Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-05-2013, 20:57   #46
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Masachusetts
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,803
Re: Climatology

For the cyclones.. make sure you are in an area they occur, and the correct month or all. Then check the parameters, and ensure reasonable settings. If you could give a screenshot it would help verify this.

If this does not solve it, someone is going to need to single step in ClimatologyOverlayFactory.cpp first in ReadCycloneData, then also in RenderCyclonesTheatre to determine why there is not a display

I have had many complications with wxDateTime not supporting before 1970 on windows.. but this does not really explain this problem, and many storms are after this date.
__________________

__________________
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2013, 22:09   #47
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: Climatology

Someone is going to need to single step in ClimatologyOverlayFactory.cpp first in ReadCycloneData, then in RenderCyclonsTheatre... as Cyclones do not display under any month, or All.

Also do not turn isobars on as Opencpn will freeze and you will be forced to interupt the program with forced close.

Otherwise the plugin runs fine.

Current Climatology.dll and Data can be found here at this post.
Plugin Threads (List)
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2013, 22:58   #48
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: Climatology

Currently the MSVC Debug version of this Climatology plugin does not read any data files and all the data types have the check box greyed out. There is no meaningful way to test this that I know of. ...however the compiled plugin seems to open ok, showing data as the cursor is moved around.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 01:43   #49
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 829
Re: Climatology

Here are my settings for the cyclone data... Nothing on screen
plugin is climatology_win32_pi19_v01_pi in O 3.2.2 / W7 Opengl
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image002.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	178.8 KB
ID:	61046  
__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 06:11   #50
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: Climatology

Sailor F54, yes it is surprising that climatology will work under windows, picking up part of the data, when under MSVC Debug mode there is no data available in the data field (when moving cursor over the charts) and the data type check boxes are greyed out. When the plugin is in this condition, it does NOT run , such that

Code:
...someone [can] single  step in ClimatologyOverlayFactory.cpp  first in ReadCycloneData, then  also in RenderCyclonesTheatre to determine why there is not a display
In short, in MSVC Debug Mode we need to get the data showing normally in the plugin data types, first before we can step through climatolgyoverlayfactory.cpp, I believe.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Climatology-MSVC-Debug-No-Data.png
Views:	84
Size:	120.0 KB
ID:	61050  
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 09:26   #51
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: Climatology

Regarding MSVC Debug version of Climatology_pi
In MSVC Solution Explorer found
...climatology_pi / Source Files / ClimatologyOverlayFactory.cpp

Picked "View Code". Have Debug started with Climatology plugin running with blank fields with no data. Have tried to find "Step into" or "Steps"

Could use some pointers here for using MSVC to debug in this situation with a plugin that does not seem to be getting data values.

Under MSVC, I have all climatology data located in several places:
1. build/plugins/climatology/data --full set of CL-data.
2. plugins/climatology_pi/data --full set of CL-data.

Keep in mind that the Release version of the plugin, the plugin seems to find the data in a standard opencpn setup with ../plugins/climatology/data/ --full set of CL-data. (with the exception of Cyclone data). Also checking Isobars in the the release version, freezes the entire program.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 10:23   #52
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: Climatology

In MSVC Debug, the only way I know to start a plugin, is to Start Debugging, and click on the plugin. In the case of Climatology_pi it always takes two clicks to get the plugin to come up blank, without data values and with check boxes greyed.
Then I tried hitting Debug > Break all and the following came up in the Call stack. Do not know if it is useful:
Code:
user32.dll!755b78d7()     
     [Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for user32.dll]    
     user32.dll!755b78d7()     
     user32.dll!755b790d()     
>    wxmsw28ud_core_vc_custom.dll!GetMessage(tagMSG * lpMsg, HWND__ * hWnd, unsigned int wMsgFilterMin, unsigned int wMsgFilterMax)  Line 309    C++
     wxmsw28ud_core_vc_custom.dll!wxEventLoop::Dispatch()  Line 225 + 0xf bytes    C++
     wxmsw28ud_core_vc_custom.dll!wxEventLoopManual::Run()  Line 115 + 0xd bytes    C++
     wxmsw28ud_core_vc_custom.dll!wxAppBase::MainLoop()  Line 312 + 0x15 bytes    C++
     wxmsw28ud_core_vc_custom.dll!wxAppBase::OnRun()  Line 368    C++
     wxbase28ud_vc_custom.dll!wxEntryReal(int & argc, wchar_t * * argv)  Line 448 + 0x1b bytes    C++
     wxbase28ud_vc_custom.dll!wxEntry(int & argc, wchar_t * * argv)  Line 209 + 0xd bytes    C++
     wxmsw28ud_core_vc_custom.dll!wxEntry(HINSTANCE__ * hInstance, HINSTANCE__ * __formal, HINSTANCE__ * __formal, int nCmdShow)  Line 386 + 0xe bytes    C++
     opencpn.exe!WinMain(HINSTANCE__ * hInstance, HINSTANCE__ * hPrevInstance, char * lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow)  Line 747 + 0x1c bytes    C++
     opencpn.exe!__tmainCRTStartup()  Line 547 + 0x2c bytes    C
     opencpn.exe!WinMainCRTStartup()  Line 371    C
     kernel32.dll!76c333aa()     
     ntdll.dll!77ab9ef2()     
     ntdll.dll!77ab9ec5()
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 10:44   #53
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: Climatology

Found the step into and step over commands. Not very useful the way I am using it. I have to start the plugin normally, then click on Debug > Break All. Then try "Step into" F11 and by then the Climatology_pi Menu has loaded, with blank data values and greyed out checkboxes. --Does not seem very useful the way I am using it.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 10:53   #54
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: Climatology

Tried turning on Cloud Isobars and of course it hung... Then captured this call stack. Don''t know if it is useful.

