Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-10-2017, 13:30   #2026
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 286
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Quote:
Originally Posted by did-g View Post
Fully agree, mesa llvm pipe is also used by Qt:
https://wiki.qt.io/Cross_compiling_Mesa_for_Windows

I have tested it only with wine on linux but it looks promising.
Anyone who want to test:
download from Qt site
for 32 bits opencpn.exe
http://download.qt.io/development_re...mesa_11_2_2.7z

or for 64 bits
http://download.qt.io/development_re...mesa_11_2_2.7z

unzip 7z file
rename opengl32sw.dll to opengl32.dll
copy opengl32.dll to opencpn.exe directory
start opencpn, enable openGL, double check in opencpn log file you have something like:
OpenGL-> Renderer String: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.6, 128 bits)

Should work from XP to Win 10.
Be careful if it bugs it could eat your waypoints/routes.

For you Is it? Slower than with no openGL, faster?
__________________

did-g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2017, 04:15   #2027
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK/France
Boat: Gib'Sea 402
Posts: 288
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Quote:
Originally Posted by did-g View Post
... ... ...
For you Is it? Slower than with no openGL, faster?
I've tried it on my Dell D630* and subjectively there's little difference between all the options - they're all pretty usable.

Hardware acceleration was a bit faster on raster charts, and software OpenGL was slightly faster than OpenGL off.

Vector charts it was difficult to see much difference at all. The fps for s/w OpenGL was about the same as for h/w, but of course, with Intel Express graphics a lot of Ocpn processes are inhibited due to compatibility issues.

There might be more difference on a modern machine, but thanks for setting up the test packages. The 64-bit version didn't work but the 32-bit ran just fine!

Windows Pro 64-bit
Dual Core 2.0 GHz
3Gb DDR3 Ram
250 Gb Crucial SSD
Intel 965 Graphics
__________________

hoolie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2017, 08:54   #2028
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,169
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Did-g perhaps copy the link and paste it. It works from here.
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 15:44   #2029
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,169
Re: Beta Test / Technical

did-g. I have yet to download your file and try it, but I will tonight.

I noticed you were fixing a lot of little things in Plugins. I just mention that weatherfax_pi has a slow memory leak that is not very bad, as it takes a lot of fax downloads for it to crash OpenCPN. (I mean a lot.)

However the memory use goes up with each file downloaded. Sean knows about this and says there are ways to improve the memory use..

https://github.com/seandepagnier/wea...x_pi/issues/39
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 16:54   #2030
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,169
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Dear Dig-g
I've tried the software opengl driver on a Dell XPS Inspiron 15 Intel i7-2720QM at 2.20 ghz with 8gb RAM with a 500gb Crucial SSD, 64 bit OS running Windows10

The speed appear to be about the same as my Geforce Nvidia. I am wondering if software OpenGL is working.


Opencpn.log - partial.

6:52:52 PM: Opencpn language load for: en_US
6:52:52 PM: Loading catalog for opencpn core.
6:52:52 PM: Getting DefaultSystemLocale...
6:52:52 PM: Found LanguageInfo for: English
6:52:52 PM: Opencpn language set to: en_US
6:52:55 PM: Creating MyFrame...size(1344, 729) position(-9, -9)
6:52:55 PM: Creating glChartCanvas
6:52:56 PM: Metrics: m_display_size_mm: 344 wxDisplaySize: 1920:1080
6:52:56 PM: ChartSymbols loaded from C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 4.8.0\s57data\chartsymbols.xml
6:52:56 PM: Using s57data in C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 4.8.0\s57data
6:52:56 PM: OpenGL-> Renderer String: GeForce GT 540M/PCIe/SSE2
6:52:56 PM: OpenGL-> Version reported: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 369.09
6:52:56 PM: OpenGL-> Texture rectangle format: de1
6:52:56 PM: OpenGL-> Using Vertexbuffer Objects
6:52:56 PM: OpenGL-> Using Framebuffer Objects
6:52:56 PM: OpenGL-> Using FBO Stencil buffer
6:52:56 PM: OpenGL-> Using Stencil buffer clipping
6:52:56 PM: OpenGL-> Using Scissor Clipping
6:52:56 PM: OpenGL-> Using s3tc dxt1 compression
6:52:56 PM: OpenGL-> Compressed tile size: 128kb (8:1)
6:52:56 PM: OpenGL-> Minimum cartographic line width: 1.0
6:52:56 PM: OpenGL-> Minimum symbol line width: 1.0
6:52:56 PM: ChartDB Cache policy: Application target is 1024 MBytes
6:52:56 PM: Loading chart db version: V018
6:52:56 PM: Chartdb: Chart directory list follows

