Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2015, 15:09   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
AIS (again)???

It's been a while since I've either used Open CPN, or been here. Is it still quite difficult/complicated to use OCPN for AIS?
__________________

__________________
dougal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 15:17   #2
Registered User
 
AISEAG's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dahouet (Brittany)
Boat: BENETEAU
Posts: 407
Re: AIS (again)???

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougal View Post
It's been a while since I've either used Open CPN, or been here. Is it still quite difficult/complicated to use OCPN for AIS?
Hi Dougal,

Yoou need to be more precise.

In which way is it difficult to use AIS with OpenCPN ?

What is your configuration ?

Serge
__________________

__________________
AISEAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 15:32   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,248
Re: AIS (again)???

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougal View Post
It's been a while since I've either used Open CPN, or been here. Is it still quite difficult/complicated to use OCPN for AIS?
The way data connections, including AIS, are treated in OpenCPN has changed a lot in the last couple of years. So I think it's worth your time to look into it again.
Have a look here --> Data Connections | Official OpenCPN Homepage
Here is how AIS works in OpenCPN --> AIS | Official OpenCPN Homepage
What do you think?

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 04:39   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 23
Re: AIS (again)???

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
The way data connections, including AIS, are treated in OpenCPN has changed a lot in the last couple of years. So I think it's worth your time to look into it again.
Have a look here --> Data Connections | Official OpenCPN Homepage
Here is how AIS works in OpenCPN --> AIS | Official OpenCPN Homepage
What do you think?

Thomas
Thanks Thomas. Away from the boat so can't do much right now, but sounds like its more that worth another looksie
__________________
dougal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 08:59   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Probably in an anchorage or a boatyard..
Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter
Posts: 3,538
Re: AIS (again)???

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougal View Post
Thanks Thomas. Away from the boat so can't do much right now, but sounds like its more that worth another looksie
Definitely worth a look

The ais implementation in opencpn is excellent.
__________________
conachair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 11:24   #6
One of Those
 
Canibul's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Turks and Caicos Islands
Boat: Catalac 12M
Posts: 3,209
Re: AIS (again)???

please pardon a total newbie question. I've downloaded OpenCPN and Explorer charts, and am interested in the AIS as well. We have a new SH VHF radio with AIS receiver. I am not on the boat now, and the radio manual in there. But do I just need to get the signal out of the Standard Horizon and into a computer via USB? I assume in order for this to work, OpenCPN would need to know my vessel heading, correct?
__________________
Expat life in the Devil's Triangle:
http://2gringos.blogspot.com/
Canibul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 11:29   #7
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: AIS (again)???

Yes but you should be able to use the AIS signal to give the PC the gps data
__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 11:42   #8
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,872
Images: 4
Re: AIS (again)???

Quote:
Originally Posted by monte View Post
Yes but you should be able to use the AIS signal to give the PC the gps data
This depends on the receiver. An AIS transponder will put out GPS data as well as the received AIS data. A receive-only unit may or may not put out GPS data.

I've used OpenCPN with AIS and it has worked fine. I have an external NMEA multiplexer that combines all my data sources (AIS, GPS, etc) before feeding them to the computer on a single port.
__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 12:05   #9
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: AIS (again)???

Yes it does depend. I'd assume a radio with AIS would have to have gps for dsc and relative position to targets, but wether it has a comparable output will depend on the radio. We feed open cpn via a USB / mini USB cable directly from our Raymarine AIS 650 and if gives gps data as well. If your radio doesn't a gps USB dongle will work fine into a spare USB port on the PC. We have a couple for backups.
__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 12:09   #10
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 17,053
Re: AIS (again)???

Don't most have a GPS input into the computer anyway? Seems Open CPN would be a lot more useful with a GPS signal, otherwise it's pretty much just a chart viewer?
__________________
a64pilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 12:14   #11
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: AIS (again)???

Yes opencpn allows you to select an individual gps source, or share the AIS source. We have ours shared and it's accurate and just uses one USB input to the PC.
__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 12:32   #12
One of Those
 
Canibul's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Turks and Caicos Islands
Boat: Catalac 12M
Posts: 3,209
Re: AIS (again)???

Quote:
Originally Posted by monte View Post
Yes but you should be able to use the AIS signal to give the PC the gps data
So it doesn't need nor use ship's heading, if it's not interfaced to a compass of some kind. I guess heading doesn't matter, if you're drifting sideways at two knots.
__________________
Expat life in the Devil's Triangle:
http://2gringos.blogspot.com/
Canibul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 12:49   #13
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: AIS (again)???

It will calculate SOG and COG. No it won't calculate the heading, course to steer etc but that can be figured out easily enough on the run, or you can plan ahead accordingly
__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 13:03   #14
One of Those
 
Canibul's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Turks and Caicos Islands
Boat: Catalac 12M
Posts: 3,209
Re: AIS (again)???

Thank you. I'm muddling my way through. SO far have loaded Google Earth, GoodAnchorage, and squiddio plugins. Will wait til I get my hands on my radio/AIS manual this afternoon before working on that more.
__________________
Expat life in the Devil's Triangle:
http://2gringos.blogspot.com/
Canibul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 14:34   #15
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: AIS (again)???

In our case: connected the hardware, set up the data source under Open CPN settings and the mobiles pop up on the screen.

I think OCPN has very good AIS interface.

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS Question Again landonshaw Marine Electronics 48 18-11-2013 14:26
For Sale: Standard Horizon Matrix AIS+ GX 2150 VHF Radio/AIS Receiver with CMP30 Ram3 Second St westsailwill Classifieds Archive 6 23-04-2013 19:21
try again::gr-ais on raspberry pi pl259 OpenCPN 0 13-02-2013 09:29
AIS Simulation - Run VDR to play AIS Nmea file rgleason OpenCPN 16 12-01-2013 11:28
Can You Get Radar & AIS Overlay on Laptop ? AIS Transceiver Recommendations ? lunasea.ds Marine Electronics 22 27-12-2010 14:06



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.