Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2010, 03:28   #616
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by janp391 View Post
... and use a slimmed XP as OS.
What exactly does "slimmed XP" mean?
Any Service Packs installed?

How many users do you have on your system?
Are you logged-on as an Admin?

Quote:
Originally Posted by janp391 View Post
Thank you for your quick response. I tried that also.... with no luck
Did you try to overwrite the existing (2.1.0) installation?
Or does it crash right at the start-up of the setup?
But in the latter case I do not understand why you have to re-install the 2.1.0 version!? Because if the setup does not start at all, any existing installation won't be touched.

Gunther
__________________

__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 04:40   #617
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Boat: ODAY 35
Posts: 1,259
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
I may have the same problem. I downloaded opencpn_2.2.918_setup.exe and tried to install on top of V2.1 and during the install got:

Unhandled exception at 0x00db18ed in opencpn_2.2.918_setup.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x033a9000.

See attached

I'm running Windows Vista.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OpenCPN 2.2.918 Install.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	159.9 KB
ID:	19864  
__________________

__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 04:47   #618
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West coast of Sweden
Boat: Najad391
Posts: 152
Can't install 2.2.918 on my netbook, cont.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsurfer View Post
What exactly does "slimmed XP" mean?
Any Service Packs installed?

This is what the OS is (XP Pro, SP3):
- Slimmed XP
This has most of the required hotfixes slipstreamed with nLite,
other odd hotfixes that cannot be slipstreamed (for example KB890830)
are installed on first logon. This also includes IE8 and slipstreamed
WMP11 with all hotfixes. It also has a few items
removed, the only item that might be needed is Chinese, Japanese
and Korean. The only other items removed are redundant items like
the Windows XP "Tour".


How many users do you have on your system?
Are you logged-on as an Admin?

Yes I am logged on as Admin and this is the only user


Did you try to overwrite the existing (2.1.0) installation?
Or does it crash right at the start-up of the setup?
But in the latter case I do not understand why you have to re-install the 2.1.0 version!? Because if the setup does not start at all, any existing installation won't be touched.

I started the installation with 2.2 but had above error message when I tried to start the program. I then uninstalled and downloaded 2.1.0. This version installed without any problem, all was working. I then tried to install 2.2 after a new download. Installation process was ok, but when I tried to start I got the error message.
Now I am back to 2.1.0 and running that version without any problem.

Thank you for your help//Jan
__________________
janp391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 04:49   #619
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Boat: ODAY 35
Posts: 1,259
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Also after V2.2 install failure, I can no longer start OpenCPN, get:

Unhandled exception at 0x1004967a in opencpn.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000000.

See Attached
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Restart OpenCPN after install failure.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	170.4 KB
ID:	19865  
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 05:13   #620
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Boat: ODAY 35
Posts: 1,259
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
To get OpenCPN running again I uninstalled both V2.2 and V2.1 then installed V2.1. It said there were nocharts so I then installed V2.2 with the Reset OpenCPN configuration ticked and it installed OK. Then I reinstalled the charts and it seems OK now.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 09:14   #621
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West coast of Sweden
Boat: Najad391
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
To get OpenCPN running again I uninstalled both V2.2 and V2.1 then installed V2.1. It said there were nocharts so I then installed V2.2 with the Reset OpenCPN configuration ticked and it installed OK. Then I reinstalled the charts and it seems OK now.
No luck in your way of installing. Also tested with the new version 2.2.1007 but got the same error message.
Hope someone know a better way to solve this problem than I do
__________________
janp391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 10:16   #622
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Boat: ODAY 35
Posts: 1,259
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
I just installed the new beta 2.2.1007 on top of the 2.2.918 and it installed OK. This was on Vista.

I then tried to install the 2.2.1007 on my Acer Aspire running XP that already had V2.1 and got the "stop Working" message during the install (no Visual Studio to see where the exception is). Then I went to the control panel and uninstalled V2.2 and also removed 2.1, then reran the V2.2.1007 and checked the "Reset.." and it installed OK . Then reinstalled all the charts.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 21:48   #623
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising Southern Indonesia, heading for peninsular Malaysia
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 516
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Latitudes incorrect when sending Route info to GPS:

I've noticed that 2.1.0 (on Win7) doesn't send route info to my Garmin 152 correctly - the latitudes are all incorrect (though somewhat recognizable). Interface is via KeySpan 4-port serial/USB adaptor.

Is this being addressed? My search did not show this being discussed.