under Opencpn.ini -partial

ShowCM93DetailSlider=0
SkewToNorthUp=0
OpenGL=1
SoftwareGL=0
ShowFPS=1
ZoomDetailFactor=0
FogOnOverzoom=1

Looks like I have to turn on SoftwareGL=1
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 17:06   #2031
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,169
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Tried resetting the ini for softwareGL=1 and saving it several times, then opening Opencpn with the driver dll in the opencpn.exe directory.

log still shows
7:29:15 PM: OpenGL-> Renderer String: GeForce GT 540M/PCIe/SSE2
7:29:15 PM: OpenGL-> Version reported: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 369.09

How would you get this into software mode?
Should I disable the NVidia program that selects which chipset to use (Nvidia or built-in Intel HD Graphics board?)
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 18:21   #2032
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,430
Re: Beta Test / Technical

I believe software GL option is only available on Linux, Android and MacOS. It is not available on Windows. For Windows you may want to consider a software GL dll like llvmpipe.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 18:21   #2033
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 286
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Tried resetting the ini for softwareGL=1 and saving it several times, then opening Opencpn with the driver dll in the opencpn.exe directory.

log still shows
7:29:15 PM: OpenGL-> Renderer String: GeForce GT 540M/PCIe/SSE2
7:29:15 PM: OpenGL-> Version reported: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 369.09

How would you get this into software mode?
Should I disable the NVidia program that selects which chipset to use (Nvidia or built-in Intel HD Graphics board?)
Hi,
I'm rather clueless with windows, never really used it but:

- Did you copy opengl32sw.dll in the opencpn.exe directory an rename it to opengl32.dll?

- Are you sure you're actually running Opencpn from this directory?

Currently softwareGL=1 as no effect with windows, if opengl.dll is in the same directory it should be used, maybe NVidia as some trick for overriding this behavior, I don't know.
Thanks for testing anyway.

PS
I'll have a look at weatherfax.
did-g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 04:33   #2034
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,169
Graphics Testing - Dell Inspiron XPS 15 L502x

Baseline Testing - No Software OpenGL

Graphics Intel HD Graphics 3000 (Integrated) using a current driver for this board Driver 9.17.10.4459 5/19/2016

6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> Renderer String: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000
6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> Version reported: 3.1.0 - Build 9.17.10.4459
6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> Detected Intel renderer, disabling stencil buffer
6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> Texture rectangle format: de1
6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> glGenerateMipmap unavailable
6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> Detected Windows Intel renderer, disabling Vertexbuffer Objects
6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> Vertexbuffer Objects unavailable
6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> Using Framebuffer Objects
6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> Using FBO Stencil buffer
6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> Using Depth buffer clipping
6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> Using s3tc dxt1 compression
6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> Compressed tile size: 128kb (8:1)
6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> Minimum cartographic line width: 1.0
6:32:22 AM: OpenGL-> Minimum symbol line width: 1.0
6:32:22 AM: ChartDB Cache policy: Application target is 1024 MBytes
6:32:22 AM: Loading chart db version: V018
6:32:22 AM: Chartdb: Chart directory list follows

OpenCPN 4.8.0 With OpenGL enabled and having done a full DB Scan, checked Use Accelerated Graphics (OpenGL), Texture Mapping Enabled using about 550 mb.

Having set the Intel HD Graphics 3000 to be used globally in the NVidia Graphics Program (right click on the screen and pick Nvidia Graphics Program).

