Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-02-2015, 09:57   #361
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Climatology

Quote:
Originally Posted by seglarpeter View Post
I install climatology pkg file on man mac os 10.9.5 and nothing happened. it does not show up in opencpn nor standalone. can you please help Pavel. thanks
Definitely not without looking at your logfile. I don't understand what you mean by "showing up standalone", but I suppose that you know that after installing it, you have to enable the plugin in Toolbox->Plugins so that it "starts doing something"... Anyway, all I can tell is it works without any problem on the machine where it is built.

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2015, 10:42   #362
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,356
Re: Climatology

All about Noas Drifter sensors
PhOD - The Global Drifter Program - What's a drifter?


Wind Driven Surface Currents or Gyre
http://www.esr.org/oscar_index.html
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2015, 10:52   #363
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,356
Re: Climatology

Quote:
Just one thing - if you will be packaging weather_routing, please name the package without the underscore (opencpn-plugin-weatherrouting or opencpn-plugin-weather-routing) - I can't use it in the DEB package name to avoid problems with Launchpad tools and would like to stay consistent between distros...


Put this in the Weather_Routing thread and It might be noticed by SEAN.

Weather Routing

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2015, 11:07   #364
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: göteborg sweden
Boat: sailing yacht , 39 feet
Posts: 14
Re: Climatology

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Definitely not without looking at your logfile. I don't understand what you mean by "showing up standalone", but I suppose that you know that after installing it, you have to enable the plugin in Toolbox->Plugins so that it "starts doing something"... Anyway, all I can tell is it works without any problem on the machine where it is built.

Pavel
thanks for your prompt replay. I do try to open toolbox-plugin but there is no "climatology" plugin visible-does not show up
i am new on opencpn - gribb-plugin works fine- but not climatologi.
/
How do i find the log file? in the Library/logs/?... there is no/
__________________
seglarpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2015, 11:37   #365
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Climatology

Quote:
Originally Posted by seglarpeter View Post
How do i find the log file? in the Library/logs/?... there is no/
You read the manual and then you click on the "?" icon in the toolbar to find out where it is.
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2015, 15:03   #366
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,356
Re: Climatology

seglarpeter

I am assuming you are using Windows?
What version of Opencpn are you using?
Did you install Climatology properly? Which version? URL Location?
Do you find in this path (for example)
C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 4.0.0\plugins
a climatology.dll file?
and a climatology_pi folder?
and a plugins\climatology_pi\data folder with data?
Wrench Icon Options > Plugins > you must "Enable" Climatology, as Pavel said.
Finally please attach the opencpn.ini file found here
C:\ProgramData\opencpn\opencpn.ini

Copy this file and rename it to opencpn.ini.doc and upload it to this thread using the "Go Advanced" , scroll down to "Additional Options" and then use the "Manage Attachments" button.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2015, 02:56   #367
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: göteborg sweden
Boat: sailing yacht , 39 feet
Posts: 14
Re: Climatology

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
seglarpeter

I am assuming you are using Windows?
What version of Opencpn are you using?
Did you install Climatology properly? Which version? URL Location?
Do you find in this path (for example)
C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 4.0.0\plugins
a climatology.dll file?
and a climatology_pi folder?
and a plugins\climatology_pi\data folder with data?
Wrench Icon Options > Plugins > you must "Enable" Climatology, as Pavel said.
Finally please attach the opencpn.ini file found here
C:\ProgramData\opencpn\opencpn.ini

Copy this file and rename it to opencpn.ini.doc and upload it to this thread using the "Go Advanced" , scroll down to "Additional Options" and then use the "Manage Attachments" button.
thanks for your comments. No - I am on mac os... Climatology plugin works now, after some problems. However I am only able to choose wind, current and cyclones in the config. panel. No others like : sea or air temperature, pressure, etc. am i missing something?
__________________
seglarpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2015, 03:57   #368
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 179
Re: Climatology

Quote:
Originally Posted by seglarpeter View Post
thanks for your comments. No - I am on mac os... Climatology plugin works now, after some problems. However I am only able to choose wind, current and cyclones in the config. panel. No others like : sea or air temperature, pressure, etc. am i missing something?
In the config window did you select the enable checkbox for the desired overlay?
Also one of Overlay Map, Iso Bars or Numbers should be selected.

