Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 17:58   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Med
Boat: Trintella 49A
Posts: 5
Com port configuration for several inputs

Hi there,

I have two NMEA inputs via USB-serial convertors: GPS and Magnetic heading (electronic compass) data on port com9 en com3. With the dashboard plug-in I can configure the data Heading instrument, but where can I configure the port (com3) for this NMEA data?

Gr. Cees Tammes
__________________

__________________
ctammes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2012, 18:29   #2
Registered User
 
magicmoments's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lake St. Clair
Boat: Endeavour 37
Posts: 43
Re: Com port configuration for several inputs

I also wish to have multiple inputs. How else do you use the dashboard wind, depth, etc without a multiplexer?
__________________

__________________
Magic Moments
Thames River Yacht Club
magicmoments is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 04:12   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Med
Boat: Trintella 49A
Posts: 5
Re: Com port configuration for several inputs

Hello,

Just to inform that with the program NavMonPC the multiplexer function works great. With NavMonPC I define real com ports: com3 Heading, com9 GPS etc.
And then you can define virtual ports, including mixing of the NMEA sentenses of the several input ports. Now I can see the heading en GPS info together in OpenCPN, concurrent with NobelTec navigation program for my radar screen.

An other option is VSPE, but is more for developers and works fine as well.

Regards,

Cees
__________________
ctammes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 05:44   #4
Registered User
 
mikefossl's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hawaii
Boat: CS 40
Posts: 171
Re: Com port configuration for several inputs

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicmoments View Post
I also wish to have multiple inputs. How else do you use the dashboard wind, depth, etc without a multiplexer?
Just use a USB hub with multiple rs232 to USB converter cables. Each one will show up as a new port on the computer. USB hubs are very cheap although you may need to get a powered one as each cable takes a little power from the USB port on the computer. Apart from that, you add com ports to your heart's content.
__________________
Michael Fössl
S/V Second Jump
British Columbia
mikefossl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 12:25   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 297
Re: Com port configuration for several inputs

I have a multiplexer (Shipmodul 2s), the rs232 output uses a rs232-to-usb adapter to connect to my laptop with Windows 7. Next to this, there is a second rs232-to-usb adapter connected to the board. To save usb slots, I got a usb hub from ICDU. Installed the according drivers.

Opencpn does not see the various comm ports, allthough they are seen in NavMonPC. Creating virtual ports does not help me, because Opencpn does not see the by NavMonPC created comm ports.

Does this sound familiar?

Thanks, George
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:55   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Com port configuration for several inputs

George,
just fill the necessary port name in the port selection field by hand if they are not detected automatically and available in the dropdown. This issue is known to happen sometimes especially for higher COM port numbers.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:07   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 297
Re: Com port configuration for several inputs

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
George,
just fill the necessary port name in the port selection field by hand if they are not detected automatically and available in the dropdown. This issue is known to happen sometimes especially for higher COM port numbers.

Pavel
Feels kind of .... if it is that simple I'll give it a try and let you know.

Thanks for you reply Pavel.
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:27   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Boat: Koopmans, 33 ft cutter
Posts: 170
Re: Com port configuration for several inputs

George,

Applications often only connect to ports shown in the Device Manager.
In case NavMonPC (or e.g. GpsGate) ports are not shown there you could try the following (in Win7)

Go to Control Panel>Device Manager

Select (highlight) "Ports (COM & LPT)"

On Menu at top of window select Action>Add legacy hardware

Click Next select "Add the hardware that I manually select from a list" then Next

Scroll down list to Ports (COM & LPT) & highlight then Next

A window will appear with Manufacturer & Make columns, these should be already set to (Standard Port Types) & Communication Port respectively - ensure they are & press Next & Next again to confirm

This will add device with next available COM number. Change this to match the NavMonPC COM port number that you also wish to use with your software
• Right click on the COM port with yellow exclamation mark in Device Manager. Select "Properties".
• Click on "Port Settings" tab
• Click on "Advanced..." button
Select the matching "COM Port Number" in the drop down with the same name.
• For some applications it is necessary to set the speed of both receive and transmit buffer at a low value, e.g. 33%, otherwise these applications will not "see" the port
• Click OK on all dialogs.

Repeat all of above for any additional COM ports that need to be listed under Device Manager.

Success.
__________________
Zoef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 06:24   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 297
Re: Com port configuration for several inputs

Thanks Zoef, I'll give it a try as soon as I'm aboard.
__________________

__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.