Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-09-2012, 07:06   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Charleston, SC
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 704
Connecting GPS to OpenCPN

I've got a Garmin GPSmap 440s that I'd like to connect to my laptop so I can use it with OpenCPN. Any advice on how to do it? There are no USB ports on the GPS, and I'm kind of lost. Is it even possible to do that? Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Kevin84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 07:36   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 4,330
Re: Connecting GPS to OpenCPN

The short answer is yes, you can.

You will need to

1. Turn on the NMEA output on the GPSMAP (RTFM)
2. Buy a serial/USB cable
3. Buy a serial cable which fits (2) and cut the other end off
4. Connect 2 NMEA out wires to 2 of the wires in the cut off cable (- to pin 5 and + to pin 2)
5. Install the serial/USB driver which works for your operating system
6. Connect everything up and turn on the GPS
7. Use Device Manager to figure out which com port the GPS is on (it will probably say 'prolific')
8. Go into openCPN/tools/gps and select the com port (and check that the baud rate is whatever the GPS manual says (Usually 4800)
9. If the boat symbol turns red, you're good to go (if not, try closing and opening openCPN)

Now wasn't that easy!

Or, for about the same outlay you can buy a USB GPS receiver
Amazon.com: GlobalSat BU-353 USB GPS Navigation Receiver: GPS & Navigation
__________________

__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 08:35   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Charleston, SC
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 704
Re: Connecting GPS to OpenCPN

Wow. Yeah, I think I'll just do that instead of trying to splice cables together. Thanks for the info!
__________________
Kevin84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 18:58   #4
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,394
Re: Connecting GPS to OpenCPN

Also GlobalSat BR-355 PS2 with a specific GlobalSat USB BR305-USB2 cable will also work. I if you want to use this Waterproof puck for dual purpose without having to have the computer running, sending GPS position to your DSC/VHF, you can do it by getting a Globalstar split adapter cable with PS2 connection to the GPS Puck and a serial connection with a USB power connection.

Then cut the PS2 leg off and wire the red + power and the ground to the 5vdc side of a 12vdc adapter.
Then wire your VHF Nmea wires appropriately, so that position is received by the VHF.
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 20:50   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: Connecting GPS to OpenCPN

Kevin84..

Or...if you have an Android smartphone with GPS,do as I did in my posting earlier on this page.

Android ´extGPS´app for OpenCPN

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 21:17   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 275
Re: Connecting GPS to OpenCPN

rgleason,I was given an old Raystar 125 gps antenna.One of the original models that dont put out the type of NMEA that the latest electronics require.Do you know if it will work with my DSC VHF radio?The radio has only two wires coming out of its GPS plug.So I would connect the NMEA out positive and negative?And I would need to power the GPS from a separate 12v source?
__________________
nonam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2012, 05:47   #7
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,394
Re: Connecting GPS to OpenCPN

125 Gps Manual
Raymarine Manuals and Product Documents

See ...To connect to NMEA 0183....
...If you do not have a breaker in the power circuit, an in-line 0.5 A quick blow fuse should be fitted to the positive (red) lead of the cable.

Also ....To connect to a Personal Computer using NMEA

Since the PC and VHF/DSC are "listeners" you could wire a simultaneous PC connection too,
__________________

__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.