Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-02-2015, 11:00   #1
Registered User
 
jhnhll's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mandeville LA
Boat: Cheoy Lee 33 Ketch
Posts: 44
Aismon to open cpn

I have been fighting with this for several days now. So I have come to the higher powers for help. I have SDR# then VItual cables to aismon. That all shows fine. Aismon is registering good hits in the 98% range. Output on aismon is UDP iport 127.0.0.1:10110 open cpn has UDP address 127.0.0.1 data port 10110. I have tried clicking on the ais icon in the toolbar to toggle on and off but still no results. Any help with what I've missed will be appreciated. Thanks John


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
John
S/v Providence
jhnhll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 10:42   #2
Registered User
 
jhnhll's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mandeville LA
Boat: Cheoy Lee 33 Ketch
Posts: 44
Re: Aismon to open cpn

So after even more searches today am I correct that using the method I described above will not work unless connected to the internet?? If anybody has any ideas I could sure use one. Thanks again John

1976 Cheoy Lee
33 Ketch
Mandeville Louisiana
__________________

__________________
John
S/v Providence
jhnhll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 11:41   #3
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,769
Re: Aismon to open cpn

John,

can you post a screen shot of your communication settings (OCPN|Options|connections) ?
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 15:16   #4
Registered User
 
jhnhll's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mandeville LA
Boat: Cheoy Lee 33 Ketch
Posts: 44
Re: Aismon to open cpn

BCN
I got the two to communicate when I tethered my phone as a hotspot. So after looking for a while longer I'm now trying to set up a virtual com port between the two so Internet is not required. So if anyone has suggestions I'm open.

Closer but not there yet.
Thanks
John


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
John
S/v Providence
jhnhll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 23:10   #5
Registered User
 
HotRod's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SW Norway
Boat: Nidelv 28, 28ft
Posts: 243
Send a message via MSN to HotRod Send a message via Skype™ to HotRod
Re: Aismon to open cpn

Setup a virtual network card with fixed IP so that it registers as UP (connected) and set aismon to output on that.
Set OCPN to listen to that same IP and port or even localhost:your_port_number.

I guess whan you use 127.0.0.1 it's not physically connected to a router and then not registered as UP (connected). Then 127.0.0.1 would not work as loopback. Maybe setting fixed IP on this would work? That I don't know.

Hope this helps you.
__________________
Best Regards
OpenCPN Norge - Norwegian OpenCPN community
Frode
HotRod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 09:19   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,968
Re: Aismon to open cpn

All..
For internal UDP-network communication in Windows I use these methods:

Within one PC: (When not connected to any network)
Sender:
IP:127.0.0.1 / 10110 (Don't forget to uncheck "Receive data on this port" and check "Send data...")
Receiver(s):
IP: 0.0.0.0 / 10110

When connected to a local net and you want all machines to receive:
Sender:
IP:192.168.x.x / 10110 (Don't forget to uncheck "Receive data on this port and check "Send data..." And, yes...use the letter "x")
Receiver(s):
IP: 0.0.0.0 / 10110

Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 02:54   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 374
Re: Aismon to open cpn

Caveats are that I don't really do Windows, I don't know AISmon and due to the combination of a recent disc calamity and being at the end of my data plan until the new "month" starts in a few days, I don't currently have the OpenCPN source. But...

If using OpenCPN 4.0 and AISmon is sending data to 127.0.0.1, udp port 10110 on the data connections screen you'd want:
Connection type "Network"
Protocol UDP
Address: 0.0.0.0
DataPort 10110
Priority (unless you have other AIS sources, doesn't matter)
Checksum: Yes if AISmon correctly outputs this
Check "Receive input on this port" (should be default) and don't check "Output on this port" (unchecked should be default).

IIRC (see "don't have source", above :-) whatever you put for address, OpenCPN will *receive* on all addresses for all interfaces it listens on so best to make that explicit with the wildcard "0.0.0.0")

With the "I don't know much about windows" caveat applied (so "generally speaking"), you should be able to send to a loopback interface if an external interface is down. If Windows can't do that I'd find it "surprising". If you can send when the external interface is up I'd be questioning where AISmon is really sending the traffic. In many unix-y OSes it's possible for a privileged application to override the routing table and send via a particular interface but (a) that's network-fu people don't generally do and (b) there's no *need* for it here. Remember, OpenCPN will receive on any address it listens for (i.e. all its interface addresses and all broadcast addresses) so just because you put "127.0.0.1" into the box doesn't mean that's what the data is being sent to when it successfully receives.

I'd normally attack the problem with wireshark: see what's being sent on the loopback interface and see what's being sent on the external interface when tethered, but that's a bit too involved for many people. Got a pointer to the documentation for AISmon? A bit of googling didn't turn it up for me
__________________

__________________
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, open cpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Improved GNUAIS (AISMON for Linux) hackoon OpenCPN 24 14-07-2013 09:34
Open CPN wont open BONEY MAHONEY OpenCPN 3 26-07-2012 22:08
Open CPN Works Initially But Then Will Not Open GrahamW OpenCPN 4 25-01-2012 05:57
Open cpn Installs but Does Not Open with Vista 64 bit felipe OpenCPN 3 03-06-2011 13:23



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:07.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.