Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2019, 19:57   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Port Washington, Long Island
Boat: J40
Posts: 69
Images: 1
can I use laptop with internet to get ais for opencpn

Can I use laptop with internet connection to get ais for opencpn?
__________________

flopresti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 20:11   #2
Moderator
 
Adelie's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: La Ciudad de la Misión Didacus de Alcalá en Alta California, Virreinato de Nueva España
Boat: Cal 20
Posts: 8,754
Re: can I use laptop with internet to get ais for opencpn

Only when you are in internet range and only for vessels that are picked up by stations that report AIS signals to centralised AIS aggregators.

To see what’s really around you you should have an AIS receiver or better yet a transceiver so others can see you.

Or are you asking the more basic question whether OpenCPN is configured to use internet data?
__________________

__________________
Num Me Vexo?
SailboatData
A house is but a boat so poorly built and so firmly run aground no one would think to try and refloat it.
Adelie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 05:16   #3
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,477
Re: can I use laptop with internet to get ais for opencpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by flopresti View Post
Can I use laptop with internet connection to get ais for opencpn?
Yes, you can. OpenCPN knows how to connect to internet AIS services. You have to know the IP address details of the service provider.

Be aware that there is no guarantee that AIS services will report all vessels in the specific area where your vessel is located. AIS via internet is mostly used for couch cruising or testing. It is not recommended in my opinion for real use in operating a vessel.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 05:39   #4
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5,628
Re: can I use laptop with internet to get ais for opencpn

There are two potential problems with online AIS services.
1. There is an unknown ( and unknowable) time delay in the posting of AIS data on the AIS feed. Not so good for fast, interesting targets like commercial ships.
2. The data is easily spoofed, for a variety of reasons, including just for fun.


Conclusion:
Not recommended for real navigation.


Good Luck
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 05:53   #5
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 3,543
Re: can I use laptop with internet to get ais for opencpn

How about as an extension of the onboard receiver? That is, to look beyond the horizon. I could see this being useful in high traffic areas where internet access is most likely available. Would it be possible to remove duplicates from internet sourced data that is being locally received?
Reefmagnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 06:00   #6
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,477
Re: can I use laptop with internet to get ais for opencpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefmagnet View Post
How about as an extension of the onboard receiver? That is, to look beyond the horizon. I could see this being useful in high traffic areas where internet access is most likely available. Would it be possible to remove duplicates from internet sourced data that is being locally received?
It’s possible but not easy. The software would have to keep track of the UTC stamps and discard any message that is stamped earlier than the most recent one received.

For most boats the VHF “horizon” is a lot further away than the visual horizon. There aren’t very many cases where one would expect to get more useful information from the internet than from a good onboard AIS setup.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 17:18   #7
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 3,543
Re: can I use laptop with internet to get ais for opencpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
It’s possible but not easy. The software would have to keep track of the UTC stamps and discard any message that is stamped earlier than the most recent one received.

For most boats the VHF “horizon” is a lot further away than the visual horizon. There aren’t very many cases where one would expect to get more useful information from the internet than from a good onboard AIS setup.
I understand, but I do think it would have its uses.
Reefmagnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 14:03   #8
Registered User
 
Viking Sailor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Fantasia 35
Posts: 1,193
Re: can I use laptop with internet to get ais for opencpn

Then there is the possible future satellite repeating of AIS signals covering a wide area. This may become real with the implementation of unmanned shipping. This would give more time to determine the necessary actions required for collision avoidance.
__________________

Viking Sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, enc, internet, laptop, opencpn

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
c-map SD card use in laptop and OpenCPN Marathon1150 OpenCPN 10 23-12-2016 03:14
Can't get OpenCPN to work on my laptop opolily OpenCPN 5 28-03-2014 11:40
How Do I Get My Internet and a Phone Going when I Get to the US Next Week ? dennisail Off Topic Forum 18 30-09-2011 20:46
Can You Get Radar & AIS Overlay on Laptop ? AIS Transceiver Recommendations ? lunasea.ds Marine Electronics 22 27-12-2010 13:06
Just Loaded OpenCPN - Can I Get it to Use My C-MAP Files ? dennisail OpenCPN 2 20-10-2010 21:48



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:49.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.