Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2010, 18:31   #61
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 1,682
Same info as above, but with optimization turned off (-g ilo -O2).
Attached Files
File Type: pdf BuildReport2.pdf (28.1 KB, 22 views)
File Type: pdf CrashReport2.pdf (33.1 KB, 44 views)
__________________

__________________
CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 09:27   #62
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,249
Cmake bug.

There is a bug in Cmake that affects OpenCPN if you are building a debian package on another architecture than i386.
When building on amd64 the file "CPackConfig.cmake" still gives the architecture as i386 on a couple of places. This has to be changed, otherwise the package manager throws a fit with accusations of wrong architecture.

These are the lines I'm talking about.
Quote:
SET(CPACK_DEBIAN_PACKAGE_ARCHITECTURE "amd64")
SET(CPACK_PACKAGE_FILE_NAME "opencpn_2.1.624a-1_amd64")
This is not a new bug, I've seen suggested patches to Cmake, to correct this.

Thomas
__________________

__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 15:38   #63
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 1,682
2.1.0 Mac build

I didn't apply the change I found with Xcode before I gave up on it. Once applied the program executes and I can access the various charts.

The fix here is to patch the nmea.h file. As written (401-403):

/* Packet structure for Pkt_ID = 51 (PVT Data Record) */
#pragma pack(push) /* push current alignment to stack */
#pragma pack(1) /* set alignment to 1 byte boundary */

An Apple-only meaning for pragma pack(1) includes an implicit push, so this creates two pushes in a row. The correct format for Apple is:

/* Packet structure for Pkt_ID = 51 (PVT Data Record) */
#pragma pack(push,1) /* push current alignment to stack, set alignment to 1 byte boundary */

Checking on the web, this format (push[,n]) is used in both Windows and Gnu so this change should fly for everyone.

The build report is much cleaner now.

As I said, OpenCPN now runs. Quitting is another problem... Selecting quit from the File menu doesn't work.

As always, any help is appreciated.

Greg
Attached Files
File Type: pdf BuildResult4.pdf (30.0 KB, 27 views)
__________________
CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 22:08   #64
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 1,682
2.1.0 Mac build

While it is still fresh in my mind I thought I would document how to get a development build up and running on a Mac:

0) Download the Developer package from Apple's Developer site and install if not already done. The version on the OS X install disk is out of date at this time. The current version is Xcode 3.2.2.

1) Download and install MacPorts if not done already. Be sure to add new directory to path as indicated in the instructions.

2) Use MacPorts (command line "port install xxxx") to install Git, Cmake and wxWidgets (stable - 2.8.11). wxWidgets only supports the Carbon APIs at this time, and thus can only be used for 32 bit builds. So all dependencies must also support 32 bit. If any have already been installed before wxWidgets on 64 bit machines under 10.6 they will be 64 bit only; then they will have to be re-installed with "universal" support before wxWidgets will build.

3) Download OpenCPN using Git into a convenient directory. The downloaded directory will be named "opencpn":
git clone git://opencpn.git.sourceforge.net/gitroot/opencpn/opencpn

4) Optional, for using Xcode tools: Using Terminal, create a new Xcode project file "OpenCPN.xcodeproj" by first cd'ing to the opencpn/buildosx directory and then give the following command:
cmake ../ -G opencpn

This will overwrite the existing file, which probably wouldn't work anyway, and will have the paths for your machine.

Then open Xcode with this project file. Be certain that the box in the upper left indicates "i386"; if not - it will default to 64 on newer Intel boxes running 10.6 - then use the pull down menu to select "i386". That's it. Now build and run, etc…


By creating a new Xcode project file from Cmake for each version the Cmake changes should be captured for Xcode. I think it is preferable to keep Cmake central to the Mac build, and make changes to Cmake (CMakeLists.txt), than to be Xcode-centric.

The Quit bug, at a minimum, remains to be fixed. Since I do not know C, Cmake, wxWidgets or openCPN code, or even Xcode, I think I will probably not be able to do much more. And a package for distribution, including the wxWidgets library, remains a bit distant. So I hope someone else can take it from here.

The 4th of July weekend is over - back to tearing out the old fuel tank before installing the new engine…

Greg
__________________
CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 05:11   #65
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 833
blurred labels

Not sure it qualifies as a bug, but (at least French ) sailors might (will !) complain sooner or later.
It seems that in the case of multi-sectored lights, the light characteristics are written on top of each other. The labels are thus 'blurred', hard to read and not very informatique.
IMHO picking up the (first) white sector (when it exists, or, default case, the first colour in the list ?) might alleviate the problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cordouan.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	20.9 KB
ID:	17563   Click image for larger version

Name:	Light.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	130.3 KB
ID:	17564  

__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 07:45   #66
Registered User
 
svpresent's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: At the moment in the Spanish Ria's
Boat: Reinke, 15m, Present
Posts: 105
Charts not shown

Hi, goodmorning,
I've been playing with OpenCPN for a few weeks, I'm getting enthousiastic and I have a few questions.

