,967
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by hasse_A View Post
Sorry, I don't understand this.
Why would it pick the Release build plugins when I run the Debug build from VS2010 ?
Look at your logfile, you will see from where and what it tries to load.
Quote:
Will the build tree be infected in some way if I ever run in Release ?
Nope.
Quote:
Would it be safer to never build the Release build ?
No, it really does not matter.
Quote:
When locking at the sizes the debug plugins -ddl's are almost twice as large.
I suppose this is as it should be.
Yes, because they contain debugging symbols.

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 09:30   #272
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Kourou, French Guyana
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 238
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Hmmmmm!

When running Release it's looking for the dll in :

6:18:41 PM: PlugInManager searching for PlugIns in location C:\Users\hasse\Documents\master\OpenCPN\build\Rele ase\plugins

which is correct.

When running Debug it's looking in :
6:14:11 PM: PlugInManager searching for PlugIns in location C:\Users\hasse\Documents\master\OpenCPN\build\plug ins

which is not correct. Should be

C:\Users\hasse\Documents\master\OpenCPN\build\Debu g\plugins

So that's the obvious reason why I don't see them in Debug.
What controls this ?

/Hans
__________________

__________________
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 09:40   #273
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 3,790
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by hasse_A View Post
When running Debug it's looking in :
6:14:11 PM: PlugInManager searching for PlugIns in location C:\Users\hasse\Documents\master\OpenCPN\build\plug ins

which is not correct. Should be

C:\Users\hasse\Documents\master\OpenCPN\build\Debu g\plugins

So that's the obvious reason why I don't see them in Debug.
What controls this ?

/Hans
When running from command line it looks in the plugins folder below where the .exe is. But when run from VS2010 it looks for plugins folder below the build folder. I think this is an artifact of how VS2010 starts the executable. The executable does not think it started in the debug folder but rather it thinks it is running in the build folder. My solution is to put the debug plugins in both the build and debug folder. Then it works as you want it to. I put the release plugins in the release folder only. I never run the release executable in the debugger.
__________________
transmitterdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 09:50   #274
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 3,790
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by hasse_A View Post
Why not let your batch file copy the files and directories ?

/Hans
It does copy all the data and plugin files and directories needed to run O from command line. I will update it to copy the data and plugin files need to debug and upload it again.

Does anyone else think automating the git clone and first time build is a bad thing? I might be able to make the batch file generic enough that pretty much anyone could begin debugging. But there may be some merit in making it a bit of a treasure hunt to ensure only the truly motivated try it. It took me about 5 days to sort out in my mind how to get all the command line methods working.
__________________
transmitterdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 09:57   #275
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,967
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

If you want to debug a plugin (which you usually do from inside VS), the easiest is to modify https://github.com/OpenCPN/OpenCPN/b...nager.cpp#L236 as I suggested earlier. I think you can believe me, I have written a few of them

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 10:02   #276
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 3,790
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Ok, you can try this batch file in an empty folder. It will clone O from latest git head and build the debug and release (including the default plugins). Then it sets up the debug environment so you can debug O or the default plugins from VS 2010.

To debug in VS 2010 you have to open the .sln file in the build folder. Then you can make OpenCPN the startup program if you like but what works for me is to right click OpenCPN in the solution explorer and select "Debug->Step Into new instance".

Let me know if it works or not for anyone else.
Attached Files
File Type: doc doit.bat.doc (2.4 KB, 33 views)
__________________
transmitterdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 11:04   #277
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 8,691
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Like to show directories involved.

C:\..\GitHub\OpenCPN\build
C:\..\GitHub\OpenCPN\build\Debug
C:\..\GitHub\OpenCPN\build\release

C:\..\GitHub\OpenCPN\build\plugins\grib_pi\Debug
C:\..\GitHub\OpenCPN\build\plugins\grib_pi\Release
C:\..\GitHub\OpenCPN\build\plugins
- Dlls copied to this dir
- Use debug.dll version to debug a plugin
- If for some reason you want to run a plugin_release.dll you can.
- OR use Pavel's nice technique to change path

Transmitter Dan in your Batch file
When you create and copy the directories
uidata
s57
tcdata
sounds
gsshs
etc,

What is the command robocopy? I am unfamiliar with it.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 11:48   #278
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 8,691
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Robocopy

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/m.../ee851678.aspx
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 15:44   #279
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Kourou, French Guyana
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 238
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
Let me know if it works or not for anyone else.
Thanks transmitterdan!

I have added the gxradar plugin to your script and have tested that
on 2 of my computers.

On the one without the scanner all work as expected and the plugins are there as they should be.
Since there is no scanner attached it wont find it but I am able to
debug gxradar_pi.

On the other computer all works as in the first one.
However I have a problem not receiving the packets into the plugin.

I do see the packets in Wireshark.

I had this working earlier as can be seen in the plots in the Garnin xHD thread.

I am not a pro on C++ and network programming so it would be nice if someone with better knowledge had a look at it.

In gxradar.cpp

Line 762
Line 3082

And there about.

I think the problem with building is solved and I will continue in the xHD radar thread.

Tanks to all of you that has put in time and effort.

/Hans
__________________
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 10:20   #280
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 9
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Running linux eclipse...doing a build and I hit this...

I have libjasper_dev installed (1.900.1)...so why does not

...
line 73: FIND_PACKAGE(Jasper REQUIRED)
...
find it?

-- *** Staging to build grib2_pi ***
-- Could NOT find JPEG (missing: JPEG_LIBRARY JPEG_INCLUDE_DIR)
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:108 (message):
Could NOT find Jasper (missing: JPEG_LIBRARIES) (found version "1.900.1")
Call Stack (most recent call first):
/usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:315 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
/usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindJasper.cmake:45 (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
plugins/grib2_pi/CMakeLists.txt:73 (FIND_PACKAGE)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/home/eric/OpenCPN/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
make: *** [cmake_check_build_system] Error 1
__________________
ewzachmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 10:33   #281
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,967
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Try...
Code:
sudo apt-get install libjpeg-dev
Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 10:56   #282
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 9
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

DOH!

Thanks Pavel
__________________
ewzachmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 11:09   #283
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 9
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Hi Pavel,

What kind of shape is grib2_pi in? I can run it, download grib files etc, but I keep getting SegFaults when viewing data. I like this method of getting grib data and am wondering about the grib_pi plugin. I guess I'm asking for a little history of the plugins. I saw that there was a request to get grib2 data into/for the grib_pi. I'd also rather be doing web requests for data instead of email requests.

Thanks again for your help
Eric
__________________
ewzachmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 11:16   #284
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,967
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

Broken
All I did at the time was fixing it to build. Never had a closer look at the code.

Pavel


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 12:51   #285
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 3,790
Re: Development Debugging Environment - Setup Help

O has a lot of developers (ok, maybe not a lot but more than a couple) and so it has a standard build environment making collaboration easier. Maybe I haven't looked at enough of the plugins to be certain of what I am about to say so feel free to "educate" me. My experience is that the various plugins don't integrate into the base O development tree the same as the in-built plugins. For example, almost every plugin I have tried to build has an issue with where to look for opencpn.lib. Some (most?) have Cmake dependency issues. None so far will build right out of git like O will.

Does it make sense to have a plugin development "style guide" so that all plugins can be pulled from git into the O environment and have the build just work out of the box? This would seem to make collaboration on plugins easier. Or is it the case that plugin development is so personal that there is no desire or need for large group collaboration?
__________________

__________________
transmitterdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
environment

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:46.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.