Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 16:25   #16
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to GPS Furuno GP32

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyHour View Post
... i can only select 1 route for a direct GPS upload
HH
That is true and that's why I use GPS Utility as I mentioned in my previous posting.

Good luck,

Terry
__________________

__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 16:33   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Boat: Dehler34
Posts: 8
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to GPS Furuno GP32

Dave,

GPrtc is just a comment string.

"Route comment data format"
Figure 7-37 Route comment data format
1: Route No. (01 to 51, 2 digits required)
2: Route comment (Max. 16 characters,
variable length)
The same characters of the comment
for waypoint comment can be used.

Its all in the "GP31-GP36 Operators Manual".

I hope u have a copy of it.
If not ask Google about the "GP31-GP36 Operators Manual".
Otherwise i have no problem to send it to you via Email or a filesharing service.
We talk about 1.5 MB. No big deal at all.

Greetings
HH
__________________

__________________
HappyHour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 17:24   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Boat: Dehler34
Posts: 8
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to GPS Furuno GP32

Just another output.
4 simple routes created with opencpn.
The 1, route has the name test, the others are unnamed.
I saved all routes via opencpn into a single GPX file and send that GPX file wih GPXUtil to a COMPORT.

Here is the output:

$PFEC,GPwpl,5334.135,N,00940.819,E,001 ,Y,@q ,A,,,,*48
$PFEC,GPwpl,5334.195,N,00939.781,E,002 ,Y,@q ,A,,,,*41
$PFEC,GPwpl,5334.730,N,00937.725,E,001A ,Y,@q ,A,,,,*2A
$PFEC,GPwpl,5334.484,N,00938.521,E,002A ,Y,@q ,A,,,,*2C
$PFEC,GPwpl,5334.361,N,00938.931,E,001B ,Y,@q ,A,,,,*2D
$PFEC,GPwpl,5334.104,N,00939.958,E,002B ,Y,@q ,A,,,,*21
$PFEC,GPwpl,5334.073,N,00940.395,E,001C ,Y,@q ,A,,,,*27
$PFEC,GPwpl,5333.989,N,00941.601,E,002C ,Y,@q ,A,,,,*26
$GPRTE,1,1,C,001, 001 , 002 *25
$PFEC,GPrtc,001,test*69
$GPRTE,1,1,C,002, 001A , 002A *26
$PFEC,GPrtc,002,*7C
$GPRTE,1,1,C,003, 001B , 002B *27
$PFEC,GPrtc,003,*7D
$GPRTE,1,1,C,004, 001C , 002C *20
$PFEC,GPrtc,004,*7A
$PFEC,GPxfr,CTL,E*59

Im not sure if the furuno gps is able to receive multiple routes via the pc-interface but im sure it is able to receive a single route with multiple waypoints. I will test multiple routes next time. Btw. I never saw any reason to upload multiple routes, but if u talk with 12 people u will get 12 navigation models

Back to the roots(Routes):
If you save multiple routes with opencpn to a GPX file you will see no route numbering.
I think its the uploading programm that does the numbering, in this case its.
001,002,003,004

just my 5 c
HH
__________________
HappyHour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 17:31   #19
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to GPS Furuno GP32

hh...

O currently does one route at a time, always named "1". Hard coded.

Code:
if(g_GPS_Ident != _T("FurunoGP3X"))
{
  .
  .
 }
 else
 {
          tNMEA0183.Rte.RouteName = _T ( "1" );
}
I'll change this for the next Beta

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 19:31   #20
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Boat: Dehler34
Posts: 8
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to GPS Furuno GP32

Quote:
Originally Posted by yachtvalhalla View Post
That is true and that's why I use GPS Utility as I mentioned in my previous posting.

Good luck,

Terry
Terry,

well i know that GPSUtil is a workaround.
Opencpn is a great program, i use it since 2 years and im happy with it.
But i have have a furuno GPS and lots of my friends have a furuno GPS too.
The handling is a bit tricky.

What can we do:
start opencpn
create a route with opencpn
save that route
close opencpn
open GPSUtil
load the file created by opencpn
transfer it to your GPS
close GPSUtil
start opencpn
load previous saved the file and activate it
and last but least not activate the route on your GPS

Even if i know this workaround, without a working furuno upload its not acceptable for my friends with a furuno gps.

Just hanging around
HH
__________________
HappyHour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 02:36   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 16
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to GPS Furuno GP32

Hello all,

Just a report of my experience using OCPN 3.0.2 with my Furuno GP 32 :
- Before the 3.0.2 version i used GPSU to upload routes to the GP32 (with a process close to the one described by HappyHour) and it worked nice but the name of the route in the GP32 was unreadable, only 1 route can be uploaded at a time.
- Now, i can upload route from OCPN to GP 32, only waypoints are uploaded but the process is much lighter than using GPSU.

Bdbcat, I think that the reason why route is not loaded is because the format of the sentences the GP 32 is waiting for is not strictly respected, as said before by HappyHour, you must read carrefully the manual (http://www.furuno.fr/Multimedia/omGP32gb.pdf).

Regards,
Z
__________________
Zorg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 03:39   #22
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Neptune's Gear's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Gulf Harbour, New Zealand
Boat: Farr Phase 4, 12.8m
Posts: 992
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to GPS Furuno GP32

Hi Guys, I'm new to this. Trying to get my GP32 working as well. I tried to put [Settings]
GPSIdent=FurunoGP3X
into the config file. The edit works ok from notepad, save the file. Restart Open CPN and rechec the config file - the edit is gone??? Also, there was NO GPSIdent key at all?
Sorry for the basic questions...
Neptune's Gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 13:10   #23
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,249
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to GPS Furuno GP32

Quote:
Originally Posted by NZ8720 View Post
Hi Guys, I'm new to this. Trying to get my GP32 working as well. I tried to put [Settings]
GPSIdent=FurunoGP3X
into the config file. The edit works ok from notepad, save the file. Restart Open CPN and rechec the config file - the edit is gone??? Also, there was NO GPSIdent key at all?
Sorry for the basic questions...
Make sure that you have closed down all instances of OpenCPN before editing the config file. You have to add the line "GPSIdent=FurunoGP3X " your self. GPSIdent is not normally present.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2013, 13:44   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Boat: Dehler34
Posts: 8
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to GPS Furuno GP32

HI,

i used version 3.2 this year with my old furuno gps and everthing was fine.

many thanks to the deverlopers

HH
__________________
HappyHour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2013, 00:05   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Currently in Malaysia
Boat: Valiant Esprit 37
Posts: 126
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to GPS Furuno GP32

I helped Dave test the Furuno upload with a GP31 and it is working great. There are some limitations with the Furuno GPS and I detailed them in this post OpenCPN Release Candidate Version 3.1.1417 Released and there are other posts in that thread that will let you see some of the issues we discovered while testing.

Glad to see you have it working now!
__________________
reflectionsv37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2015, 15:10   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to GPS Furuno GP32

hello
I have somme problem to download waypoints and routes to GPS Furuno GP33
I try with gps utility but for waypoint it was good not for routes
With open cpn it was possible to transfert only one waypoint
the other problem when i transfert waypoints all the waypoint into the gps was erase
I try with furuno.exe you can found on the web site oziexplorer this program crash on my pc i think it was for old furuno
it was very difficult to transfert waypoint and route to furuno GPS perhaps you know another program
__________________

__________________
ploubaz22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furuno, gps

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.