Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-06-2010, 16:44   #31
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
jp...

How are you sure that libgps is installed?

what does

Code:
locate libgps.so
produce?

Thanks
Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2010, 17:25   #32
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 183
Dave,

Yes, I am sure that libgps19 is installed I have been in Synaptic and there is the green square before libgps19. Libgps19 is the only one I have installed. No one before.

The code produce that :

Code:
jp@jp-laptop:~$ locate libgps.so
/usr/lib/libgps.so.19
/usr/lib/libgps.so.19.0.0
/usr/lib/googleearth/libgps.so
jp@jp-laptop:~$
Jean-Pierre
__________________

__________________
jpiebrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2010, 17:44   #33
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 183
I omitted to say that I had not this message with the same version of Opencpn, but installed with cvs.
But with installation with cvs I had no Network LIBGPS in the pull-down menu, only Network GPSD

Jean-Pierre
__________________
jpiebrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2010, 17:46   #34
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
jp....

you need a link to libgps.so.19 in /usr/lib.

please run this:

Code:
sudo ldconfig
then, locate libgps.so should produce

/usr/lib/libgps.so

This is normal stuff, not related to opencpn. I wonder why the link was not made when libgps was installed?

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2010, 18:42   #35
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 183
Dave,

When I tape :

Code:
sudo ldconfig
Where should I be ? /usr/lib/ ?

Jean-Pierre
__________________
jpiebrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2010, 20:03   #36
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
jp...

Anywhere, does not matter. ldconfig always updates /usr/lib as default.

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2010, 22:48   #37
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 183
Dave,

I have done "sudo ldconfig", but the output of "locate libgps.so" produce the same thing as before. I have re-installed Opencpn from the .deb and it is the same but now I get the message when I choose Network LIBGPS and valid, not when opening.
My re-installation of Lucid is quite new (3 days...) and I don't think I have a problem with it, but never know.
I have done all that is in the wiki and don't find any problem, GPSD is working and I am using the script to run it.
I have uninstalled gpsd and libgps19 version 2.94-2 and installed version 2.92-4, but no change.
Don't worry about that, I have to change my computer in a couple of months and I hope the problem will be solved. Meanwhile I can use /dev/ttyx for my GPS.
__________________
jpiebrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 07:17   #38
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
jp...

All very odd.
You can do the same thing as ldconfig manually.....

Code:
sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libgps.so.19 /usr/lib/libgps.so
Then locate should produce /usr/lib/libgps.so

and opencpn with libgps should work ??

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:23   #39
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 183
Dave,

I have done :
Code:
sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libgps.so.19 /usr/lib/libgps.so
But the output is the same :
Code:
jp@jp-laptop:~$ locate libgps.so
/usr/lib/libgps.so.19
/usr/lib/libgps.so.19.0.0
/usr/lib/googleearth/libgps.so
I run startgps and i t was not working.

I have delated opencpn.conf and it is working. Don't understand nothing

I find that delated opencpn.conf often solved problems

Thanks for all

Jean-Pierre
__________________
jpiebrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:47   #40
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
jp...

I am mystified.

If not too much trouble, could you please show me output of

Code:
ls -l /usr/lib/libgps*
Thanks
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:49   #41
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 183
Dave,

I have been with Nautilus in /usr/bin and now I find libgps.so just above libgps19.so (it was not there before you command line, i had checked also with Nautilus) but there is still nothing with "locate libgps.so" in a terminal.

Jean-Pierre
__________________
jpiebrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:52   #42
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 183
Dave,

here is the output :

Code:
jp@jp-laptop:~$ ls -l /usr/lib/libgps*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     21 2010-07-01 07:46 /usr/lib/libgps.so -> /usr/lib/libgps.so.19
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     16 2010-06-30 22:37 /usr/lib/libgps.so.19 -> libgps.so.19.0.0
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 305980 2010-04-06 06:33 /usr/lib/libgps.so.19.0.0
jp@jp-laptop:~$
Jean-Pierre
__________________
jpiebrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:01   #43
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,883
jp...

I forgot about locate. It uses a database that is rebuilt daily. Immediate changes are not noticed by locate.....

Anyway, with /usr/lib/libgps.so available, then opencpn with libgps option should be working?

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:14   #44
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 183
Dave,

Yes, all is working fine now . Thanks again for all... and for Opencpn !

Jean-Pierre
__________________
jpiebrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 12:53   #45
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Boat: Marieholm IF "Ida"
Posts: 10
I experienced the same problem as GŁnther, suddenly the light sectors fill the entire screen, everything goes really slow and the crashes, could not reproduce.

When importing waypoints from a gpx file, the "use nearby waypoint" function does not work. However, when restarting (and openCPN remembers the waypoints) the function does work.

Secondly, and I don't know wether to regard this as a bug, but when using the above mentioned function and creating a route and later wanting to remove the route, the waypoints disappear along with it. Is there a way to remove a route without removing the underlying waypoints?

Been sailing for a few weeks with a previous build (527 something) and everything worked fine, except for the occasional "gf pours a bottle of beer over the keyboard incident"...
__________________

__________________
Jakobsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Icon Discussion manimaul OpenCPN 25 25-05-2010 06:03
Keel discussion RandyAbernethy General Sailing Forum 13 10-01-2006 19:19
Why another discussion board? Gisle Forum News & Announcements 5 24-02-2003 07:55



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:37.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.