Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-08-2014, 16:17   #1
Registered User
 
Albro359's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elyse is in Fiji
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 2000
Posts: 510
AIS - no data in OCPN

I am running OpenCPN 3.2.2 with a GPS and an AIS connected via serial ports.
The Gps on Com 16 is working fine but the AIS on Com 29 doesn't.
I know the AIS is outputting data on Com 29 as I have an independent AIS monitor program on my laptop that recieves all the data and displays the targets.
When I look at the NMEA monitor in CPN all I see is Com16 data, no Com 29 data.
The baud rate is correct, setup o'wise is the same as for Com 16....
I can;t figure out why CPN doesn;t see the data ?

Anyone got any ideas ???

Cheers
Alan
Vuda Pt, FIJI
__________________

__________________
See you out there ....... Alan S.V. Elyse
now http://svelyse.weebly.com
older http://voyagesofDIVA.weebly.com
Albro359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2014, 17:09   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: AIS - no data in OCPN

Alan...

Please verify and post a screenshot of
options->connections->show NMEA debug window

Thanks
Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2014, 17:42   #3
Registered User
 
Albro359's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elyse is in Fiji
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 2000
Posts: 510
Re: AIS - no data in OCPN

Dave,
As attached...
Cheers
Alan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cpnscreenshot.JPG
Views:	106
Size:	179.5 KB
ID:	86812  
__________________
See you out there ....... Alan S.V. Elyse
now http://svelyse.weebly.com
older http://voyagesofDIVA.weebly.com
Albro359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2014, 17:58   #4
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Neptune's Gear's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Gulf Harbour, New Zealand
Boat: Farr Phase 4, 12.8m
Posts: 992
Re: AIS - no data in OCPN

You cannot normally share a comm port between apps (there are ways around this) - so close the other app and try again...
__________________
Matt Paulin
Neptunes Gear Ltd
www.neptunes-gear.com
Neptune's Gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2014, 18:23   #5
Registered User
 
Albro359's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elyse is in Fiji
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 2000
Posts: 510
Re: AIS - no data in OCPN

The other app isn't running...still the same.
BUT...I removed the port in connections,
Closed down OCPN
Opened OCPN and add the port
AND now its working !!

So, dunno.....computer quirk with comm ports I suppose.

Thanks for your quick responses

Cheers
Alan
__________________
See you out there ....... Alan S.V. Elyse
now http://svelyse.weebly.com
older http://voyagesofDIVA.weebly.com
Albro359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS and GPS Connections to OCPN PNWBoater OpenCPN 8 13-04-2015 09:08
AIS SR162 Receiver Not Working With OCPN? sinbad7 OpenCPN 10 09-07-2014 10:02
AIS - RADAR on OCPN dinajui OpenCPN 1 11-02-2013 07:25
No GPS data even though data stream window ... Netsurfer OpenCPN 10 09-06-2011 05:41
AIS Target Mouseover Data idpnd OpenCPN 11 18-06-2010 04:34



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:13.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.