Peter
__________________
ptulp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2015, 04:36   #369
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: göteborg sweden
Boat: sailing yacht , 39 feet
Posts: 14
Re: Climatology

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptulp View Post
In the config window did you select the enable checkbox for the desired overlay?
Also one of Overlay Map, Iso Bars or Numbers should be selected.

Peter
thanks. i got it now. ...never too late to learn.../
__________________
seglarpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 02:58   #370
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,356
Re: Climatology

Sean has updated Climatology.
Opencpn Beta File Thingie rguser rgpass
See 3.2.2 PI Win folder
climatology_pi-1.0-ov3.2.2-n-DATA-win32
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 00:27   #371
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,356
Re: Climatology

Have tried current version with Haswell with INtel HD graphics after updating the drivers, and the plugin exteneded data that uses overslays and Opengl is not working properly for me on this machine. I neeed to test it on my laptop witn Nvidia when I get home in several days and I will know more.

Should I test this opengl with some testing program?
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2015, 05:33   #372
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Rogoznica, Croatia
Boat: Bavaria Cruiser 40
Posts: 619
Images: 16
Re: Climatology

Love the fact that this plugin is available for Mac OSX as it gives me an extra set of information for passage planning etc.

Only problem I have right now though is a distinct lack of data for the Adriatic Sea. Is there any data sets available to download for this area (and other areas such as Aegean etc) and if so where do I copy them to in order for the plugin to find them and display them?

Cheers

Keiron
__________________
kas_1611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 06:35   #373
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,356
Re: Climatology

Tried to compile Climatology for Opencpn v4.1.602 having deleted the build dir.
Come up with several errors.

Quote:
Build FAILED.

"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\o-plugin\climatology_pi\build\ALL_BUILD.vcxproj" (default target)
(1) ->
"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\o-plugin\climatology_pi\build\climatology_pi.vcxproj " (default tar
get) (4) ->
(ClCompile target) ->
C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\o-plugin\climatology_pi\src\wxJSON\jsonval.cpp(965): error C2308:
concatenating mismatched strings [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\o-plugin\climatology_pi\build\cl
imatology_pi.vcxproj]
C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\o-plugin\climatology_pi\src\wxJSON\jsonval.cpp(973): error C2308:
concatenating mismatched strings [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\o-plugin\climatology_pi\build\cl
imatology_pi.vcxproj]

0 Warning(s)
2 Error(s)
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 06:38   #374
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Climatology

Rick...
Can you post the actual errors? It is good to know there are 2 of them, but that's about it.
Edit: sorry, now I see them, simple fix.

Thanks

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 08:14   #375
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,356
Re: Climatology

Pavel, tried your climatology repos. got the same errors.

jasonval.cpp line 965
----------------
Code:
case wxJSONTYPE_INT :
            #if defined( wxJSON_64BIT_INT )
                  s.Printf( _T("%") wxLongLongFmtSpec _T("i"),    <---line 965
                        data->m_value.m_valInt64 );
            #else
            s.Printf( _T("%ld"), data->m_value.m_valLong );
            #endif
            break;
---Error C2308 concatenating mismatched strings

jasonval.cpp line 973
----------------
Code:
case wxJSONTYPE_UINT :
#if defined( wxJSON_64BIT_INT )
s.Printf( _T("%") wxLongLongFmtSpec _T("u"),   <--line 973
data->m_value.m_valUInt64 );
#else
s.Printf( _T("%lu"), data->m_value.m_valULong );
#endif
break;
---Error C2308 concatenating mismatched strings

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/86888ehe.aspx
Internalization, multi-line _T() and _() macros
Put one string inside another?
Internalization, multi-line _T() and _() macros
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
paracelle

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.