OpenCPN 4.8.0 with Intel HD Graphics 3000 with OpenGL & Texture Mapping.
ENC - 2 to 5 fps - Almost unusable.
RNC - says 27 fps - But it is very very slow too. Certainly not 27 fps, more like the same speed as ENC.
Texture Mapping is on and it seems to work. I also tried it turned off but there is no visible change.

OpenCPN 4.8.0 with Intel HD Graphics 3000 No OpenGL & No Texture Mapping.
ENC - Usable, but slow. Wheel zoom acceptable, pan acceptable, map buttons good.
RNC - Even better, not quite as slow. Smoother than ENC w/o opengl.

I would say the Intel HD Graphics 3000 driver I am using really does not work right. I have not checked if there is an update.

The next post will be using the NVIDIA Geforce
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 04:40   #2035
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,169
Checking opengl32.dll

Did you copy opengl32sw.dll in the opencpn.exe directory an rename it to opengl32.dll? - Yes

Are you sure you're actually running Opencpn from this directory? - Yes, using the OpenCPN 4.8.0 directory.

Currently softwareGL=1 as no effect with windows - Ok

It appears that the Nvidia Program may be interfering, maybe I can select Opengl32.dll for Opencpn 4.8.0.
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 05:02   #2036
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,169
Tried using the Intel Graphics Program to set OpenGL software

It loaded the Intel Graphics Opengl instead.

7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> Renderer String: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000
7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> Version reported: 3.1.0 - Build 9.17.10.4459
7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> Detected Intel renderer, disabling stencil buffer
7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> Texture rectangle format: de1
7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> glGenerateMipmap unavailable
7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> Detected Windows Intel renderer, disabling Vertexbuffer Objects
7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> Vertexbuffer Objects unavailable
7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> Using Framebuffer Objects
7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> Using FBO Stencil buffer
7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> Using Depth buffer clipping
7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> Using s3tc dxt1 compression
7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> Compressed tile size: 128kb (8:1)
7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> Minimum cartographic line width: 1.0
7:56:57 AM: OpenGL-> Minimum symbol line width: 1.0
7:57:32 AM: Initializing Chart C:\Data-Dart\Chart\USrnc\CG-01\5161\5161_1.KAP

Maybe I have to set Intel graphics program NOT to use any OpenGL first, somehow. Then enable OpenGL in OpenCPN.

Hey, Now Intel HD Graphics 3000 OpenGL is WORKING properly!
It is very usable. I guess you must get it started by using the Intel Graphics program in Advanced Mode, (I saved the settings), exited and then started OpenCPN and turned on OpenGL.

RNC - Smooth and Speedy using the entire USCG Region 01 20-110 FPS busy circle disappears faster.
ENC - Smooth and Speedy using the entire USCG Region 01 5-64 FPS some hesitation from large scales to smaller. Not as good as NVIDIA Geforce

It is nice to know that HD Graphics 3000 is actually VERY usable. It just has to be kick started by opening the Intel Graphics program, picking Advanced and saving settings I think. Then maybe reboot and start OpenCPN!

The integrated INtel HD Graphics 3000 are Not quite as fast as my Nvidia Geforce 540m adapter.

---Bdbcat -- There's your answer.
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 05:29   #2037
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,169
Intel HD Graphics 3000 Program - Turn off features

Tried to turn off Intel HD Graphics features in particular OpenGL so the Software OpenGL would be used.
3D preferences set to "Quallity"
Application Optimal Mode is unchecked.
There does not seem to be a way to turn off OpenGL.

