Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2015, 23:14   #1

APRS Plugin Development

First off, I'm new to the forum, and this is my first post. My name is Tyrell, KD7KUJ, and I'm a beginning Python developer. I have a background in Geographic Information Systems (GIS), and am training for the leap into web application development.

As part of an educational project, I am interested in building a proper plugin for APRS (Automatic Packet Reporting Service, similar to AIS but for amateur radio operators). For my purposes, "Proper" means support for the various Kenwood and AvMap sentences supported by the Kenwood series of APRS radios and the AvMap G5 and G6 APRS models. This will largely "solve" the problem of having to treat WPL sentences as EITHER static waypoints, or as dynamic, updatable ones...

Anyway, those are my goals... But I only speak Python, PHP, and JavaScript... So I would like to program my plugin in wxPython, and I will largely base myself off of functions from DIXPRS (https://sites.google.com/site/dixprs/), which is nothing if not a decent start at APRS support on Python.

I will be decoding an APRS stream (From a TNC and/or from APRS-IS), parsing it into currently unsupported proprietary sentences ($PAVP* and $PKWD*), plotting them on the chart display, and then forwarding them to OpenCPN's NMEA stream, where they can be sorted and sent off to a connected G6. I would also like to support messaging on the AvMap G6 as well, so I will need to be able to read FROM the NMEA stream, parse the NMEA sentences ($PAVP*) into APRS messages, and send them off to the air or APRS-IS interfaces.

Here's my question: What's the best way for me to connect with the NMEA stream?