Code:
>    opencpn.exe!WinMain(HINSTANCE__ * hInstance, HINSTANCE__ * hPrevInstance, char * lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow)  Line 747    C++
     opencpn.exe!__tmainCRTStartup()  Line 547 + 0x2c bytes    C
     opencpn.exe!WinMainCRTStartup()  Line 371    C
     kernel32.dll!76c333aa()     
     [Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for kernel32.dll]    
     ntdll.dll!77ab9ef2()     
     ntdll.dll!77ab9ec5()
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 10:55   #55
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: Climatology

Then Step into

Code:
>    wxmsw28ud_core_vc_custom.dll!wxEntry(HINSTANCE__ * hInstance, HINSTANCE__ * __formal, HINSTANCE__ * __formal, int nCmdShow)  Line 340    C++
     opencpn.exe!WinMain(HINSTANCE__ * hInstance, HINSTANCE__ * hPrevInstance, char * lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow)  Line 747 + 0x1c bytes    C++
     opencpn.exe!__tmainCRTStartup()  Line 547 + 0x2c bytes    C
     opencpn.exe!WinMainCRTStartup()  Line 371    C
     kernel32.dll!76c333aa()     
     [Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for kernel32.dll]    
     ntdll.dll!77ab9ef2()     
     ntdll.dll!77ab9ec5()
Then Step Into again

Code:
>    wxmsw28ud_core_vc_custom.dll!wxIsUnicodeAvailable()  Line 248    C++
     wxmsw28ud_core_vc_custom.dll!wxEntry(HINSTANCE__ * hInstance, HINSTANCE__ * __formal, HINSTANCE__ * __formal, int nCmdShow)  Line 345 + 0x5 bytes    C++
     opencpn.exe!WinMain(HINSTANCE__ * hInstance, HINSTANCE__ * hPrevInstance, char * lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow)  Line 747 + 0x1c bytes    C++
     opencpn.exe!__tmainCRTStartup()  Line 547 + 0x2c bytes    C
     opencpn.exe!WinMainCRTStartup()  Line 371    C
     kernel32.dll!76c333aa()     
     [Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for kernel32.dll]    
     ntdll.dll!77ab9ef2()     
     ntdll.dll!77ab9ec5()
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 11:06   #56
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: Climatology

Then it tried to send a message of 1mb because Opencpn failed, and I think sending the message failed. Can I send this by hand? What is the filename and where is it stored?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Climatology-MSVC-Debug-No-Data-Trying--to-send-errors.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	416.0 KB
ID:	61057  
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 19:26   #57
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: Climatology

Climatology Routing from Nassau to Newport May 29- June 10.
Wondering why route does not take advantage of the Gulf Stream along the coast.
Instead it takes two long tacks that do not use the gulf stream current. Somehow this is counter intuitive. I wonder if currents are being used in the calculation?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Nassau-Newport-May29-June10.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	418.2 KB
ID:	61087  
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 19:39   #58
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Climatology

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Then it tried to send a message of 1mb because Opencpn failed, and I think sending the message failed. Can I send this by hand? What is the filename and where is it stored?
Rick, the error reporting feature is not finished and even when it will be, it will not work for your own builds as we need the debugging symbols corresponding to the executable that crashed to actually have something from the report. Please give us the time we need to finish and document it and meanwhile disable it in CMakeLists.txt for your builds...

Thanks

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 20:21   #59
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: Climatology

OK, will do. Not pushing. Thought it might help with DEBUG of Climatology Problems.

Climatology Bug Issues:
1. In MSVC debug mode - Data type checkboxes greyed out and not available.
2. In MSVC debug mode - Moving cursor across chart does not show data in the data windows (applies to all data types).
3. In Windows Release Version -
A. Data does show for all data types except cyclones when cursor is moved across chart.
B. When spacing for isobars is set high, checking the isobar does not crash the program. When spacing is set lower, like 60 for currents, the progress bar appears, and it runs slowly to 80% and hangs. Opencpn has to be stopped by going into Task Manager and deleting the process. Checking Isobar for any data type causes this progress bar hangup. If you have hung up once and canceled, you can leave the Config the same with Isobar checked in Config, and check first screen to show that data type, say currents, and the isobar progress will not run, isobars will not show up, and the screen with do the color overlay if that is checked in config.
C. Cyclone data does not appear to be working at all.

The screenshot below shows the progress bar problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Climatology-Config-Try-Pressure-Isobars.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	474.3 KB
ID:	61090  
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2013, 20:28   #60
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,369
Re: Climatology

Here is a WINDOWS Climatology Routing Nassau-Newport starting May 29 -June 10 using June climatology data. This shows that the plugin is useful, even in Windows, and even if Isobars being checked will hang the program, and cyclones does not work.

These two screenshots show Detect Land unchecked and then checked.
Please note that there is some initialization missing in the programming, because the plugin first got errors when hitting start. Then when I unchecked "Detect Land" it ran ok. Then checking "Detect Land" it ran ok too. So the feature is not initialized properly I expect. Be aware of this if you are a user too, and uncheck and check that box.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Climatology-Routing-Nassau-Newport-May29-June10-no-land.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	472.8 KB
ID:	61091   Click image for larger version

Name:	Climatology-Routing-Nassau-Newport-May29-June10-land-detect.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	474.7 KB
ID:	61092  

__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
paracelle

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.