-Who do I contact to help with the documentation? My native language is Dutch.

-I see some of you are inserting images in the messages. Trying that myself, I found out you need to place the image on a url first. Is there a way people without webhosting facilities can do that?

-I take it this the place to mention "irregularities"? Here goes.
Even after a complete fresh reinstall of both OpenCPN and CM93 v2 2009,
Opencpn doesn't show the chart on this location: 10d 42m North, 61d 40m West but starts to indicate "overzoom" at a rel. large scale.
MaxSea, using hte exact same charts of course, comes up with everything.

Cheers,
Len, s/v Present
__________________
svpresent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 09:05   #67
Registered User
 
svpresent's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: At the moment in the Spanish Ria's
Boat: Reinke, 15m, Present
Posts: 105
Charts not shown -2-

I found a way to upload the pics.
With the same CM93 files OpenCPN shows this:



MaxSea shows all the charts/info:



In OpenCPN I selected \
Category:
Marine Standard with all options enabled
show depth
Meta objects
Scamin
Aton

Display:
Paper Chart
Symolized
4 colours
Detail: +5
__________________
svpresent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 11:41   #68
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
svpresent....

Sorry, we did not get you screenshot attachments.....
Please try again.

Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 13:43   #69
Registered User
 
svpresent's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: At the moment in the Spanish Ria's
Boat: Reinke, 15m, Present
Posts: 105
Dave,

I tried uploading as attachment.
Hope you can see them now.

Cheers,
Len.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Kaart Trinidad OpenCPN.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	83.9 KB
ID:	17565   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kaart Trinidad MaxSea.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	33.4 KB
ID:	17566  

__________________
svpresent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 14:00   #70
Registered User
 
svpresent's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: At the moment in the Spanish Ria's
Boat: Reinke, 15m, Present
Posts: 105
Dave, I see the pics are visible now.
Let me send you another one from OpenCPN.
With the same charts.
What I didn't mention before: chart quilting is on.

Let me know if I can do anything.

Cheers,
Len.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Kaart Trinidad OpenCPN 2.JPG
Views:	112
Size:	89.8 KB
ID:	17567  
__________________
svpresent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 14:25   #71
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 833
This passage is covered by a rather narrow large scale map which only displays when it is fairly exactly in center screen
(CMap 2009 - folder Zone 8 (from some well-known source...)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Narrow.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	119.8 KB
ID:	17568  
__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 14:34   #72
Registered User
 
Rik-lu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Boat: HR40
Posts: 196
Images: 2
by the way, I wonder if the 2010 edition has less information for the same place, see screenshot. and no hidden chart, I double checked !



....and , when I activate my 2009 chart, it doesnt show the details when I select the whole cm93 folder, but shows the detail map when I ONLY select "CM93_May2009_Zone_8" ???

or when I select this folder first and after restart select the other two folders ( zone 1-2 and zone 34567)
__________________
Hi from Rik
Rik-lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 15:07   #73
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 833
There is more to it. The right-hand coves are not covered in CM93 2009 (but there are to an extent in CM93 2006 for instance)
Now it is well-known () that OpenCpn cannot open several instances of CM93 (i.e 2010 and 2009) simultaneously.
A shot in the dark: suppose Maxsea can, and there is an instance of say CM93 2006 somewhere on Svpresent's disk. ???
__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 15:12   #74
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rik-lu View Post
by the way, I wonder if the 2010 edition has less information for the same place, see screenshot. and no hidden chart, I double checked !



....and , when I activate my 2009 chart, it doesnt show the details when I select the whole cm93 folder, but shows the detail map when I ONLY select "CM93_May2009_Zone_8" ???

or when I select this folder first and after restart select the other two folders ( zone 1-2 and zone 34567)
This is true for me as well. Different versions of CM93's have different coverage, and the 2010 version is not always the most complete. (Size issue or bungled release from our eastern friends ?)
__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 15:41   #75
Registered User
 
svpresent's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: At the moment in the Spanish Ria's
Boat: Reinke, 15m, Present
Posts: 105
Ok, so chances are it's irregularity in the different CM93 versions.
To answer SailorF54, I do have more than one version on my disk, being 2009 and 2010. Version 2010 is incomplete, it doesn't show info on Scotland Bay. 2009 is complete re. this position.

I doubt if MaxSea uses more than 1 version at the same time. When I open up 2009 MaxSea shows all info regarding Scotland Bay and I close 2009 and open 2010 MaxSea doesn't show it, even with 2009 on the same disk.

OpenCPN will not show the info on Scotland Bay with 2010 (which is understandable cause version 2010 is flawed) but also has a problem when using 2009, which MaxSea does correctly.

Hope this helps,
Cheers, Len.
__________________

__________________
svpresent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Icon Discussion manimaul OpenCPN 25 25-05-2010 06:03
Keel discussion RandyAbernethy General Sailing Forum 13 10-01-2006 19:19
Why another discussion board? Gisle Forum News & Announcements 5 24-02-2003 07:55



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:13.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.