Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2011, 19:18   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: aboard
Boat: Cardinal 46 - Callisto
Posts: 8
Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS

Cannot upload WP's to new Furuno GP-33 via NEMA 0183.

I can read GPS nav data on OpenCPN.

Can upload WP's to Garmin 76cs using same configuration. I have a toggle switch between Garmin and Furuno NMEA the wiring configuration is the same for both units after the switch.

I have also tried uploading wp's using MaxSea, no go.

OCPN indicates upload successful, but no response from GPS.
Does Furuno use some special translater?
Any tips on how to trouble shoot the problem?
__________________

__________________
WalterH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 21:46   #2
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 554
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalterH View Post
Cannot upload WP's to new Furuno GP-33 via NEMA 0183.

I can read GPS nav data on OpenCPN.

Can upload WP's to Garmin 76cs using same configuration. I have a toggle switch between Garmin and Furuno NMEA the wiring configuration is the same for both units after the switch.

I have also tried uploading wp's using MaxSea, no go.

OCPN indicates upload successful, but no response from GPS.
Does Furuno use some special translater?
Any tips on how to trouble shoot the problem?
I suggest you use GPSUtility program. It has Furuno GP-33 as an option.

GPS Utility - Download

Terry
__________________

__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 17:28   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: aboard
Boat: Cardinal 46 - Callisto
Posts: 8
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS

Terry,
I downloaded the GPS utility, it is a cool program, but still cannot get WPs into the GP-33, I wonder if anyone else has a Furuno GP-33 and has uploaded waypoints via NEMA 0183?
__________________
WalterH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 22:34   #4
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 554
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalterH View Post
Terry,
I downloaded the GPS utility, it is a cool program, but still cannot get WPs into the GP-33, I wonder if anyone else has a Furuno GP-33 and has uploaded waypoints via NEMA 0183?
Walter ... this is the procedure I use for the Furuno GP-32. I suspect it will work for you:

Sending waypoints and routes from GPSUtility program to Furuno GPS.

Prepare GPSU program

1. Launch GPSUtility.
2. Go to GPS/Setup. Select 'Furuno', 'other' (or '80' or '33' if you have one of those models.)
Select the com port connected to the GPS. (You can check the available ports by clicking on the box 'Check')
Select the 'Baud rate' of '4800'
Click on 'OK'.
3. Select File/Open. Navigage to the route you want to use.
Open it. If you get a warning notice about symbols just click 'ok'.
The waypoints for that route will be displayed.
4. Minimize the GPSU program.


Prepare Furuno GPS

1. Select MENU/I/O SETUP and press ENTER
2. Select LOAD WPT/RTE <- PC? and press ENTER
3. On the LOAD WPT/ROUTE screen the selection CONTINUE? is highlighted. Press ENTER
4. On the LOADING START? screen, move the selection to YES but don't do anything just yet.

Uploading

1. Display GPSU.
2. Select GPS/Upload all ...
3. The GPS Transfer screen appears with 'OK' checked.
4. Quickly do the following:

a. On the Furuno GPS press ENT for the highlighted 'YES'. Then ...
b. On the GPSU program click on the 'OK' (alternatively just hit ENTER key)

5. On the GPSU program the bottom left corner will show the status of the upload and when it is completed.
6. The Furuno GPS should beep and display 'LOADING COMPLETED. Press any key'. Do so

a. Go to MAIN MENU/WAYPOINTS. Press ENTER twice. The waypoints for this route should be shown.
b. Go to MAIN MENU/ROUTES. Press ENTER. A route '01' should be displayed without a name. Hightlight it and press ENTER.
c. The waypoints for that route should be shown. To add a name to this route select CMT: and press ENTER. You can now use the GPS selector to enter a name for the route.

Remember that each time you upload data to the GPS it overwrites the old information.

It is possible to upload waypoints for multiple routes at one time.

If you do a combined file of waypoints and routes from other saved routes and send them at one time to the Furuno GPS, the result will be that only the first set of waypoints defining a route will be accepted by the Furuno GPS as a route, labeled '01'. It may often have a blank name or, perhaps a garbled one. This is normally the first set of waypoints associated with the first route you have put into the combined file. The other waypoints comprising the other routes will be under the GPS 'Waypoints' folder. You must now go to 'Routes' and create the successive routes using the waypointS for that route displayed under the 'Waypoints' folder in the GPS.

For that first route, '01' (and for any route for that matter), you can open the route and enter the name of the route under the 'CMT:' line.

Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 02:31   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: aboard
Boat: Cardinal 46 - Callisto
Posts: 8
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS

Thanks Terry, but still no good. When I get to the last step the Furuno displays "WPT/RTE loading..." with a cancel button highlighted. The GPS utility goes through the up load routine and says upload complete, but no beep from the Furuno and the same "WPT/RTE loading..." message is displayed. It will stay like that forever until I hit the Cancel button. No waypoints are listed in the Waypoint menu.
I had a GP-32 and could upload to it fine, but it died. I went to Singapore to get another, but only the GP-33 was available so that is what I got. I hate upgrades.
Regards Walter
__________________
WalterH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 02:58   #6
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 554
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalterH View Post
I hate upgrades.
Regards Walter
Hmmmm ... interesting since the program includes the Furuno GP-33.

