Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2014, 01:13   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Convert s63/s57 to raster

We are making a program which need to display charts in s63/s57. If there is any opportunity to convert s63/s57 to raster tiled images using command line tool or sdk or may be other tool?
We only need to display seas, oceans, seashores, and may be some geographical names.

Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
Storkur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 04:16   #2
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,292
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

If you can display the chart on OpenCPN, GE2KAP will create a raster chart from it. You can get GE2KAP from here:

Index of /Downloads then click on GE2KAP.V13.0.0.9.exe

It can tile the chart on OpenCPN into smaller charts.
__________________

__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 04:43   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
If you can display the chart on OpenCPN, GE2KAP will create a raster chart from it. You can get GE2KAP from here:

Index of /Downloads then click on GE2KAP.V13.0.0.9.exe

It can tile the chart on OpenCPN into smaller charts.
Sorry, I forgot to mention that we are using linux, and we need to get raster images almost in real time. So we need a command line tool, script or api/sdk.
__________________
Storkur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 08:18   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

Stirkur...
Aren't you looking exactly for S57 — MapServer 6.4.1 documentation ?
With S-63, I would say your requirement is at, if not over, the edge of legality - Read the IHO standard documentation carefully before you invest time into it.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 08:45   #5
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,766
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
With S-63, I would say your requirement is at, if not over, the edge of legality - Read the IHO standard documentation carefully before you invest time into it.

Pavel
That's something we explained already in a personal mail this morning.
Of course it is technically feasible to make screenshots.

But a reproduction of these charts is not covered by its copyright.
S-57 the same I fear....

One can go to a copy-shop with paper charts as well

Hubert
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 23:02   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

We will recieve s63 charts legaly. Simply i dont know how to display it in our program, thats because i thought about converting charts in real time to raster.
__________________
Storkur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 03:21   #7
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,766
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

Will be funny to see how your application can be covered by the S63 license terms:

S63 states explicitly that the cells are licensed for one system and a given underlying product (software in the case of OpenCPN).
You can't use cells licensed for OpenCPN for other plotters. And vice versa. This is enforced by encrypting the chart material with a key that is linked to a given product.

What would be possible (let's say for a boat's bridge system) is to replicate the screen.
But what the license terms would exclude is to use the data independent from the system they have been licensed for. Unbundling them.

So what you would need is A) a system that is entitled to license S63 chart material and B) that is rendering those charts. OCPN would do both in your Linux environment.

When you export these renderings i.e. in a different format in order to apply them in other processes independent from the system they are derived from, you are on a slippery road, I fear.

You might discuss this with the IHO as the holder and guardian of the S63 scheme.

Hubert
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 01:33   #8
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: chesapeake bay
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,816
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

Converting vector charts into raster format will result in much higher disk space requirements.
__________________
boat_alexandra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 02:29   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

Quote:
Originally Posted by boat_alexandra View Post
Converting vector charts into raster format will result in much higher disk space requirements.
It is not nessary to store them for long time.
It takes several hours to implement display raster image in our navigation program. But to dosplay uknown for us s57/s63 may be take few monthes or more.

The other approach is to display s57/s63 with the help of some SDK/API, but I dont know such.
__________________
Storkur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 03:53   #10
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,766
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

In any case you will need an OEM (= a program/plotter holding a license agreement with the IHO) if you wish to use S63 charts.
This includes to have to provide and apply UserPermits for individual installations and chart sets for these installations (individual one by one as well).
There are commercial providers which implement and sell cores.

Or act as an OEM yourself implementing the S57 and S63 stuff. The documents which detail requirements can be downloaded from the IHO web site.

You might as well be able to embed OCPN into your application under the restrictions of the licenses of OCPN. You would have to discuss the details with the developers.
This implies on the other hand that the corresponding UserPermits would have to been handled by o-charts as the gateway for the S63 plug-in for OCPN.
You can drop us a mail if you think this would be helpful in order to clear up choices.

Hubert
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 04:05   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

We have OEM provider it is Transas - Home page
it is in the list of OEMs http://www.iho.int/mtg_docs/industry...lders_List.pdf
__________________
Storkur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 04:15   #12
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: chesapeake bay
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,816
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Storkur View Post
It is not nessary to store them for long time.
It takes several hours to implement display raster image in our navigation program. But to dosplay uknown for us s57/s63 may be take few monthes or more.

The other approach is to display s57/s63 with the help of some SDK/API, but I dont know such.
Maybe you could explain why you need to write your own navigation program instead of using opencpn?
__________________
boat_alexandra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 04:25   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

We have an order, to write this system for ships. It displays some data, i dont know what data(something related to icebergs), but it must also display background chart from s57/s63. It would be used not for main navigation, but for approximate information.
__________________
Storkur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 04:34   #14
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: chesapeake bay
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,816
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

Why not just develop a plugin for opencpn to display the iceberg information? That would be a lot easier.
__________________
boat_alexandra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 05:51   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Re: Convert s63/s57 to raster

Our client already has that program(with a lot of certificates, calculations, hardware etc). All to be done is to put charts to that program in background. It is an order with no other solution.
__________________

__________________
Storkur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Git build, problems with plugins (s63, climatology) jfburkhart OpenCPN 1 19-07-2014 00:49
OpenSeaMap - S57-Based sinbad7 OpenCPN 58 10-10-2013 09:30
Open CPN - ROT & S63 charts Quidnunc OpenCPN 9 13-05-2013 19:16
S63 User Permits BjarneK Navigation 3 24-01-2012 19:21



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:39.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.