Please excuse if this is not the correct place to post these. Ideally I'd post these to FlySpray as I'm a registered user (& a SW tester) but I can't see how to get access.
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 06:54   #624
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West coast of Sweden
Boat: Najad391
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
I just installed the new beta 2.2.1007 on top of the 2.2.918 and it installed OK. This was on Vista.

I then tried to install the 2.2.1007 on my Acer Aspire running XP that already had V2.1 and got the "stop Working" message during the install (no Visual Studio to see where the exception is). Then I went to the control panel and uninstalled V2.2 and also removed 2.1, then reran the V2.2.1007 and checked the "Reset.." and it installed OK . Then reinstalled all the charts.
Strange.......I can install and run ver 1.3.6 and 2.1.0 without any problems but when I try to upgrade to 2.2 I got error message. I have tried "all" variations to install but always end up with the error message as above. When the installation of 2.2. is ready I also got the message with text app. as .....encountered problems do you want to report to MS.
I am lost
__________________
janp391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 17:39   #625
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 10
I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the correct place or not, so sorry if it has to be moved.

I have an issue with the way that quilting works with ENC charts, particularly for my usual route on Lake St. Clair in Michigan. I believe this has always worked this way, since the introduction of quilting.

As you can see from the attached pictures, half of my route is on one chart and half is on another and when the screen center is over the Western chart, the Eastern one just shows as black space. When the center of the screen is over the Eastern chart, they both show correctly.

Does anyone know what could be causing this and is there something that I can do to make both charts always visible?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Chart-Part.png
Views:	99
Size:	149.0 KB
ID:	20056   Click image for larger version

Name:	Chart-Whole.png
Views:	98
Size:	191.4 KB
ID:	20057  

__________________
jimbo3123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2010, 09:40   #626
Registered User
 
Sail323's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Boat: Pearson 323
Posts: 49
Garmin/Garmin Host Mode

Uploading a route to my GPS 72 using "GARMIN/GARMIN (Host) Mode" produces the error: Error on Route Upload. Please check logfiles...

My Garmin GPS 72 in in GARMIN mode. What should I be looking for in the logfile?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Garmin to Garmin Upload.png
Views:	112
Size:	96.1 KB
ID:	20187  
__________________
Sail323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2010, 17:42   #627
Registered User
 
BluegillBoy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Boat: Endeavour TrawlerCat 36 - My Bluegill Heaven
Posts: 149
Trouble installing - downloaded the latest 2.2 beta today, installed without overwriting the cinfig files, installer processed quite a bit, then got an "had to quit unexpectedly" error. when I try to start 2.2 it says can't start because config files are incorrect. so i reinstalled overwriting config files - same errors and problems. reinstalled 2.1 and that won't run. had to uninstall everything. then tried to install 2.2 again 0 same problems. finally uninstalled everything and installed 2.1 so i had a working setup.

i'm on an atom duo core, XP Pro SP3.
__________________
BluegillBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2010, 05:59   #628
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 609
Where is build 1012 for Windows?

This is the first time I've seen different build numbers for Linux and Windows. Is it just a temporary thing that will go away soon or is there a reason the latest beta for Windows is build 1007 instead of 1012?

--Fabbian
__________________
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2010, 09:05   #629
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,494
fgd3...

Thanks for the feedback.
As usual, the git repository between "official" Beta releases is not especially quality assured. It may not run right, it may not build, it may even eat all the cheese in your house

We do it this way so that active developers can keep in sync with their code updates between Betas, and to get a sneak peek at regression bugs.

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2010, 18:29   #630
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 3,803
LAT/LONG problems with build 1007

I've noticed that the latitude and longitude readouts at the bottom of the screen are not working right, both for boat and cursor position.

For example,I'm currently at 36 degrees 2.636 minutes north and 75 degrees 34.953 minutes west, but OpenCPN says I'm at 36 degrees 2.0636 minutes north and 75 degrees 34.0953 minutes west--an extraneous zero has gotten into the works.

Hope this is a quick fix, because this one is important!
__________________

__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta Marine Diesel michaelmrc Engines and Propulsion Systems 48 23-03-2016 14:44
Need some technical advice....antennas. Just a Tinch Marine Electronics 15 01-12-2007 16:57
Blue Sea Systems Technical Brief GordMay Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 16-03-2007 05:16
technical difficulties witchcraft The Sailor's Confessional 1 30-05-2005 15:09
Dow Corning Technical Manual GordMay The Library 0 12-04-2005 17:25


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:32.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.