Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-04-2016, 00:39   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 16
AIS target size icon

Once the AIS target size shows up, can OpenCPN display the relative size of that target on the chart? At the moment, my tug looks like it's the same size as the ship we're next to.

__________________

__________________
mrdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2016, 02:39   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: AIS target size icon

mrdrew...
Yes, AIS targets real size are shown if:
- You've checked the option, see: Options Setting | Official OpenCPN Homepage
- AIS message for the ship is received >> ships symbol is dark green. (And the ships master has filled all data in his AIS, as in your example )
- Your chart scale is down to a level where a ship size is relevant.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AIS_ship_options.PNG
Views:	83
Size:	31.2 KB
ID:	123265  
__________________

__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2016, 10:18   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 16
Re: AIS target size icon

Excellent, that appears to be what I need, but it's not working yet...




We're getting there. Thank you for the prompt reply!

My setting so far
__________________
mrdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2016, 10:36   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: AIS target size icon

Have you tried to zoom in enough?
Something only 50 to 100 meters long has to use at least a couple of centimeters on screen before it's meaningful to show.
The scale on your picture is around 25000. Try 7000 or less and it will surely work fine.
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2016, 12:32   #5
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,751
Re: AIS target size icon

And we have a bug here:
At UserInterface, Tabled Scaled Graphic Interface the Chart Scaled Object slider will draw the vessels at different sizes - not the idea..
Scale at -2 (wrong), 0 (ok), +3 (wrong)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-04-28 20_23_27-scaling-2.png
Views:	55
Size:	68.6 KB
ID:	123320   Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-04-28 20_23_27-scaling-0.png
Views:	55
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	123321  

Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-04-28 20_23_27-scaling+3.png
Views:	66
Size:	100.9 KB
ID:	123322  
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2016, 16:07   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: AIS target size icon

Yes, known issue, I have fixed this bug a few weeks ago, will be in 4.2.2

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2016, 09:55   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 16
Re: AIS target size icon

This might turn into a Feature Request. We'll see.

It appears that the behavior of "Show AIS targets real size" is to super impose a wire frame over the default AIS green triangle. This wire frame disappears at different zoom levels, depending on the size of the ship. I like that it's sensitive to larger vessels being more visible at different zoom levels, but wouldn't it simply be easier to change the size of the green triangle? And do so at all zoom levels? With a minimum size so they don't disappear when zoomed way out.?

15700 zoom, neither have wireframe


7850 zoome, large ship has wireframe, smaller tug does not


zoom 1950 both have wireframe




A different nav program doing full color triangles
__________________
mrdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2016, 10:26   #8
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,751
Re: AIS target size icon

Personally I like the wireframe better as it gives an idea if the antenna offsets are correct and thus the drawn target.
As the static data are often awfully wrong having a sanity check is perhaps not that bad.

Another question is if the frames should kick in a bit earlier. But this is really a matter of taste, I fear.

Hubert
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2016, 10:28   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 16
Re: AIS target size icon

Ya, I can see that for sure. How about a couple of check boxes in Config>Ships>AIS Targets>Display for:
  • <>fill wireframe
    [**]<>all zoom levels

?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bcn View Post
Personally I like the wireframe better as it gives an idea if the antenna offsets are correct and thus the drawn target.
As the static data are often awfully wrong having a sanity check is perhaps not that bad.

Another question is if the frames should kick in a bit earlier. But this is really a matter of taste, I fear.

Hubert
__________________
mrdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2016, 11:00   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: AIS target size icon

My view:
I agree on Hubert's view and is fully satisfied with the wire frame. Also that it sometimes could appear earlier while zooming in.
But, of course, if the proposed option is created - very fine with me.
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2016, 15:23   #11
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,311
Re: AIS target size icon

Two edged sword, particularly in dense AIS areas. That is why we have "Attenuate less critical targets"
Quote:
but wouldn't it simply be easier to change the size of the green triangle? And do so at all zoom levels? With a minimum size so they don't disappear when zoomed way out.?
__________________

__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, size

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS target list window does not appear Gaia2013 OpenCPN 2 06-05-2013 11:00
Virtual AIS target useris OpenCPN 0 06-04-2013 13:51
Maxsea 10.3.2.1 does not display AIS Class B target names svBeBe Marine Electronics 7 17-03-2013 09:59
OpenCPN v2.5.0 Unable to Display AIS Target Query Window jsavage Navigation 4 28-11-2011 01:35
AIS Target Mouseover Data idpnd OpenCPN 11 18-06-2010 04:34



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:57.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.