Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2016, 08:35   #1846

Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Hakan & Dave I'll git and try later, but is this improvement going to need changes in the documentation? Thanks..
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 08:53   #1847

Boat: Najad 34

Rick
There a new button to reset any user's "playing" with different options back to Mariner's standard, so that may be described in the options-vector charts wiki.
Håkan
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 10:03   #1848

Boat: Valiant 42

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailor121 View Post
Hello all,

I'm a plugin developer in need of some assistance! I have all opencpn compiled using linux as is instructed in the guide Compiling - Linux | Official OpenCPN Homepage

I'm not sure why, but I have no maps. No charts. No ability to get maps or charts as they are normally downloaded with Chart Downloader. I've provided a screenshot. I don't even have land masses! Does anyone know why this might be? My hunch is that this is a directory dependency issue, so I tried placing my Charts directory in the OpenCPN directory created from the git clone and recompiled with negative results.

Any thoughts? Help is always appreciated!

Read the web site for developers. You have to manually download the world shape files (GSHHS). There is where the world shapes are kept. They are not in github opencpn repository.

You have to build and install the chart downloaded plugin. If you don't want to do that you can download charts from US NOAA web site and install them manually. Read the users guide for instructions.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 12:23   #1849