OpenCPN Log still shows

8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> Renderer String: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000
8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> Version reported: 3.1.0 - Build 9.17.10.4459
8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> Detected Intel renderer, disabling stencil buffer
8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> Texture rectangle format: de1
8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> glGenerateMipmap unavailable
8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> Detected Windows Intel renderer, disabling Vertexbuffer Objects
8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> Vertexbuffer Objects unavailable
8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> Using Framebuffer Objects
8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> Using FBO Stencil buffer
8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> Using Depth buffer clipping
8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> Using s3tc dxt1 compression
8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> Compressed tile size: 128kb (8:1)
8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> Minimum cartographic line width: 1.0
8:19:46 AM: OpenGL-> Minimum symbol line width: 1.0

RNC is still very good.
ENC is slow in zooming in, stuck on 1 FPS for awhile with spinner going. Then when in closer it works fine.
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 06:17   #2038
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,169
Turn off Hardware OpenGL (using Integrated Intel HD Graphics 3000)

I've tried searching Windows 10 Settings for "Opengl" and "Graphics" and I am just directed to the Intel HD Graphics Program (properties) where there appears to be no way to control use of opengl.

Intel HD 3000 drivers support OpenGL 3.1 (from Intel website)

I will change over to using my Nvidia Geforce Adapter which is faster and see if this is a feature selection in their software.

This is in order to use Did-g's opengl32.dll Software OpenGL with OpenCPN 4.8.0.

Anyone have any ideas how to do this?
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 06:33   #2039
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 286
Re: Turn off Hardware OpenGL (using Integrated Intel HD Graphics 3000)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
I've tried searching Windows 10 Settings for "Opengl" and "Graphics" and I am just directed to the Intel HD Graphics Program (properties) where there appears to be no way to control use of opengl.

Intel HD 3000 drivers support OpenGL 3.1 (from Intel website)

I will change over to using my Nvidia Geforce Adapter which is faster and see if this is a feature selection in their software.

This is in order to use Did-g's opengl32.dll Software OpenGL with OpenCPN 4.8.0.

Anyone have any ideas how to do this?
Hi,
I will look at how Qt do it and try to build an openCPN version with appveyor
did-g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 07:28   #2040
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,169
Change to Nvidia graphics

Log File after changing graphics cards.

9:42:54 AM: OpenGL-> Renderer String: GeForce GT 540M/PCIe/SSE2
9:42:54 AM: OpenGL-> Version reported: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 369.09
9:42:54 AM: OpenGL-> Texture rectangle format: de1
9:42:54 AM: OpenGL-> Using Vertexbuffer Objects
9:42:54 AM: OpenGL-> Using Framebuffer Objects
9:42:54 AM: OpenGL-> Using FBO Stencil buffer
9:42:54 AM: OpenGL-> Using Stencil buffer clipping
9:42:54 AM: OpenGL-> Using Scissor Clipping
9:42:54 AM: OpenGL-> Using s3tc dxt1 compression
9:42:54 AM: OpenGL-> Compressed tile size: 128kb (8:1)
9:42:54 AM: OpenGL-> Minimum cartographic line width: 1.0
9:42:54 AM: OpenGL-> Minimum symbol line width: 1.0
9:42:54 AM: ChartDB Cache policy: Application target is 1024 MBytes
9:42:54 AM: Loading chart db version: V018

Opengl enabled in OpenCPN and using hardware opengl of Nvidia board.

RNC - Fast and smooth 15 - 100 FPS Excellent.
ENC - Fast and smooth Sometimes 1-7 fps when starting to zoom in, with spinner for a bit, then gains momentum and becomes fast and smooth at smaller scales. Normally zooms at 30-75 FPS, Excellent.

Using Texture map too.. Have done the "Prepare ENC" way earlier so all the SENC files should be there. Also when I checked the Texture Mapping, there was a whole process that started that I had not seen where the map was being created. I let it run until it was about 2000 miles away and then stopped it. It is about 550 mb.

I have a lot of charts in this config, but I use smaller chart groups, these chart groups are just the USCG Region 01 for RNC and another for ENC.

Nvidia Geforce is definitely preferred for speed and smoothness.
__________________

rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta Marine Diesel michaelmrc Engines and Propulsion Systems 48 23-03-2016 13:44
Need some technical advice....antennas. Just a Tinch Marine Electronics 15 01-12-2007 15:57
Blue Sea Systems Technical Brief GordMay Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 16-03-2007 04:16
technical difficulties witchcraft The Sailor's Confessional 1 30-05-2005 14:09
Dow Corning Technical Manual GordMay The Library 0 12-04-2005 16:25



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.