Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2012, 07:06   #1
Senior Cruiser
 
Talbot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 3,579
Images: 32
Compatability with 64 bit Version of Windows 7

Just got a new laptop with Windows 7 and discovered that they have loaded a 64 bit version as OEM.

Will OpenCPN work with the 64 bit version?

Do I need to download any additional drivers?
__________________

__________________
"Be wary of strong drink. It can make you shoot at tax collectors - and miss."
Robert A Heinlein
Talbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 07:20   #2
Registered User
 
lolarose's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Re: Compatability with 64 bit version of Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talbot View Post
Just got a new laptop with Windows 7 and discovered that they have loaded a 64 bit version as OEM.

Will OpenCPN work with the 64 bit version?

Do I need to download any additional drivers?
it will work. i have windows 7 ultimate 64bit and opencpn work without any glitch. as far as i know you do not need to install any drivers.
__________________

__________________
lolarose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 07:32   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
Talbot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 3,579
Images: 32
Re: Compatability with 64 bit version of Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolarose View Post
it will work. i have windows 7 ultimate 64bit and opencpn work without any glitch. as far as i know you do not need to install any drivers.
Thanks,

I was running Maxsea 10.3.2, but I suspect that will not work. I dont expect any problems with the charts I have.
__________________
"Be wary of strong drink. It can make you shoot at tax collectors - and miss."
Robert A Heinlein
Talbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 07:47   #4
Freelance Delivery Skipper..
 
boatman61's Avatar

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PORTUGAL
Posts: 20,221
Images: 2
pirate Re: Compatability with 64 bit version of Windows 7

Bought a Notebook with Windows 7 Starter.... works okay on here.. just find I need to reboot OpenCPN from time to time...
Dunno why tho'...
__________________


Born To Be Wild
boatman61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:46   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
David M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: research vessel
Posts: 10,152
Re: Compatability with 64 bit version of Windows 7

Windows 7 Starter only allows for the utilization of two gigs of RAM. This can be a problem. Once your system is using all of its physical memory, applications then have to start accessing the hard drive directly, which slows things down and can cause other problems. You can go to Windows Task Manager/ Performance tab to see how much physical memory is in use.

A 64 bit OS allows your computer to utilize more than four gigs of RAM. Win7 64 can run 32 bit software. 32 bit software is found in the X86 folder at C:/Program Files (x86).

I don't know but my guess is OpenCPN is written as 32 bit software.

Who knows the answer?
__________________
David

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 16:51   #6
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: Compatability with 64 bit version of Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talbot View Post
Thanks,

I was running Maxsea 10.3.2, but I suspect that will not work. I dont expect any problems with the charts I have.
You can run MaxSea 10.3.2 in the XP mode on 64-bit W7 Pro and Ultimate. See Download Windows XP Mode

Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 17:08   #7
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: Compatability with 64 bit version of Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolarose View Post
it will work. i have windows 7 ultimate 64bit and opencpn work without any glitch. as far as i know you do not need to install any drivers.
Dos the Help file work for you? It doesn't find the path on a friend's machine.

Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2012, 08:23   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Re: Compatability with 64 bit Version of Windows 7

Have now got Maxsea 11 working perfectly under Windows 7 64 bit. Using VMware Player. This is freeware and creates an XP virtual machine. Takes a little time to set up but well worth it as you can get a seamless one-click access to Maxsea (or any other programs that wont run under Win7 64). This way even works if you have Windows 7 Home Edition. Here's the instructions I used: Create an XP Mode for Windows 7 Home Versions & Vista - How-To Geek
__________________
StreetLegal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 01:50   #9
Senior Cruiser
 
Toys_with_time's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Summer 1 sailing in the Aegean, summer 2 in Australia (earning $ to pay for summer 1)
Boat: FP Lipari 42, Katmazu
Posts: 218
Re: Compatability with 64 bit version of Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by yachtvalhalla View Post
You can run MaxSea 10.3.2 in the XP mode on 64-bit W7 Pro and Ultimate. See Download Windows XP Mode

Terry
Terry

I set up Microsoft's XP mode on W7 Ultimate but Maxsea 10.3.2 comes up with an error message when I try installing (installs fine on a normal XP machine). Any suggestions?

TwT
__________________
Toys_with_time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 04:59   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,592
Images: 240
Re: Compatability with 64 bit Version of Windows 7

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, StreetLegal.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 07:44   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Africa
Boat: 24m Tuna Longliner
Posts: 20
Re: Compatability with 64 bit version of Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talbot View Post
Thanks,

I was running Maxsea 10.3.2, but I suspect that will not work. I dont expect any problems with the charts I have.
If you don't like using Maxsea 10 inside a VM option,you also can re install a 32bit win7 & use the same product key.....10.3.2 will work in Win7 32bit

12.6.4.1 runs in 64bit natively but looks like that is the last version of 12 that they are going to support - now all TimeZero.
__________________
2una is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 07:59   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Africa
Boat: 24m Tuna Longliner
Posts: 20
Re: Compatability with 64 bit version of Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toys_with_time View Post
Terry

I set up Microsoft's XP mode on W7 Ultimate but Maxsea 10.3.2 comes up with an error message when I try installing (installs fine on a normal XP machine). Any suggestions?

TwT
What does the error say?
If your running the install from harddrive files rather than from CD try putting the install files into a directory in the VM's C:/ & run from there.
__________________
2una is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 08:35   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Halifax, Canada
Boat: Hughes 35
Posts: 86
Re: Compatability with 64 bit Version of Windows 7

I have a Dell inspiron 1525. Due to my GPS antenna causing Win 7 32 bits to crash, I partitionned my hard drive in three. C---Win7, D---Win XP and E---data, charts etc.. I dual boot and choose drive D when I sail. My nav softwares are on D, including Maxsea.

You could try this. Another advantage of this is if you get a virus or other cyber crap while on Win 7, you can just format C and all your nav software are still working OK sitting on the D drive. It also have the advantage to keep to a minimum the software/services running and slowing down your PC while sailing since you could only install what you need for sailing on the D drive and install all your other software on C--Win 7.

Works great for me.
__________________

__________________
pierrrre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Globalstar and Windows 7 JusDreaming Marine Electronics 1 11-01-2012 10:40
BU-353 on Windows 7 GPSINFO captstu Navigation 6 01-08-2011 07:12
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31
Loss of GPS signal/ COM port on Windows (7) Netsurfer OpenCPN 2 27-06-2011 08:44



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.