Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-06-2012, 07:29   #46
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

Dotdun/George....

I think it is a bug. Seems like an internal race condition between the NMEA input port setup, and the A/P output port setup. Never seen before.

I'll look into it.

Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2012, 23:04   #47
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 298
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

Great Dave, Thanks. It was quit a hassle to get it clear, and I'm happy with the support I got to find it and mark it as a bug.

If there is anything you would me to test on this one, please let me know. Still have 2.5.0 and 3.0 installed on my Windows7 laptop.

George
__________________

__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 23:43   #48
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chehalis WA
Boat: Westsail 32
Posts: 11
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

I have been trying to get my autopilot to follow a route from OpenCPN also and have not had any luck. In going through the log file I discovered a similar failure ... Here is a log file:


13:00:46: 2012-08-09
13:00:46: -------Starting opencpn-------
13:00:46: Version 3.0.2 Build 2012-07-07
13:00:46: MemoryStatus: mem_total: 4028 mb, mem_initial: 8 mb
13:00:46: SData_Locn is C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\
13:00:47: Using existing Config_File: C:\ProgramData\opencpn\opencpn.ini
13:00:47: Setting Viewpoint Lat/Lon 47.8542, -122.342
13:00:47: Setting Ownship Lat/Lon 47.9989, -122.223
13:00:47: System default Language: en_US
1:00:47 PM: Opencpn language set to: en_US
1:00:47 PM: ChartSymbols loaded from C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\s57data\chartsymbols.xml
1:00:48 PM: Using s57data in C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\s57data
1:00:48 PM: Setting Viewpoint Lat/Lon 47.8542, -122.342
1:00:48 PM: Setting Ownship Lat/Lon 47.9989, -122.223
1:00:48 PM: NMEA Data Source is....Serial:COM3
1:00:48 PM: AIS Data Source is....Serial:COM4
1:00:48 PM: OpenPD: 320, new_count = 1 for COM3
1:00:49 PM: Using WVSChart datafile: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\wvsdata\wvs43.dat
1:00:49 PM: NMEA AutoPilot Port is....Serial:COM4
1:00:49 PM: Autopilot output device open failed: COM4
1:00:49 PM: PlugInManager searching for PlugIns in location C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\plugins
1:00:49 PM: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\plugins/dashboard_pi.dll
1:00:49 PM: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\plugins/dashboard_pi.dll Version detected: 106
1:00:49 PM: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\plugins/grib_pi.dll
1:00:49 PM: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\plugins/grib_pi.dll Version detected: 107
1:00:49 PM: ChartDB Cache policy: Application target is 1024 MBytes
1:00:49 PM: Loading chart db version: V016
1:00:49 PM: Chartdb: Chart directory list follows
1:00:49 PM: Chart directory #0: C:\Users\Steve\Documents\charts
1:00:49 PM: GPS Watchdog Timeout is: 6 sec.
1:00:49 PM: Initializing Chart C:\Users\Steve\Documents\charts\18440\18440_1.KAP
1:00:49 PM: Initializing Chart C:\Users\Steve\Documents\charts\501\BSB_ROOT\501\5 01_1.KAP
1:00:50 PM: LOGBOOK: 2012-08-09 20:00:50 UTC DR Lat 47.99890 Lon -122.22310
1:01:10 PM: EnumerateSerialPorts() Found Garmin USB Driver.
1:01:21 PM: opencpn::MyFrame exiting cleanly.
1:01:22 PM: Chart cache purge
1:01:22 PM: PlugInManager: UnLoading PlugIn: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\plugins/dashboard_pi.dll
1:01:22 PM: PlugInManager: UnLoading PlugIn: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\plugins/grib_pi.dll
1:01:22 PM: Stopping Secondary Thread
1:01:22 PM: ClosePD: 320, count_after_close = 0 for COM3
1:01:22 PM: and so CloseComPortPhysical
1:01:23 PM: Stopped in 1 sec.
1:01:23 PM: Stopping AIS Secondary Thread
1:01:25 PM: Stopped in 2 sec.
1:01:25 PM: Chart cache purge
1:01:25 PM: LOGBOOK: 2012-08-09 20:01:25 UTC OFF: Lat 47.99890 Lon -122.22310
1:01:25 PM: opencpn::MyApp exiting cleanly...


I use a usb bu-353 puck gps.

Ais input is from VHF radio through usb to serial connection.

It seems to input nmea data through the serial cable, should it output data through the same cable? (Different pin of course!)

I have tried every imaginable wiring combination with no luck!

Is this a related problem or do I have something else wrong?


Thanks for the support of a great program.

Thanks, Steve
__________________
Tinman 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 10:06   #49
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: Autopilot Output Device Open Failed

Steve...
Your problem is that you obviously try to send the data for the autopilot to your AIS/VHF. Is it what you want to do?

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2012, 10:05   #50
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chehalis WA
Boat: Westsail 32
Posts: 11
Re: Autopilot Output Device Open Failed

I was hoping I could use the same usb-serial connection to output to the autopilot. The AIS is inputting to the computer OR the computer is outputting to the autopilot, I can make either of them work... Just not both at the same time!
I seem to remember reading somewhere that GPS and autopilot could only be on com 3... Is this correct? If so it would not be possible to have both a usb-GPS and a autopilot connected at the same time correct?

Thanks, Steve
__________________
Tinman 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2012, 01:12   #51
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 298
Re: Autopilot Output Device Open Failed

Steve,

How many usb-ports you have on your laptop? The setup that might work for you, selelct the usb port that has the AIS connected to, select AIS shared in the gps setting and select your other usb port for the autopilot.

George
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2012, 03:23   #52
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: Autopilot Output Device Open Failed

Steve...
GPS, AIS or autopilot can be on any COM port and can be connected at the same time. What currently can't be done is having AIS and autopilot on the same port. It would also usually make little sense as AIS is running at 38400 bauds while autopilots usually want 4800. Having a USB GPS puck and autopilot on the same port is also hardly imaginable as you would not be able to do the wiring (the USB to serial converter is integrated into the GPS puck). In your situation, the solution probably is to get another USB to serial converter/cable (and in case there are not enough USB ports on your machine also an external USB hub) to connect to the autopilot.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2012, 08:00   #53
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chehalis WA
Boat: Westsail 32
Posts: 11
Re: Autopilot Output Device Open Failed

Thanks Pavel, The more i research this I think you have found the solution. I was hoping to only use one serial > usb cord but if this works it will be fine!

Steve
__________________

__________________
Tinman 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.