Did you try 'other' instead of '33' in the GPSU setup?

About all I can suggest now is to communicate with the author of GPSU murphy<at>gpsu.co.uk and/or search through the forum: gpsu : GPSU User's Group

Good luck Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2011, 17:11   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: aboard
Boat: Cardinal 46 - Callisto
Posts: 8
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS

FurunoUSA engineers have now confirmed that waypoints can not be up loaded to the GP-33 using the NEMA 0183 channel. They are working on the problem.
__________________
WalterH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2011, 18:17   #8
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chesapeake Region and Maine
Boat: 42' Bob Perry sloop
Posts: 4,038
Images: 4
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS

Walter,

I suspect your Furuno-to-laptop wiring isn't correct.

Here's why.

I have four...yes 4....GP31 units. They are all programmed identically with routes/waypoints uploaded from a laptop.

I just acquired the fourth recently, and set about programming it exactly like the other three. I removed the one at the nav station, substituted the "new" one, and tried to upload the data. Got EXACTLY the same response as you. It wouldn't take them. Interestingly, though, it erased the few waypoints which were already in the GP-31; I have come to believe that that occurred when you press the buttons on the unit itself, not because of the laptop trying to write to the GP-31.

I suspected that maybe the battery was bad. Opened it up, and found the battery was fine. Puzzlement. ??????

Then, I broke out the backup GP-31 power/data cable which I had at home and which I'd actually used to program the other three. Hooked it up and...BINGO....the "new" GP-31 took the data first time. No problem.

BTW, I also used this cable to program a brand new GP32 last month for a client. Worked flawlessly.

What was wrong?

I'm sure the problem was that the wiring to the GP-31 data cable on the boat was wrong. The receive function was OK for the laptop and the VHF because I was getting position data from the GPS. However, the transmit function obviously wasn't working right. And, guess what? Just a couple of weeks ago I'd installed a new VHF and, in the process, had "cleaned up" all the wiring connections for the VHF (power, PA/fog, external speaker, GPS) and for the GPS and laptop....all wires lead to a terminal strip. Obviously, I screwed up one of the connections, so the data could not be transferred from the laptop to the GPS. My bad.

Check your connections carefully.

Good luck,

Bill
__________________
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2011, 20:53   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: aboard
Boat: Cardinal 46 - Callisto
Posts: 8
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS

Thanks for the input Bill, but I am replacing a GP-32 with a GP-33. I have checked my wiring and I have discussed it with Furuno technical support. Furuno engineers are investigating the problem and they are also unable to load WPs from a computer to a GP-33 in their shop so it seems that there is something is wrong with the GP-33.
__________________
WalterH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2012, 12:23   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by WalterH
Thanks for the input Bill, but I am replacing a GP-32 with a GP-33. I have checked my wiring and I have discussed it with Furuno technical support. Furuno engineers are investigating the problem and they are also unable to load WPs from a computer to a GP-33 in their shop so it seems that there is something is wrong with the GP-33.
I have the same problem - according to FURUNO USA (more capable than uk) there is a USB /10 PCBL 10 pin to USB cable assembly available from FURUNO that will do the trick with easy gps utility
A NMEA interface will not allow you to upload waypoints - I have just wasted countless hours trying to make a NMEA interface to work on the incorrect advice of a dealer that will remain nameless - if you cannot get help locally try calling furuno USA # (360) 834 9300 & speak to John in tech support - I was just about to loose the will to live at the apparent total technical ignorance of local uk support!
Good luck,

Pat
__________________
Splash2791 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2013, 03:42   #11
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the seven seas aboard Mylady
Boat: Compass 34 , Sloop
Posts: 15
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS

Good Day ,

I read all what is mentioned here regarding " Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS "but does anybody knows if Furuno solved the problem by changing the software in this GP 33 so you do not need the special program anymore ?
__________________
Mylady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 01:22   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 8
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS

Similar problem on my gp30 and 31 though works fine with maxsea. What about ticking the box in opencpn connections window for allowing output data on the port....did you do this? I will try this when next at boat and post.
__________________
Rakoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 13:06   #13
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,421
Re: Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS

Read and follow yachtvallaha's explicit step by step?
Cannot Upload Waypoints to Furuno GPS
- Perhaps this documentation should be in some section of the User Documentation?
- Can it be improved with a list of actions & proven compatible Furuno devices?
- Please add your experiences if you have furuno.
- Also suggest looking into GPS babel, there is an OpenCPN plugin oBabel that works with it.

Will Furuno owners maintain & update a page in the User Manual for waypoint upload?
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furuno, gps

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furuno 1715 Radar Unit Review kirkalittle Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 15 28-10-2014 08:51
GPS Signal Interference in US CarlF Navigation 36 19-05-2012 09:13
Lavezzi 40: Furuno GPS / FI3005 to Laptop KenR Fountaine Pajot 6 09-11-2011 05:52
NMEA Connection - Furuno GP-33 to RL-9 Radar Jaden44 Marine Electronics 5 03-11-2011 18:39
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:00.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.