Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-06-2010, 09:40   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Depth Boundaries

I am just working my way around OpenCPN before installing it onboard. One curious item is the depth boundary parameters in the toolbox. e.g. shallow, safety and deep depths. When I make a change, these changes do not seem to be reflected on the chart e.g. shallow depth of 6 feet but no boundary noticeable. How are these types of features relflected on the chart, and should I expect to see different colours between the boundaries?

Cheers,
T
__________________

__________________
tontario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2010, 13:28   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 829
A can of worms...Dave, refresh problem

Complex issue, improvements (and warning ?) required IMHO. On this CM93 chart(46 08.5 N 1 12.5 W) there are (at least) 4 depth contours (isobaths): 2, 3, 5 and 10 m.
Mariners standard, Zoom detail 5, 4 colors checked in Toolbox,
Select Shallow depth 2m, Safety depth 5m, Deep depth 10m and everything is fine (pic)
Now select Shallow depth 3m: no change, unless you move that part of the chart off screen, or reopen the toolbox, or ... => refresh problem
Now select Shallow depth 4m: no visible change at all as there is no 4m isobath on that chart.
Select Shallow depth 5 m = Safety depth : you loose one colour (that's fine) but there is also a refresh problem if you revert to Shallow depth 2 ou 3 m.
(see pic of partial refresh)
___
Morals:
Shallow, Safety, and Deep depth settings should be set to the isobaths present on the specific chart one is viewing to take advantage of the 4 colour scheme.
In other words, the same shade of blue colour will not code the same depth on different charts. (see last pic)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LR1.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	100.5 KB
ID:	17275   Click image for larger version

Name:	PartialRefresh.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	32.3 KB
ID:	17276  

Click image for larger version

Name:	isobaths.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	61.4 KB
ID:	17277  
__________________

__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2010, 21:03   #3
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,878
SailorF54...

Thanks for the note.

Just to be clear:
What version of opencpn?
What version of cm93
Windows/linux?

I see no refresh problem on 2.1.0 build 620 with cm93 2009 on linux.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2010, 00:35   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Dave,
just confirming the behavior on Win build 620 with CM93 - Jan 2010

Pavel
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	non_refresh.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	318.0 KB
ID:	17288  
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2010, 02:10   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Dave,
just confirming the behavior on Win build 620 with CM93 - Jan 2010

Pavel
Same here
__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2010, 09:55   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,878
sailorF54...

OK, confirmed. Its a Windows issue only.

Technical: Windows does a screen refresh on closing the Toolbox BEFORE I have had a chance to reconfigure the Presentation Library. My intentional Refresh() after reconfigure is ignored, since there is no apparent change on the screen.

linux does not do this "hidden" refresh, so my later refresh is effective.

Yet again, the wxWidgets libraries are not perfectly compatible across platforms.....

Fixed for 2.1.0 Release.

Thanks for the tip
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2010, 13:41   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
configuration

Hi all,

My config is win 7, and 1.3.6 version. I am happy to download the 2.1.0 beta. I will try it out.

Tony
__________________

__________________
tontario is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water depth Red44 Atlantic & the Caribbean 23 28-12-2011 21:20
Dreged depth of the ICW sundown Navigation 10 05-07-2008 10:35
dredged depth of the ICW sundown Navigation 10 31-08-2007 08:59
Depth transducer Thermal Marine Electronics 5 13-05-2007 02:30
Depth Meters Jimske Marine Electronics 16 28-08-2006 19:25



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.