Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-06-2012, 15:08   #1

Blurry maps

I am a newbie and I am trying to use OpenCPN 3.0.0. I downloaded the program and on the way somewhere I also downloaded a chart of the Med. (Med.7z). When I expand the Med chart to get a better look at Marmara Turkey it gets to blurry to plot on the chart. Do I need a better map that will take the zooming in? It would be nice to do this so I can see Marmara and its harbors with good detail and be able to zoom out to get a perspective of where it is in relationship to other countries in the Med. The trip I want to plot is from Marmara Turkey to Gibraltar.

Or do I need several charts and transpose the long. and Lat. from on chart to the next to plot my course?

Thanks in advance, George
georgepetsas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 16:48   #2

Boat: PETERSON 44
I had a problem half way to block island. I could only read the charts with lots of lights on and chart quality has been a constant issue after I passed 45. Not saying that's the cause. Now I have all these reading glasses. Real life experience.
sabray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 23:26   #3

Boat: 29'
Re: Blurry maps

Quote:
Originally Posted by georgepetsas View Post