Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2010, 14:12   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: denmark
Boat: jeanneau 40.3 dolphin
Posts: 12
Images: 2
AIS / PC

Does anyone know how I get my Easy AIS connected to my computer. I have an E85001 Interface box which comes Seatalk in and RS232 to computer and from computer to NMEA in the box. Then there is only one NMEA out free. At AIS NMEA NMEA in and out. How should I connect it so it works on my computer along with the CPN-Open? I assume that NMEA in from AIS connected to NMEA out of the box. But where should NMEA out from AIS connected.
__________________

__________________
danamatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 11:16   #2
Registered User
 
BluegillBoy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago summers, gulf during winters
Boat: Endeavour TrawlerCat 36 - My Bluegill Heaven
Posts: 158
I've not used that particular model, but in general try this.

first off, you may have the manual, but it can be downloaded at:
http://www.easyais.de/files/product_...ais_manual.pdf
and
http://www.easyais.de/files/product_...man_en_ais.pdf
(download both, they're a bit different in their approaches)

if all you're trying to do is hook the EasyAIS up to your computer, i think you just need to connect the RS232 (serial) from interface box to computer serial port. if you don't have a serial port on your computer, use a USB to serial adapter. $10 - $20 cheap.

a simpler method would be to follow the manual and wire the 2 designated wires from the RJ45 plus to a serial DB-9 plug and don't use the interface box.

if you're using the interface box becaus it brings GPS coordinates in, odds are they'll also be sent to your computer through the RS232.

or, like i do, hook up a USB or serial GPS directly to the computer. OpenCPN accepts and merges the two signals, or takes them both from one signal. settings are in Tools.

if this and the manual doesn't help, let me know. glad to advise - if i can.
__________________

__________________
BluegillBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 14:01   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: denmark
Boat: jeanneau 40.3 dolphin
Posts: 12
Images: 2
Thank you for your answer. Does it mean, If I put en USB GPS til USB on the computer, og AIS to another USB via seriel converter, connect GPS and VHF antenne to AIS, so
it should work.
__________________
danamatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 19:08   #4
Registered User
 
BluegillBoy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago summers, gulf during winters
Boat: Endeavour TrawlerCat 36 - My Bluegill Heaven
Posts: 158
if i understand you correctly, you would either connect a USB GPS to the computer OR connect a NEMA GPS to the EasyAIS. not both.

and yes, i believe that would work.

let me know how it turns out?
__________________
BluegillBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 19:25   #5
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Set the bauds at the PC side right. They are often (always?) the fast bauds at the AIS machine (30k plus).

If you are on NMEA then there can be only one TALKER - you cannot use both (AIS and GPS) on the same PC port. Many AIS machines offer the option of taking in the GPS signal and then forwarding it multiplexed with AIS data to the PC thru the NMEA out port. Thus, if your AIS machine has a NMEA in connector, try plugging your GPS into it and its signal should come out (together with AIS data) on the NMEA out port.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 19:57   #6
Registered User
 
BluegillBoy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago summers, gulf during winters
Boat: Endeavour TrawlerCat 36 - My Bluegill Heaven
Posts: 158
correct. only one input through one port.

many AIS units can combine an external GPS input with its own AIS signal and multiplex that into a PC.

but don't forget that the PC can accept multiple inputs and combine them. my setup is a GPS AND an AIS both giving input to the PC - through different ports of course. One through a USB port and one through a serial port.

there are many options for connections. so pick what works for you.
__________________
BluegillBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 03:05   #7
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Quote:
Originally Posted by danamatic View Post
Does anyone know how I get my Easy AIS connected to my computer. I have an E85001 Interface box which comes Seatalk in and RS232 to computer and from computer to NMEA in the box. Then there is only one NMEA out free. At AIS NMEA NMEA in and out. How should I connect it so it works on my computer along with the CPN-Open? I assume that NMEA in from AIS connected to NMEA out of the box. But where should NMEA out from AIS connected.
Unfortunately the E85001 Seatalk/NMEA interface box only works with NMEA 0183 @ 4800 baud.

AIS uses 38400 baud so you will need a dedicated COM port to connect your AIS receiver to PC. A readily available USB/COM port adapter can provide such.

Open_CPN can then be configured to receive AIS from this second COM port.
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 13:02   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: denmark
Boat: jeanneau 40.3 dolphin
Posts: 12
Images: 2
Thank you all for your help. Next friday i go to Makkum in NL to sail a Bavaria 41 home to Copenhagen - Denmark so it would be nice to have AIS because there is no radar on board. I give respons when we get home.
__________________
danamatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 17:49   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 32
Hi Danamatic,

We have this exact setup.

The way we have it wired is as follows:

Seatalk bridge NMEA out -> Easy AIS NMEA in

Easy AIS NMEA out set to 'Fast NMEA' (to merge instrument GPS sentences and AIS ones).

Easy AIS NMEA out (fast) -> PC via a USB/serial converter.

This gets all you instrument and AIS data coming in to the PC on one fast feed.

There are further tweaks possible to allow slow NMEA data sending either from the PC into Seatalk (if you want OpenCPN to run your routes for you instead of an instrument on the Seatalk bus, or an other GPS), or if you want to send NMEA waypoint and route details to a Raymarine plotter, but those are not strictly necessary. Just the above will do.

Regards,

Mike
__________________

__________________
bluearcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can You Get Radar & AIS Overlay on Laptop ? AIS Transceiver Recommendations ? lunasea.ds Marine Electronics 22 27-12-2010 14:06
AIS ? Liam Wald Marine Electronics 13 19-01-2010 05:31
Who should have AIS B? sandy daugherty Marine Electronics 37 08-11-2008 02:56
Best AIS? mestrezat Marine Electronics 6 13-11-2007 21:06
Not new at all! AIS... Amgine Marine Electronics 1 03-12-2006 12:39



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:38.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.